Reference Titles
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2009This set has an ambitious scope with the goal of offering the most up-to-date international overview of key issues in the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. HIV/AIDS has been a major media focus, but this set fosters a broader understanding of the status of LGBT individuals in their society. More than 70 countries are represented. The clear, accessible prose is appropriate for high school student research on up. The material is especially needed in a cultural climate that supports and informs about LGBT populations. The content is useful for a paper on a hot topic, health classes, discussion groups, and gay-straight alliance groups.
Gay and Lesbian Rights by Call Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2009This thoroughly updated edition provides readers with the background and resources needed to understand one of the greatest civil rights issues of our time.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaCall Number: 306.766 E56 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2003This new three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.
LGBT Youth Issues Today by Call Number: 306.766 N562L 2014 - Reference Area (2nd Floor)Publication Date: 2014The increasing numbers of LGBT teenagers who choose to live their lives as "out" youth face unique issues within their schools, families, and communities. This book provides information that will help LGBT youth overcome their challenges and give non-LGBT youth a better understanding of sexual identities different from their own. * Addresses the major issues faced by LGBT youth, such as gaining acceptance of their sexual identity in the school environment or finding a means to survive after rejection by their family members * Examines historic societal attitudes toward same-sex relationships involving young people, allowing readers to grasp how the general population's thinking has evolved * Reviews and discusses the findings of literature on the causes of homelessness and suicidal ideation among LGBT youth * Presents examples of ways in which LGBT youth have developed the skills that enable them to deal with their unique issues and concerns * Includes an extensive list of resources and organizations that can provide additional information and assistance to both LGBT and non-LGBT individuals
The Rights of Lesbians, Gay Men, Bisexuals, and Transgender People by Call Number: 342.7308 H946rL 2004 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2004In its fourth edition, this fully revised and updated survey covers the rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, and transgender people under present law, specifically in regard to freedom of speech and association, employment, housing, the military, family and parenting, and HIV disease. Utilizing an accessible question-and-answer format and nontechnical language, The Rights of Lesbians, Gay Men, Bisexuals, and Transgender People provides an overview for understanding both the general themes in legal doctrine and the way in which individuals can begin the process of asserting rights provided by the law. The volume is a useful starting point for people facing discrimination or legal uncertainty and helps readers navigate the turbulent and constantly changing waters of the laws regarding sexual orientation and gender identity. New to this edition are two appendixes that include contact information for national and regional LGBT legal groups, an overview of the legal system to explain some of the terms and concepts that appear throughout the book, and a summary of highlights of the law state by state.
