Hutchins Library is pleased to report that on June 29, 2022 the exhibit "Berea College: Deans of Labor" was unveiled on the main floor of the library. The exhibit was created by outgoing Dean of Labor and Assistant to the President Dr. Sylvia Asante. On display are eight posters of past Deans of Labor accompanied by selected quotations from each dean. In addition, Special Collections and Archives has added to the exhibit a set of materials and artifacts from the Labor Program that can be viewed on the main floor too.

This exhibit was made possible by the collaborative efforts and support of the following:

• President Lyle Roelofs.
• Special Collections and Archives staff: Tim Binkley, Sharyn Mitchell, and Harry Rice.
• Library staff: Calvin Gross, Library Director, and Angel Rivera, Librarian.
• Printing office: Emily Parrish.

The library hosted a reception for the exhibit. This reception was well attended. Attendees had the opportunity to meet with some honorees including Deans William Ramsay and Gail Wolford. Additionally, Carl Evans, son of Dean of Labor Wilson Evans, attended the reception. Carl and his wife, Ann, were so excited by the news that they decided to visit from SC just for this occasion. The reception ran from 11:30am to 1:30pm, and Hutchins Library provided a light lunch.

This exhibit is free and open, but do keep in mind at this time access to the library is via card access only. Visitors can request access by contacting Calvin Gross, Library Director, at 859-985-3274 or via e-mail at grossj@berea.edu.

Welcome back to Zine of the Month! This month's zine is Somos Berea, a zine made by students describing what it means to be Latinx. They discuss topics such as colonialism, immigration and xenophobia, as well as Latinx identity. 

Zine Facts! 

Zines are in no way, mainstream. This type of publication is nonconformist, just like their authors. There are a lot of ways to create a zine and there are no written rules. You can go wild with your content and images as zines have more of a DIY inspired look.
Also, when it comes to publishing zines, things are a lot different than publishing magazines. And this is because zines are not mainstream, as I said. While magazines are often produced by publishing companies, zines are self-published for a small circulation, distributed through mail order and word of mouth. Magazines may be focusing on selling advertising space and making a profit, whilst zines are mainly created for spreading bold, strong, revolutionary ideas.

Somos Berea

Call Number: Zine Collection

Every summer, Berea College hosts a reunion for those who have graduated and gone on with their lives. Each year, the focus group of graduation years varies, usually encompassing around 10 specific classes. This year, the focus group includes '43, '48, '53, '58, all the way up to '88!

Stop by Hutchins Library and take a look at the collection of our yearbook, Chimes, and explore what Berea used to be! 

Join us for a very special event here at Hutchins Library, Berea College. The details are as follows:

• What: film screening of documentary "A History of Co-education and Women at Berea College." Film followed by a Question and Answer session with the film's producer Joel Deutscher, '16.
• Where: Hutchins Library, Library Room 107.
• When: Thursday, January 19, 2017.
• Time: 4:00pm
• Need to learn more or have questions? You may contact Dr. Rebecca Bates at rebecca_bates@berea.edu for more information.

Refreshments will be provided.

This event is free and  open to the public.

Check Out our Convocation display at Hutchins Library!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Understanding the Classical Music Profession by Dawn Elizabeth Bennett

Call Number: E-Book

Publication Date: 2008-10-28

Understanding the Classical Music Profession is an essential resource for educators, practitioners and researchers who seek to understand the careers of classically-trained musicians, and the extent to which professional practice is reflected within existing classical performance-based music education and training. Bennett maintains that a musician cannot be simply defined as a performer, but that a musician is someone who works within the profession of music in one or more specialist fields. The perception of a musician as a multi-skilled professional working within a portfolio career has significant implications for policy, funding, education and training, and for practitioners and students seeking to achieve sustainable careers.

