What your professor may see as plagiarism
- Actions that can be seen as plagiarismFrom: Avoiding Plagiarism. 2002. Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL). 14 August 2002 http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_plagiar.htm. [Note: chart from old version of site.]. Found at Cal State San Marcos Library Plagiarism site.
Here are some actions that are considered plagiarism. Plagiarism can be intentional or accidental, but in the end, it is still a breach of academic honesty.
Plagiarism Resources and Information from Purdue's OWL
The Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a reputable and excellent resource for writing and composition. This box features links to some of their best resources on plagiarism including tutorial and handouts.
Berea College Student Handbook: Academic Dishonesty statement
Students are expected to be scrupulous in their observance of high standards of honesty in regard to tests, assignments, term papers, and all other procedures relating to class work. Academic dishonesty as used here includes, but is not limited to, plagiarism, cheating on examinations, theft of examinations or other materials from an instructor’s files or office or from a room in which these are being copied, copying of an instructor’s test material without the permission of the instructor, theft of computer files from another person, or attributing to one’s self the work of others, with or without the others’ permission.
Learn more about Berea College's policies by following the link below.
- Academic Honesty/Dishonesty"Students are expected to be scrupulous in their observance of high standards of honesty in regard to tests, assignments, term papers, and all other procedures relating to class work." This is the college's official policy on academic honesty and dishonesty, including plagiarism.
Giving Credit Where Credit is Due
A unit from the University of Georgia Sytem's Online Library Learning Center. This unit teaches you about copyright issues, the importance of citing your sources and ways to give credit.
Some selected books from the Hutchins Library
Intellectual Property by Call Number: 346.7304 S398i 2007 Location: Reference, 2nd FloorISBN: 9781598840452Publication Date: 2007-04-26In this timely and readable volume, law professor Aaron Schwabach explores the three traditional categories of intellectual property--copyright, patent, and trademark. He traces their historical development from medieval times to the present and observes how intellectual property law has responded to successive waves of technological change. "Intellectual Property" examines all sides of current controversies and crises in this fast-changing field, particularly those resulting from the digital information revolution. Because ideas are not constrained by national borders, the author focuses on intellectual property, including trade secrets, as an international phenomenon, emphasizing the experiences and contributions of a wide variety of countries and cultures. An essential resource for students and researchers--and anyone else who needs to know how to use and/or protect intellectual property.
The Complete Copyright Liability Handbook for Librarians and Educators by Call Number: 346.7304 L764c 2006 (Location: General Collection, 3rd Floor)ISBN: 1555705324Publication Date: 2005-01-01Librarians and information professionals have ethical and legal responsibilities not only to their users, but also to the information they make available-including the copyrighted materials they license, loan, digitize, and deliver. Tomas Lipinski, a library educator, licensed attorney, and frequent presenter of copyright workshops, offers this comprehensive guide to copyright liability issues specifically aimed at libraries and information centers. This guide is a librarian's primer for copyright risk-management. It covers direct, contributory, and vicarious infringement; immunity; damage remission; notice provisions; and more. Current, practical, and authoritative, Lipinski includes discussions of the DMCA, TEACH Act, and other recent legislation as well as sample notices, policies, and audit tools. His coverage of print, non-print, and new technologies (Web sites, distance education, circulating software, e-books etc.), makes this handbook essential for public, academic, and school librarians.
Tip Sheets from the Center for Transformative Learning
Various handouts on topics such as writing, documentation, and study skills. For example, need a quick fact sheet on how to use MLA or APA style? You will find it here.
Hutchins Library: BANC Subject Headings
Want to locate some books in the Hutchins Library about plagiarism, copyright, and other academic honesty issues? You can go to our library catalog, BANC, and use the following subject headings:
- Plagiarism.
- Cheating (Education)
- Copyright
- Copyright infringement -- United States.
- Fair Use (Copyright) -- United States
- Fair Use (Copyright) -- United States -- Popular works.
- Intellectual property -- United States
