Skip to main content

.GSTR 310: Understandings of Christianity

Resources and materials selected to support GSTR 310 research assignment and biblical research project.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Oxford Biblical Studies comes close to one stop access to Biblical Studies. There are more than 6,000 A-Z entries and chapters from Oxford reference books. Users can view two translations side by side or select the single translation and the Oxford Bible Commentary. Full text access is provided to the following translations:

  • New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)
  • Revised English Bible (REB)
  • NAB Catholic Study Bible
  • King James Version

 

Searching the Catalog

Entering the title of a individual book of the Bible into BANC is not the most productive search method. A subject search that utilizes Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) is a better strategy. Rather than employing the more popular contemporary term Hebrew Bible, the Library of Congress retains the more traditional Old Testament. Below are some examples of subject headings for biblical books.

Subject Heading Formula  =  Bible. X.T. Book
 

Bible. O.T. Genesis

Bible. N.T. Mark

Apocrypha books are accessible in a similar fashion.

Bible. O.T. Apocrypha

Biblical Studies Tools

TOOLS FOR BIBLE READING ASSIGNMENT

Bible Dictionaries

Think mini-encyclopedia with A to Z format. These can be single or multiple volume works. Entries range from a concise paragraph to multiple page essays. 

R 220.3 H295 2011 Harper Collins Bible Dictionary one volume

R 220.3 C3625 2009 Catholic Bible Dictionary one volume

R 220.3 A539 Anchor Bible Dictionary, 6 volumes 

R 220.3 E26 2000 Eerdman’s Dictionary of the Bible one volume

R 220.3 N532 2007 New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible 5 volumes

R 220.3 Z875 2009 Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 volumes

Commentaries - Single Volumes 

One-volume commentaries like the Harper Collins Bible Commentary give a broad overview, focusing on a chapter-by-chapter approach. These works offer the student basic concepts and provide the big picture. 

R 220.3 O982 2001 Oxford Bible Commentary

R 220.7 H295 2000 Harper Collins Bible Commentary

R 220.708 W872 2012 Women's Bible Commentary, 3 ed

R 220.7 B879J 1990 New Jerome Biblical Commentary

R 220.7 I61 2010 New Interpreter's Bible One Volume Commentary

R 220.709 A258 2006 Africa Bible Commentary 

Commentaries - Multivolume 

These commentaries examine biblical books on the verse or even the individual world level.

R 220.7 I61 1994 New Interpreter’s Bible  Circulating copies located on 3rd floor 

R 220.72 A188 Interpretation  Addition copies located on 3rd floor

220.6 A539 Anchor Bible (1965- ) Located on the third floor, this set provides more detailed analysis.

Concordances

Concordances give book, chapter and verse location of an individual word, typically provided in context. It maybe helpful to think of it as key word searching. Analytical concordances provide the English word's Greek or Hebrew counterpart. Scholars use analytical concordances to study how individual words are used and translated into English. To find a specific Bible verse, use the most unique word with in the verse as the keyword.

R 220.5208 G655N NIV Exhaustive Concordance

R 220.52 W578e Eerdmans’ Analytical Concordance (RSV)

R 220.52 S923e 2007 Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible (KJV)

Gospel Parallels

This tool demonstrates the differences between similar passages in Matthew, Mark and Luke also know as synoptic gospels. Some students initially find this resource confusing. If you have questions please ask a librarian or inquire at the reference desk.

R 226.1 B581992 Gospel Parallels

R 226.1 B582ef New Gospel Parallels, 2 volumes