Crafting a Hypothesis
GSS Assignment
Please see document below
Databases
The following 5 databases can be searched simultaneously:
-
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowEBSCO database (search simultaneously)
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals and thousands of e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
-
Religion Database This link opens in a new windowReligion Database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions.
Steps of the Literature Review
-
Search for scholarly articles using my database recommendations
-
Repeat your search in multiple databases, mixing and matching keywords
-
Repeat your search in the book catalog - BANC - for books
-
"Cite forward" in Science Direct and Google Scholar for further sources
-
Organize your findings in some way: chronologically, geographically, topically/thematically, or methodologically
Conducting a Literature Review
Evaluating Internet Sources with the CRAAP Test
