AFR/SOC 132: Burnside (Fall 2023)

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary content on virtually any subject area to support assignments, papers, projects, and presentations. Includes the Scribner Writers Series.

Country Watch

CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world.

Hein Online

HeinOnline is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice Essays

This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.

Canva

Canva is a graphic design platform, used to create social media graphics, presentations, posters, documents and other visual content. The app includes templates for users to use. You must create a free account to use the platform. 

Canva tutorials are available here: https://www.canva.com/designschool/

Practice Timeline Content: 

5th-4th centuries BCE - Chinese and Greek philosophers describe the basic principles of optics and the camera

1814 - Joseph Niepce achieves first photographic image using a camera obscura 

1837 - Louis Daguerre introduces the daguerrotype, a fixed image that did not fade 

1851 - Frederick Scott Archer invented the Collodion process, which reduced light exposure time to just 2-3 seconds

1888 - George Eastman patents Kodak roll-film camera

1900 - First mass-marketed camera, called the Brownie, goes on sale

1927 - General Electric invents the modern flash bulb

1948 - Edwin Land launches the polaroid camera

1963 - Polaroid introduces the instant color film 

1978 - Konica introduces the first point-and-shoot autofocus camera

1984 - Canon demonstrates first digital electronic still camera