Fiddle tunes, banjo music, folk songs, and ballads of the Southern Appalachian region are featured in the traditional music collections and guides that are the cornerstone of the Berea College Sound Archives.
- Traditional Music Research GuidesThese guides are the work of Archives staff and scholars supported by the College’s Sound Archives Fellowship Program. Using audio / video illustrations, they cover such topics as regional and individual variations in performing styles and repertoires, traditional music’s commercialization, and representations of race and gender. Also included are profiles of older generation performers, analysis and transcriptions of distinctive fiddle tunes, and documentation of small time traditional music oriented radio programs.
- Berea Sound ArchivesSearch for digitized recordings by performer, subject, collection, and / or geographical area.
These oral history collections document a wide variety of people, organizations, and issues relating to the Southern Appalachian region.
- Southern Appalachian-related Oral History HistoriesReview the finding aids available for the Southern Appalachian oral history collections available in Special Collections & Archives.
- Berea Sound ArchivesSearch for digitized recordings by performer, subject, collection, and / or geographical area.
Going beyond the limitations of words on paper, these rare recordings make possible hearing in the present the same accents, emotions, and issues that entertained and informed a past generation.
- Berea Sound ArchivesSearch for digitized recordings by performer, subject, collection, and / or geographical area.
Old Regular Baptist lined-out hymns, shaped note singing, gospel music, and sermons are the religious expressions highlighted in these collections and research guides.
- Berea Sound ArchivesSearch for digitized recordings by performer, subject, collection, and / or geographical area.
- Berea Sound ArchivesSearch for digitized recordings by performer, subject, collection, and / or geographical area.