The Cambridge Companion to Beethoven by Glenn Stanley (Editor); Jonathan Cross (Contribution by)

Call Number: 780.92 C178

Publication Date: 2000-05-11

This Companion, first published in 2000, provides a comprehensive view of Beethoven and his work. The first part of the book presents the composer as a private individual, as a professional, and at the work-place, discussing biographical problems, Beethoven's professional activities when not composing and his methods as a composer. In the heart of the book, individual chapters are devoted to all the major genres cultivated by Beethoven and to the elements of style and structure that cross all genres. The book concludes by looking at the ways that Beethoven and his music have been interpreted by performers, writers on music, and in the arts, literature, and philosophy. The essays in this volume, written by leading Beethoven specialists, maintain traditional emphases in Beethoven studies while incorporating other developments in musicology and theory.

Classical Form by William E. Caplin

Call Number: 784.18 C245c 1998

Publication Date: 2000-12-28

Building on ideas first advanced by Arnold Schoenberg and later developed by Erwin Ratz, this book introduces a new theory of form for instrumental music in the classical style. The theory provides a broad set of principles and a comprehensive methodology for the analysis of classical form, from individual ideas, phrases, and themes to the large-scale organization of complete movements. It emphasizes the notion of formal function, that is, the specific role a given formal unit plays in the structural organization of a classical work.

Check out our convocation display at Hutchins library!

Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Decides? by Sheldon Ekland-Olson

Call Number: 179.7 E368w 2012

Publication Date: 2011-10-19

Issues of Life and Death such as abortion, assisted suicide, capital punishment and others are among the most contentious in many societies. Whose rights are protected? How do these rights and protections change over time and who makes those decisions? Based on the author s award-winning and hugely popular undergraduate course at the University of Texas, this book explores these questions and the fundamentally sociological processes which underlie the quest for morality and justice in human societies.

Abortion and the Politics of Motherhood by Kristin Luker

Call Number: E-Book

Publication Date: 1985-08-04

In this important study of the abortion controversy in the United States, Kristin Luker examines the issues, people, and beliefs on both sides of the abortion conflict. She draws data from twenty years of public documents and newspaper accounts, as well as over two hundred interviews with both pro-life and pro-choice activists. She argues that moral positions on abortion are intimately tied to views on sexual behavior, the care of children, family life, technology, and the importance of the individual.

Body Politic by Jonathan D. Moreno

Call Number: 303.483 M843b 2011

Publication Date: 2011-10-11

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year and Scientific American Book Club selection "Moreno pulls apart the debates on eugenics, abortion, end-of-life decisions, embryonic stem-cell research, reproductive cloning, chimeras and synthetic biology, among others, carefully reassembling what's at stake for each side. In graceful, sparkling prose, he illuminates intricate threads of history and complex philosophical arguments. . . . Highly recommended for anyone interested in the[se] vitalissues." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 

Julissa Arce
November 3, 2016, 3:00pm
Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

Julissa Arce is a writer, speaker, and social justice advocate and author of MY (UNDERGOUND) AMERICAN DREAM (Hachette Book Group, September 2016). She made national and international headlines when she revealed that she had achieved the American Dream of wealth and status while undocumented. She is the co-founder and chairman of the Ascend Educational Fund, a scholarship fund for immigrant students regardless of their immigration status. She is also on the board of directors of the National Immigration Law Center and the national board of directors of CollegeSpring. Prior to becoming an advocate she built a successful career on Wall Street as a vice president at Goldman Sachs and a director at Merrill Lynch.  Julissa now uses her inspirational story to change the conversation around immigration.

Check out our convocation display at Hutchins Library!

________________________________________________________________________________________________

My (Underground) American Dream by Julissa Arce

Call Number: 973.046 A668m 2016 (2nd floor)

Publication Date: 2016-09-13

What does an undocumented immigrant look like? What kind of family must she come from? How could she get into this country? What is the true price she must pay to remain in the United States? JULISSA ARCE knows firsthand that the most common, preconceived answers to those questions are sometimes far too simple-and often just plain wrong. On the surface, Arce's story reads like a how-to manual for achieving the American dream: growing up in an apartment on the outskirts of San Antonio, she worked tirelessly, achieved academic excellence, and landed a coveted job on Wall Street, complete with a six-figure salary. The level of professional and financial success that she achieved was the very definition of the American dream. But in this brave new memoir, Arce digs deep to reveal the physical, financial, and emotional costs of the stunning secret that she, like many other high-achieving, successful individuals in the United States, had been forced to keep not only from her bosses, but even from her closest friends. From the time she was brought to this country by her hardworking parents as a child, Arce-the scholarship winner, the honors college graduate, the young woman who climbed the ladder to become a vice president at Goldman Sachs-had secretly lived as an undocumented immigrant.

