The Assignment
Dates:
- Nov 1st: Small Group Dynamics and Understanding the Assignment.
- Nov ___: Literature Review Workshop in Hutchins Library; complete SSDAN Instruction work pages.
- Nov 8th: Refining hypothesis and obtaining data; bringing laptops to class. Print two pages that show your hypothesis and describe your tables. Arrange for Peer Review outside of class (between Nov 8th - 11th) and turn it in when you submit your final SSDAN report.
- Nov 13th: Submit FINAL SSDAN report on Moodle: length = 4-6 pages, including tables. ALSO: Prepare Oral Presentations of research, 4 minutes each (with 2-3 PowerPoint slides).
3 Sociological Perspectives
Sociological Theoretical Perspectives
Functionalism: A theoretical perspective based on the notion that social events can best be explained in terms of the functions they perform – that is, the contributions they make to the continuity of a society.
Conflict: A theory which argues that deviance is deliberately chosen and often political in nature.
Symbolic Interactionism: A theoretical approach in sociology developed by George Herbert Mead, which emphasizes the roles of symbols and language as core elements of all human interaction.
Works Cited:
Giddens, Anthony. Essentials of Sociology. New York: W.W. Norton & Co, 2008. Print.
Steps of the Literature Review
-
Search for scholarly articles using my database recommendations
-
Repeat your search in multiple databases, mixing and matching keywords
-
Repeat your search in the book catalog - BANC - for books
-
"Cite forward" in Science Direct and Google Scholar for further sources
-
Organize your findings in some way: chronologically, geographically, topically/thematically, or methodologically
Conducting a Literature Review
Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.
- JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals and thousands of e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Sociological Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
