Reference Books
The Encyclopedia of World War I by ISBN: 1851094202Publication Date: 2005-09-27There are 1,219 A-Z entries covering military culture and tactics for all engaged armies in unprecedented depth, describing important events cultural and political figures geopolitical agreements, social issues and much more. A separate primary source volume with 195 official documents, diary entries, and letters from all types of people involved in the war, with introductory information to place the documents in historical context. Insightful introductory essays that discuss the root causes of the war, the catalyzing events that lead to the outbreak of war, an overview of the war itself, and a discussion of the long-term impact of the war. Additional features include a glossary, historiography, general bibliography, plus a comprehensive chronology.
The European Powers in the First World War by ISBN: 0815303998Publication Date: 1996-03-01First Published in 1996 this single volume encyclopedia uses the traditional A to Z format provides maps, and is well indexed. Entries offer bibliographies and see also suggestions.
Researching World War I by ISBN: 031328850xPublication Date: 2003-12-30This single volume work discusses the literature on all aspects of the war, making it an excellent starting point for anyone seeking guidance to the immense, and often daunting, body of World War I literature. The struggle mobilized manpower from home, from the colonies, and--in most countries-women as well as men. Governments increasingly intervened in everyday life. New weapons and organizational structures were developed. The book discusses all aspects of the war. Chapter covers the literature on each of the participating countries along with broader subjects of the war at sea and air. This book is an excellent starting point for anyone seeking guidance to the immense, and often daunting, body of World War I literature.
The United States in the First World War by ISBN: 0824070550Publication Date: 1995-09-01First Published in 1999 this single volume encyclopedia uses the traditional A to Z format and is well indexed. Entries offer bibliographies and see also suggestions.
World War I Data Book by ISBN: 1854107666Publication Date: 2001-10-01Provides a comprehensive source of information on the history of the conflict of World War I, and the armed forces, equipment, economies, and losses of the 21 main combatant nations (including the British dominions) from Austria-Hungary to the United States.