Immigrants Raising Citizens by Hirokazu Yoshikawa

Call Number: 305.906 Y656i 2011 (3rd floor)

Publication Date: 2011-03-11

An in-depth look at the challenges undocumented immigrants face as they raise children in the U.S. There are now nearly four million children born in the United States who have undocumented immigrant parents. In the current debates around immigration reform, policymakers often view immigrants as an economic or labor market problem to be solved, but the issue has a very real human dimension. Immigrant parents without legal status are raising their citizen children under stressful work and financial conditions, with the constant threat of discovery and deportation that may narrow social contacts and limit participation in public programs that might benefit their children. Immigrants Raising Citizens offers a compelling description of the everyday experiences of these parents, their very young children, and the consequences these experiences have on their children's development.

Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt by Chris Hedges; Joe Sacco

Call Number: 305.5609 H453d 2012 (3rd floor)

Publication Date: 2012-06-12

Two years ago, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges and award-winning cartoonist and journalist Joe Sacco set out to take a look at the sacrifice zones, those areas in America that have been offered up for exploitation in the name of profit, progress, and technological advancement. They wanted to show in words and drawings what life looks like in places where the marketplace rules without constraints, where human beings and the natural world are used and then discarded to maximize profit. Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt is the searing account of their travels.

Check out our convocation display located at Hutchins Library!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Law and Society in the South by John Wertheimer

Call Number: 340.115 W499L 2009

Publication Date: 2009-06-01

Law and Society in the South reconstructs eight pivotal legal disputes heard in North Carolina courts between the 1830s and the 1970s and examines some of the most controversial issues of southern history, including white supremacy and race relations, the teaching of evolution in public schools, and Prohibition. Finally, the book explores the various ways in which law and society interacted in the South during the civil rights era. The voices of racial minorities-some urging integration, others opposing it-grew more audible within the legal system during this time. Law and Society in the South divulges the true nature of the courts: as the unpredictable venues of intense battles between southerners as they endured dramatic changes in their governing values.

In the Name of Justice by Timothy Lynch (Editor)

Call Number: 345.7305 I356 2009

Publication Date: 2009-03-16

Is the American criminal justice system dysfunctional? Our criminal codes are so voluminous that they bewilder not only the average citizen, but also the average lawyer. Our courthouses are so busy that they no longer have time for trials. And the American prison population now leads that of the world. Are these trends desirable, satisfactory, or disturbing? In order to answer that question, one must first be clear about the fundamental purpose of the criminal law. Fifty years ago, the distinguished Harvard law professor Henry M. Hart Jr. wrote his classic article entitled The Aims of the Criminal Law. In this volume, America's leading judges and scholars reexamine Professor Hart's thesis and the first principles of American criminal law.

Dead Man Walking by Helen Prejean; Tim Robbins (Afterword by); Susan Sarandon (Afterword by); Desmond Tutu (Preface by)

Call Number: 364.66 P924d

Publication Date: 1994-05-31

In 1982, Sister Helen Prejean became the spiritual advisor to Patrick Sonnier, the convicted killer of two teenagers who was sentenced to die in the electric chair of Louisiana's Angola State Prison. In the months before Sonnier's death, the Roman Catholic nun came to know a man who was as terrified as he had once been terrifying. She also came to know the families of the victims and the men whose job it was to execute--men who often harbored doubts about the rightness of what they were doing

Bertha Hope & Friends

October 13th, 2016 @ 8:00 P.M.

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium, Stephenson Memorial Concert.

