Audio Highlight
John Morgan Salyer - Magoffin County, Kentucky
"Brushy Fork of John's Creek," c.1940-41.
John Morgan Salyer Collection, SAA 122 (JS-OR-009-001-04)
Fiddle Tunes Finding Aids
- John Harrod Kentucky Fiddle Music Collection , SAA 89
This link opens in a new window
One-hundred ninety-nine (199) audio field recordings (1970s-1990s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and playing styles of several dozen Kentucky fiddlers, mainly from the state’s south-central and northeast regions. - Bruce Greene Kentucky Fiddle Music Collection, SAA 90
- This link opens in a new window
One hundred seventy-four (174) audio field recordings (1970s-1990s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and playing styles of several dozen Kentucky fiddlers, mainly from the state’s southern and southeastern regions. - Steve Rice Kentucky Fiddle Music Collection , SAA 91
- This link opens in a new window
Forty-four audio field recordings (1990s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and playing styles of several Kentucky fiddlers, mainly from the state’s south central region. - Barbara Kunkle Kentucky Traditional Music Collection , SAA 92
- This link opens in a new window
Fifty-six audio field recordings (1970s) of interviews and performances that document the repertoire and styles of several Kentucky fiddlers, banjo players, and ballad singers mainly from the state’s northeastern region. Tune titles, performer names, and locations are search-able via an in-house database. - John Morgan Salyer Collection, SAA 122
- This link opens in a new window
This collection consists of forty-eight acetate disc recordings made in the early 1940s that document Magoffin County, Kentucky fiddler and banjo player, John Morgan Salyer. Salyer was born in 1882 and was master of an older eastern Kentucky style that is only barely discernible in the playing of present day fiddlers and banjoists. - William Sears Home and Field Recordings Collection, SAA 130
- This link opens in a new window
Audio field recordings, radio programs, and video interviews documenting the traditional fiddle, banjo, and gospel music heritage of Whitley, McCreary, Knox, and Laurel Counties in the southern Cumberland Plateau region of Kentucky. Collected by 2008 Appalachian Sound Archives Fellow William Sears. - Aisha Ivey Southern Fiddle Music Collection, SAA 166This collection is comprised of sixteen video recorded interviews and performances of fiddlers in Florida, Tennessee, Kentucky and West Virginia. The interviews were conducted by Aisha Ivey in 2012-2013 with support of a Berea College Sound Archives Fellowship. This project is part of the ongoing research Ivey is conducting on tracing the migration over several generations of old-time fiddling from the Appalachian region throughout the southeastern United States.
