Browse the Collections
You can browse these Dewey Call Number sections of the Reference, Circulating, and Media collections
306.4 American Popular Culture
423 English Dictionaries and Thesaurus
427 Slang and Regional English
973.9 Current American Culture and History
Find Background Info
Pop Culture focuses on everyday life. These books have articles about famous modern Americans, celebrates, sports, music, movies or popular books. Also included are consumer items and fads popular with large numbers of Americans. If you want to learn about cultural icons start here!
-
The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture
by
Call Number: R 306.409 G816Serious study of popular culture is a fairly recent development, yet scholars in nearly all disciplines now engage with the material culture of the masses. The breadth and depth of coverage in this four volume work make it the most useful reference of its kind currently available. Each essay-length chapter covers a single form, genre, or theme of popular culture, such as comic books, computers, fashion, film, magazines, best-selling books, radio, sports, or TV. Readers and researchers will gain a solid foundation in each subject area, as well as comprehensive information for further research, guided by noted scholars from throughout the country. -
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
by
Publication Date: 2013-05-17The St. James Encyclopedia Of Popular Culture, 2nd ed., updates and augments the over ten-year-old first edition. It includes 3,036 signed essays (300 of them new), alphabetically arranged, and written or reviewed by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. The entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance). The entries analyze each topic or person's significance in and relevance to American popular culture; in addition to basic factual information, readers will gain perspective on the cultural context in which the topic or person has importance. -
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends
by
Call Number: R 398.209 B911eThis exhaustive and compellingly readable reference work offers alphabetical entries on every aspect of the subject, including descriptions of hundreds of individual legends and their variations, legend themes, and scholarly approaches to the genre. * A–Z entries provide a summary of each legend and its background * An introduction defines "urban legend" and sketches the history of urban legend studies * The book is richly illustrated with artwork by Randy Hickman * Brief bibliographies follow each entry, and a selected bibliography provides suggestions for further reading and research -
Encyclopedia of Appalachia
by
Call Number: R 974 E563 2006Publication Date: 2006-03-01Published in 2006 by the University of Tennessee, this is the reference work for all things Appalachia. IT can offer your great insight to Appalachian people and culture, -
Postwar America
by
Call Number: R 973.9203 P857 2007A-Z entries address specific persons, groups, concepts, events, geographical locations, organizations, and cultural and technological phenomena. Sidebars highlight primary source materials, items of special interest, statistical data, and other information; and Cultural Landmark entries chronologically detail the music, literature, arts, and cultural history of the era.
Books
-
Succeeding As an International Student in the United States and Canada
by
Call Number: 378.198 L767s 2008Publication Date: 2008-04-15Each year, 700,000 students from around the world come to the United States and Canada to study. For many, the experience is as challenging as it is exciting. Succeeding includes practical suggestions for learning English, participating in class, and meeting with instructors. In addition it explains the rules of academic honesty as they are understood in U.S. and Canadian universities. Life beyond the classroom is also covered… -
The Elements of International English Style
by
Call Number: R 808.042 W429e 2005Publication Date: 2005-02-28This easy-to-use handbook is an essential resource for anyone who needs to write English correspondence for an international business audience. In an engaging, accessible style it integrates the theory and controversies of intercultural communication with the practical skills of writing and editing English for those who read it as a second language. Equally useful for students and professionals in business communication, marketing communication, and international business, … -
Academic Writing
by
Call Number: R 808.042 B156a 2011Publication Date: 2011-03-08Most international students need to write essays and reports for exams and coursework. Yet writing good academic English is a demanding task. This new edition of Academic Writing has been fully revised to help students reach this goal. Clearly organized, the course explains the writing process from start to finish. Each stage is demonstrated and practized, from selecting suitable sources, reading, note-making and planning through to re-writing and proofreading. The book is divided into short sections which contain examples, explanations and exercises for use in the classroom or self-study. Cross-references allow easy access to relevant sections, and a full answer key is included.
Link to Selected Websites
Libraries, like any organization, has its own special language and terms. Students may not have encountered terms like stacks or periodicals. You may find these websites useful. Here is a good example
Stacks - The shelves which hold the library's books are called the stacks.
-
Library Terminology: A Guide for International StudentsSite features English definitions of key library terms from Rutgers University's website
-
Multilingual Glossary of TermsThis Multilingual Glossary is designed to assist ESL speakers, as well as the librarians who work with them. It consists of eighty-five (85) of the most commonly used terms in academic libraries today.
Locating Materials
Hutchins Library uses the Dewey Decimal Classification, that provides each item (book, video or CD) with an unique number known as a call number. Usually the call number is placed on the book's spine or back. Books in the reference collection, located on the main floor, have a R before the number and cannot be checked out. The books that can be checked out of the library are located on the top floor. The reference and circulating collections are arranged in call number order. Here are examples of Call Numbers
Tibet: A History Buddhism and Islam on the Silk Road
Call Number Call Number
951.5 294.335
V278t E517b
2011 2010
Inter Library Loan
Interlibrary Loans allow you to borrow books or obtain journal articles not available in Hutchins Library. This service is free. All you need to do is set up an account. It is really simple. Go to the library home page, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Interlibrary Loan. You will be prompted to create an ILLiad account, which is our interlibrary loan software. Typically, a request for journal articles arrive with in a day or two, and you can download them from your account. Books take from three or four days to several weeks.