A Musical Tribute to Jean Richie

This convocation is inspired by the release of the album From Mountain to Mountain, a tribute to Jean Ritchie, the Appalachian “Mother of Folk,” by traditional Irish singer Mary McPartlan. The concert brings together a New York jazz trio—Bertha Hope (piano) with Shirazette Tinnin (percussion), and Kim Clarke (electric bass)—with Appalachian musicians, Al and Alice White, Sam Gleaves, Deborah Thompson, Montana Hobbs, and Linda Jean Stokley.  The concert marks the beginning of the 43rd annual Celebration of Traditional Music. Stephenson Memorial Concert.

Bertha Hope

Check out our Convocation display at Hutchins Library for music from the Bertha Hope Trio and Jean Ritchie!

Also, for suggested readings, check out our list below:

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Music in Irish Cultural History by Gerry Smyth

Call Number: 780.9 S667m 2009

Publication Date: 2009

This collection of essays, on the subject of music and Irish identity, covers a number of different musical genres and periods, produced in a coherent volume representing a significant intervention within the field of Irish music studies. The main articles include the (re-)establishment of music as a key object of Irish cultural studies, the theoretical limitations of traditional musicology, and the development of new methodologies specifically designed to address the demands of Irish music in all its aspects. With chapters ranging from the politics of betrayal in the songs of Thomas Moore to the use of music in the award-winning film Once, the book offers an analysis of key moments from Irish cultural history considered from the perspective of music. Winner of the 2010 ACIS Michael J. Durkan Prize for Books on Language and Culture.

 

Singing Family of the Cumberlands by Jean Ritchie

Call Number: 929.2 R599s 1988 Copy 4

ISBN: 0813101867

Publication Date: 1988

The "singing family" of which Jean Ritchie writes is that of her parents, Balis and Abigail Ritchie, and their fourteen children, all born and reared in Viper, Kentucky, deep in the Cumberland Mountains. Jean, the youngest of the clan, grew up to be a world renowned folksinger. But she was hardly unique in the family. All the Ritchies sang -- when they worked, when they prayed, when they rejoiced, even when tragedy struck. Singing Family of the Cumberlands is both an appealing account of family life and a treasury of American folklore and folksong. In the deceptively simple but picturesque language of rural Kentucky, Jean Ritchie tells of a way of life now nearly vanished and of a gentle, upright people shielded from the outside world by forbidding mountain ranges, preserving the traditions of their forebears. Foremost among those traditions were the British folksongs brought from England by James Ritchie in 1768. Even in a region noted for its wealth of folksongs, the Ritchies' inheritance was exceptional. Forty-two of the family's beloved songs are woven through Jean Ritchie's narrative, complete with words and often musical scores. Each song evokes a memory for Jean -- hoeing corn, stirring off molasses, telling ghost stories, singing a dying baby to its eternal rest. Songs lightened the burden of poverty for the Ritchies and brought them joy and solace. Illustrated by Maurice Sendak, Singing Family of the Cumberlands will delight readers in all walks of life.

 

Jean Ritchie's Swapping Song Book by Jean Ritchie; George Pickow (Photographer); Charles Wolfe (Foreword by)

Call Number: 782.42162 R599j 1999

Publication Date: 2000

Jean Ritchie, the youngest of fourteen children born and raised in Viper, Kentucky, is considered one of the greatest balladeers in this century. Her performances have influenced the resurgence of interest in folk music and given audiences a glimpse into the heart of Appalachia. Jean Ritchie's Swapping Song Book brings together twenty-one songs from the Cumberland Mountains of Kentucky. Many are old songs, brought over by settlers from Scotland, Ireland, and England. Child ballads, gospel music, play party tunes, and frolic songs have been handed down by family members, with each generation adding or embellishing verses and melodies. This new edition retains the original text, written by Ritchie, and includes her husband George Pickow's beautiful photographs to help illustrate the stories of such songs as "Jubilee," "The Old Soap Gourd," and "Ground Hog." A new foreword by Charles Wolfe shows how Ritchie's collection of songs is "part of the rich folk poetry" that makes up Appalachian culture.

