HIS 200 - A Week with Special Collections & Archives (Spring 2013)

Complete this reading for discussion in class.
Prepare written answers to these discussion questions to turn into Dr. Christensen.

Fleckner, John A., " "Dear Mary Jane": Some Reflections on Being an Archivist," Jimerson, Randall C., ed. American Archival Studies: Readings in Theory and Practice. Chicago: The Society of American Archivists, 2000, 21-28.

Assignment: We will discuss the assigned reading in-class, focusing on the imagery of archives, the archival discipline or "profession", and the archivist as specialist and generalist, and as activist and interpreter.

1. As professionals, what is it that Fleckner believes archivists "profess"?
2. Fleckner makes a distinction between "our collective past" and "the mere creation of 'official' history." What do you think this means and what is the role of the archival record?
3. Toward the end of his letters, Fleckner claims, "Fortunately, today there is little threat to us from a centralized Orwellian tyranny." Writing this in 1990, Fleckner may have felt justified making such a statement. Do you think this statement holds true today? Why or why not?

Complete this reading for discussion in class.
Prepare written answers to discussion questions to turn into Dr. Christensen.

Foote, Kenneth E. "To Remember and Forget: Archives, Memory, and Culture," Jimerson, Randall C., ed. American Archival Studies: Readings in Theory and Practice. Chicago: The Society of American Archivists, 2000, 29-46.

Additional reading relevent to discussion: Ancient stone markers warned of tsunamis - CBS News or printable pdf version.

Assignment: Think about recent and current issues related to the National Archives and the disposition of executive branch documents in the Federal Government, especially in the context of needed governmental transparency and security. Please be familiar with the "general knowledge" topics found in the next reading such as: George Orwell's 1984, general concepts related to the disposal of nuclear waste and the several other important historical events discussed in the essay.

1. Why is reversing or limiting access to documentation of government, or even corporate activities, potentially dangerous to future generations?
2. What is "collective memory" and how do archives help to construct it?
3. Why is having broad, accurate, and diverse documentation of our collective national past important? How do our individual stories contribute?

and

Jimerson, Randall C. Archives Power: Memory, Accountability, and Social Justice. Chicago: The Society of American Archivists, 2009, 10-20.

1. Define the prinicple of provenance.  Why do archives organize collections using this principle as opposed to other systems of organization (in light of the fact that different systems are employed by other cultural heritage institutions such as libraries, musems, or art galleries)?
2. Discuss what you think the difference would be between making records "available" versus making them "accesible".  How might archival description or knowledge held by the archivist enable one or the other?

Complete this reading for discussion in class.
Prepare written answers to discussion questions to turn into Dr. Christensen as well.)

Web Article #1: Slate.com - The Impossible Art of Deciphering Manuscripts

Assignment: Please read the above web article and browse through the attached interactive slideshow of famous manuscripts. (Slideshow may not work in all browsers due to changes in software/updates. Try this alternative link to access slideshow.)

1. What are some of the difficulties in transcribing handwriting documents?
2. What are some of the techniques and methods used by editors to identify indiscernible words?

Web Article #2: Historians Ask the Public to Help Organize the Past (But is the crowd up to it?)

1. Is crowdsourcing historical transcription a good idea? Why or why not?

Web Article #3: The Back Table, Archives & Special Collections at New York University - Collaboration & Conservation: Archivists Tackle Tri-Folded Documents and Iron Gall Ink

1. How many different problems did the archivists encounter during this project? Were they able to apply appropriate solutions?
2. How would advanced levels of math, science, and quantitative analysis skills assist an archivist in their work?
3. How much do you think a project like this would cost and who should pay for it? How might you, as a future historian, benefit from these types of conservation projects?