Introduction
Berea College and Pine Mountain Settlement School have worked in close partnership for more than a century. Evidence of that collaboration, the institutions involved, and the communities served has been collected and preserved by both schools over many decades. Recognizing our shared history and a common desire to make our inter-related historical records, images, and recordings more accessible, in 2023 the Pine Mountain Settlement School Archives and the Berea College Special Collections and Archives created this joint Library Guide. Within you will find:
- Links to each repository's website;
- A list of Berea College Special Collections and Archives resources on Pine Mountain Settlement School; and
- A list of Pine Mountain Settlement School Archives resources on Berea College.
Images
Repository home webpages
The Berea College Special Collections and Archives home page invites guests to search our four databases: Archival Finding Aids, Online Digital Collections, Sound Archives, and Published Works (books, pamphlets, commercial recordings).
The home page also allows guests to plan and schedule research appointments, request consultations, and organize a class visit to the reading room. Tabs at the top of the page link to descriptions of exhibitions and online projects, college records management data, information about the work of Folklorist Emily Hilliard, and general information about the holdings and activities of the Special Collections and Archives department of Hutchins Library.
The Pine Mountain Settlement School Archives home page [please describe your home page here]
Berea College holdings relating to Pine Mountain Settlement School
If you are studying Pine Mountain Settlement School, these Berea College Special Collections and Archives resources might prove helpful to you:
BOOKS, JOURNALS, AND DVDS (19 items)
ARCHIVAL COLLECTIONS (16 collections)
BEREA DIGITAL COLLECTIONS (53 items)
SOUND ARCHIVES (no items)
Additional Berea College resources: Grow Appalachia website
Pine Mountain Settlement School holdings relating to Berea College
If you are studying Berea College, these Pine Mountain Settlement School Archives resources might prove helpful to you:
[YOUR DATA...]
Rights Statements / Potentially Harmful Content Notice
This Library Guide is published by Berea College Special Collections and Archives under the terms of Creative Commons CC0 1.0 Universal Public Domain. No rights reserved.
If you are a copyright holder and believe that Berea College Special Collections and Archives has not properly attributed your work to you or has used it without the requisite permission, please contact us.
Archival repositories collect materials from different cultures and time periods to preserve and make available the historical record. These items document the time period when they were created and the views of their creators. As a result, some resources may demonstrate offensive language and ideas that do not reflect the values of Berea College or of Pine Mountain Settlement School.