October 6, 2016, 3:00pm
Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

The International Space Station (ISS) is yielding surprising results across fields as diverse as astrophysics, nanomaterials, combustion, microbiology, and human physiology. Dr. Robinson, NASA Chief Scientist for the ISS will share how scientists and engineers can access this amazing research facility and she will highlight some of the most dramatic discoveries that benefit all of us. Berea College Science Lecture.

Check Out our convocation display at Hutchins Library!

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Testing Aircraft, Exploring Space by Roger E. Bilstein

Call Number: 629.409 B595t 2003

Publication Date: 2003-04-09

The National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics-forerunner of today's NASA-emerged in 1915, when airplanes were curiosities made of wood and canvas and held together with yards of baling wire. At the time an unusual example of government intrusion (and foresight, given the importance of aviation to national military concerns), the committee oversaw the development of wind tunnels, metal fabrication, propeller design, and powerful new high-speed aircraft during the 1920s and '30s. In this richly illustrated account, acclaimed historian of aviation Roger E. Bilstein combines the story of NACA and NASA to provide a fresh look at the agencies, the problems they faced, and the hard work as well as inventive genius of the men and women who found the solutions. 

Failure Is Not an Option by Gene Kranz

Call Number: 629.453 K89f

Publication Date: 2000-04-12

Gene Kranz was present at the creation of America's manned space program and was a key player in it for three decades. As a flight director in NASA's Mission Control, Kranz witnessed firsthand the making of history. He participated in the space program from the early days of the Mercury program to the last Apollo mission, and beyond. He endured the disastrous first years when rockets blew up and the United States seemed to fall further behind the Soviet Union in the space race. He helped to launch Alan Shepard and John Glenn, then assumed the flight director's role in the Gemini program, which he guided to fruition. With his teammates, he accepted the challenge to carry out President John F. Kennedy's commitment to land a man on the Moon before the end of the 1960s.

Leaving Earth by Robert Zimmerman; Joseph Henry Press Staff

Call Number: 629.4 Z729L 2003

Publication Date: 2003-09-06

Charged with the ever-present potential for danger and occasionally punctuated by terrible moments of disaster, the history of space exploration has been keenly dramatic. The recent disaster of the Space Shuttle Columbia was a sad but certain reminder that space travel is an extraordinarily dangerous occupation. Oddly enough, it often takes a tragic accident to remind us that we still have a presence in space. In the decades between triumph and tragedy we tend to ignore the fact that there have been scores of space pioneers who have risked their lives to explore our solar system. Indeed, the International Space Station is sometimes referred to as a Alpha, a a moniker that implies that it is our first real permanent presence in space. 

Check out our convocation display at Hutchins Library!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Fast Forward by Melanne Verveer; Kim K. Azzarelli; Hillary Rodham Clinton (Foreword by)

Call Number: 650.108 V489f 2015

Publication Date: 2015-10-06

Learn how some of the world''s most inspiring women are using their growing economic power to create success and meaning in their lives while building a better world. . . and how you can too. Important conversations about leaning in, work/life balance and empowering women and girls around the world have energized a generation of women. Fast Forward, by two women leaders whose experience spans corporate America, public service, and global diplomacy, takes the next step. Through interviews with a network of more than seventy trailblazing women, Fast Forward shows women how to accelerate their growing economic power and combine it with purpose to find both success and meaning in their lives. 

Black Women's Christian Activism by Betty Livingston Adams

Call Number: 277.493 A211b 2016

Publication Date: 2016-02-16

When a domestic servant named Violet Johnson moved to the affluent white suburb of Summit, New Jersey in 1897, she became one of just barely a hundred black residents in the town of six thousand. In this avowedly liberal Protestant community, the very definition of “the suburbs” depended on observance of unmarked and fluctuating race and class barriers. But Johnson did not intend to accept the status quo. Establishing a Baptist church a year later, a seemingly moderate act that would have implications far beyond weekly worship, Johnson challenged assumptions of gender and race, advocating for a politics of civic righteousness that would grant African Americans an equal place in a Christian nation. Johnson’s story is powerful, but she was just one among the many working-class activists integral to the budding days of the civil rights movement.  

Women and Elective Office by Sue Thomas (Editor); Clyde Wilcox (Editor)

Call Number: 320.082 W8715

Publication Date: 1998-02-05

This text intends to pick up where other books on women candidates or officeholders leave off. It explores the history of women candidates and officeholders in the USA, synthesizing previous research on these subjects, and offers data and analysis on the current situation of women in the political elite. The book offers students a comprehensive look at where women stand and what has brought them to this point.

 

Women's Studies in Transition by Kate Conway-Turner (Editor); Suzanne Cherrin (Editor); Jessica Schiffman (Editor); Kathleen Doherty Turkel (Editor)

Call Number: 305.407 W8716

Publication Date: 1998-09-01

The central theme of this book focuses on the interdisciplinary linkages within contemporary women's studies scholarship. Authors delineate the shifts in theory and methodology that have occurred as women's studies scholars have worked across disciplines. Scholars grapple with the reality of addressing issues within the areas of medicine, science/math, and family and public policy.

Mariachi tesoro De Rebecca Gonzales

September 12, 2016

8:00 P.M.

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium 

Stephenson memorial concert

Based in Los Angeles, Mariachi Tesoro is a multicultural, mixed gender group of professional musicians. They delight their audiences with a wide variety of genres from traditional Mariachi to Tex-Mex, Latin and Jazz.

Come check out the convocation display and some of these terrific books!

Oye Como Va! by Deborah Pacini Hernandez

Call Number: 781.6408 P118o 2010

Publication Date: 2009-12-28

Pacini Hernandez presents an analysis of the hybridity of Latino musical practices, carefuly documenting the transnational musical interactions between Latinos in the United States & in their countries of origin.

 

 

 

Rhythms of Race by Christina D. Abreu

Call Number: E-Book

Publication Date: 2015-05-01

Among the nearly 90,000 Cubans who settled in New York City and Miami in the 1940s and 1950s were numerous musicians and entertainers, black and white, who did more than fill dance halls with the rhythms of the rumba, mambo, and cha cha cha. In her history of music and race in midcentury America, Christina D. Abreu argues that these musicians, through their work in music festivals, nightclubs, social clubs, and television and film productions, played central roles in the development of Cuban, Afro-Cuban, Latino, and Afro-Latino identities and communities. Abreu draws from previously untapped oral histories, cultural materials, and Spanish-language media to uncover the lives and broader social and cultural significance of these vibrant performers. Keeping in view the wider context of the domestic and international entertainment industries, Abreu underscores how the racially diverse musicians in her study were also migrants and laborers. Her focus on the Cuban presence in New York City and Miami before the Cuban Revolution of 1959 offers a much needed critique of the post-1959 bias in Cuban American studies as well as insights into important connections between Cuban migration and other twentieth-century Latino migrations.

 

Latinos in the New South by Heather A. Smith; Owen J. Furuseth

Call Number: 975.004 L357 2006

Publication Date: 2006-10-28

Latinos have emerged as one of the fastest-growing ethnic populations in the American South. A 'New South' is taking shape in a region where culture and class relations have traditionally been constructed along black-white divides and experience absorbing culturally or linguistically foreign immigrants has been limited. This book presents a multidisciplinary examination of the impacts and responses across the Southeastern United States to contemporary Latino immigration. The rapid and large-scale movement of Latinos into the region has challenged old precepts and forced Southerners to confront the impacts of globalization and transnationalism in their daily lives. Drawing on theoretical perspectives as well as empirical research, the work provides insights into the Latino experience in both urban and rural locales. Each chapter is centred on the nexus between the immigrants' experiences in settling and adapting to new lives in the American South and the construction of transformed social, economic, political and cultural spaces.

Dr. Andrew Mills

September 8, 2016

3:00 PM

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

-------------------------------------

In the charged political environment of the U.S., it is easy to forget that the term “liberal” in “liberal arts” refers not to a political position, but to “liberty” or  “freedom.” Dr. Mills, a Philosophy professor at Otterbein University, will argue that appreciating the value of a liberal arts education rests on recognizing the many ways freedom lies at the heart of what happens in college.

Come check out these books at the Hutchins Library convocation display!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Titles featuring the writings of Andrew Mills:
 

The Ultimate Harry Potter and Philosophy by William Irwin (Editor); Gregory Bassham (Editor)

Call # 823.914 U472 2010 (Location: Convo Display)

Publication Date: 2010

Chapter 7 -"Patriotism, House Loyalty, and the Obligations of Belonging"  - is by by Andrew Mills

 

 

 

Philosophy Through Teaching by Emily Esch (Editor); Kevin Hermberg (Editor); Rory E. Kraft (Editor)
call # 370.12 E744p 2014 (Location: Convo Display)
Publication Date: 2014
"Concepcion's Approach to Reading Philosophy: A LEsson on How, and Why, to Teach Essential Philosophical Skills" - commentary by Andrew Mills.
 

 

Also about the value of the Liberal Arts:

 

In Defense of a Liberal Education by Fareed Zakaria

Call Number: 370.112 Z216i 2015

Publication Date: 2015

The liberal arts are under attack. The governors of Florida, Texas, and North Carolina have all pledged that they will not spend taxpayer money subsidizing the liberal arts, and they seem to have an unlikely ally in President Obama. While at a General Electric plant in early 2014, Obama remarked, "I promise you, folks can make a lot more, potentially, with skilled manufacturing or the trades than they might with an art history degree." These messages are hitting home: majors like English and history, once very popular and highly respected, are in steep decline. "I get it," writes Fareed Zakaria, recalling the atmosphere in India where he grew up, which was even more obsessed with getting a skills-based education. However, the CNN host and best-selling author explains why this widely held view is mistaken and shortsighted. Zakaria eloquently expounds on the virtues of a liberal arts education--how to write clearly, how to express yourself convincingly, and how to think analytically.

 

Additional titles about Philosophy and Pop Culture:

 

The Simpsons and Philosophy by William Irwin (Editor); Mark T. Conard (Editor); Aeon J. Skoble (Editor)

Call Number: 100 S613

Publication Date: 2001

This unconventional and lighthearted introduction to the ideas of the major Western philosophers examines The Simpsons -- TV’s favorite animated family. The authors look beyond the jokes, the crudeness, the attacks on society -- and see a clever display of irony, social criticism, and philosophical thought. The writers begin with an examination of the characters. Does Homer actually display Aristotle’s virtues of character? In what way does Bart exemplify American pragmatism? The book also examines the ethics and themes of the show, and concludes with discussions of how the series reflects the work of Aristotle, Marx, Camus, Sartre, and other thinkers.

 

Steven Spielberg and Philosophy by Dean A. Kowalski (Editor)

Call Number: 791.4302 S755 2008

Publication Date: 2008

Has any film director had a greater impact on popular culture than Steven Spielberg? Whether filming Holocaust heroes and villains, soldiers, dinosaurs, extraterrestrials, or explorers in search of the Holy Grail, Spielberg has given filmgoers some of the most memorable characters and wrenching moments in the history of cinema. Whatever his subject -- war, cloning, slavery, terrorism, or adventure -- all of Spielberg's films have one aspect in common: a unique view of the moral fabric of humanity. Dean A. Kowalski's Steven Spielberg and Philosophy is like a remarkable conversation after a night at the movie theater, offering new insights and unexpected observations about the director's most admired films. Some of the nation's most respected philosophers investigate Spielberg's art, asking fundamental questions about the nature of humanity, cinema, and Spielberg's expression of his chosen themes. Applying various philosophical principles to the movies, the book explores such topics as the moral demands of parenthood in War of the Worlds; the ultimate unknowability of the "other" in Close Encounters of the Third Kind and Schindler's List; the relationship between nature and morality in Jurassic Park; the notion of consciousness in A.I.: Artificial Intelligence; issues of war theory and ethics in Munich; and the foundation of human rights in Amistad.