Hutchins Library News Blog

1 in 4 people in the world will be affected by mental or neurological disorders at some point in their lives. 1 in 5 adults in America experience a mental illness.Nearly 1 in 25 (10 million) adults in America live with a serious mental illness.One-half of all chronic mental illness begins by the age of 14; three-quarters by the age of 24.Approximately 10.2 million adults have co-occurring mental health and addiction disorders. Nearly 450 million people worldwide are currently living with a mental illness, yet nearly two thirds of people with a known mental illness never seek treatment. 

May is mental health awareness month. Although mental health awareness is and should be promoted every day, this gives mental health the opportunity to have a specific platform to spread the word. It  is an opportunity to raise awareness of psychological health concerns and conditions and promote increased access to care and treatment. 

Description:

“We Offer Customization Specific to Your Needs.” AssessURhealth, assessurhealth.com/mental-health-awareness-month-2018/.

“Mental Health Awareness Month – May 2020.” Psychological Health Center of Excellence, www.pdhealth.mil/resource-center/mental-health-awareness-month-may-2020.

Undercurrents by Martha Manning

Call Number: 616.852 M284u 1994

The true-life story of a psychotherapist who suffered clinical depression and agreed eventually to undergo electro shock therapy. The book through humorous, heartbreaking and harrowing diary entries lays bare the depths and dimension of severe clinical depression.

Critical Issues in School-Based Mental Health by Melissa K. Holt (Editor); Amie E. Grills (Editor)

Call Number: 371.713 C934 2016

Publication Date: 2015-12-08

A Choice Magazine Outstanding Academic Title of 2017! School-based mental health professionals intervene daily to address a variety of student mental health concerns. From challenges that arise in the educational context to those carried over from home, from managing daily care to handling emergent traumatic events, they must be prepared for an extremely varied work life. While some of the most common issues recur with such frequency that they may seem straightforward to address, others crop up with changing student populations. Each chapter in this volume addresses a different key topic, giving current and future professionals an overview of the most recent scholarship on the topic, and then outlining evidence-based interventions. With chapters on learning disabilities, substance abuse, bullying, internalizing and externalizing behaviors, trauma, LGBT youth and more, this book prepares school-based mental health professionals to face some of the most difficult, common, and politicized issues affecting students today.

Physical Activity and Mental Health by Angela Clow (Editor); Sarah Edmunds (Editor)

Call Number: 615.82 P578 2014

With contributions from internationally renowned experts, Physical Activity and Mental Health presents research illustrating how the use of physical activity can enhance well-being and reduce the impact of potentially debilitating mental health conditions. Written for students, researchers, and professionals in exercise science, fitness, and health care fields, Physical Activity and Mental Health details the factors that influence the relationship between mental health and physical activity as well as the benefits of physical activity in dealing with mental illnesses such as Alzheimer's disease, depression, schizophrenia, and addictive behaviors. Readers will learn how promotion of physical activity can lead to a greater sense of well-being or act as a medical intervention. Exercise readiness checklists, mental health checklists, and population-specific sample activity plans assist in creating and implementing exercise programs to meet the needs of patients or clients. Physical Activity and Mental Health begins with an exploration of the brain systems that are affected by physical activity and how these affect mental well-being. 

Coming to Our Senses by Jon Kabat-Zinn

Call Number: 158.12 K112c 2005

Come to your senses with the definitive guide to living a meaningful life from a world expert in the connection between mindfulness and physical and spiritual wellbeing. "[The] journey toward health and sanity is nothing less than an invitation to wake up to the fullness of our lives as if they actually mattered . . ." --Jon Kabat-Zinn, from the Introduction Jon Kabat-Zinn changed the way we thought about awareness in everyday life with his now-classic introduction to mindfulness, Wherever You Go, There You Are. Now, with Coming to Our Senses, he provides the definitive book for our time on the connection between mindfulness and our physical and spiritual wellbeing. With scientific rigor, poetic deftness, and compelling personal stories, Jon Kabat-Zinn examines the mysteries and marvels of our minds and bodies, describing simple, intuitive ways in which we can come to a deeper understanding, through our senses, of our beauty, our genius, and our life path in a complicated, fear-driven, and rapidly changing world.

The Brain's Way of Healing by Norman Doidge

Call Number: 612.8 D657br 2015

The New York Times bestselling author of The Brain That Changes Itself presents astounding advances in the treatment of brain injury and illness In The Brain That Changes Itself, Norman Doidge described the most important breakthrough in our understanding of the brain in four hundred years: the discovery that the brain can change its own structure and function in response to mental experience, what we call neuroplasticity. His revolutionary new book shows, for the first time, how the amazing process of neuroplastic healing really works. It describes natural, non-invasive avenues into the brain provided by the forms of energy around us: light, sound, vibration, movement which pass through our senses and our bodies to awaken the brain’s own healing capacities without producing unpleasant side effects. Doidge explores cases where patients alleviated years of chronic pain or recovered from debilitating strokes or accidents; children on the autistic spectrum or with learning disorders normalizing; symptoms of multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, and cerebral palsy radically improved, and other near-miracle recoveries. And we learn how to vastly reduce the risk of dementia with simple approaches anyone can use. For centuries it was believed that the brain’s complexity prevented recovery from damage or disease. The Brain’s Way of Healing shows that this very sophistication is the source of a unique kind of healing. As he did so lucidly in The Brain That Changes Itself, Doidge uses stories to present cutting-edge science with practical real-world applications, and principles that everyone can apply to improve their brain’s performance and health.

November's reference book of the Month:  Oxford Dictionary of Zoology. The description below is from Amazon.

This is the only available paperback dictionary of zoology.This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals.Now with over 5,000 entries, it is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in the subject. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units.Wide coverage including animal behaviour, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, zoogeography.Full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of `extremophiles' - organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile - and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed.Featuring entires on genetics, evolutionary studies, and mammalian physiology.

~ Recommended for students majoring in Biology~

A Dictionary of Zoology This is the only available paperback dictionary of zoology.This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals.Now with over 5,000 entries, it is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in the subject. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units.Wide coverage including animal behaviour, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, zoogeography.Full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of `extremophiles' - organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile - and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed.Featuring entires on genetics, evolutionary studies, and mammalian physiology. by Michael Allaby (Editor)

Call Number: 590.3 D554 2003

Publication Date: 2003-09-18

This is the only available paperback dictionary of zoology.This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals.Now with over 5,000 entries, it is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in the subject. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units.Wide coverage including animal behaviour, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, zoogeography.Full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of `extremophiles' - organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile - and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed.Featuring entires on genetics, evolutionary studies, and mammalian physiology.

As we approach the holiday season, your skin begins to feel the dehydrating effects of the cool, dry, winter air. This is a great time to start thinking about the health of your skin and how you can help protect and maintain it. As such, November has been designated as National Healthy Skin Month by the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD), a time when everyone is encouraged to learn about the functions of the skin and how to keep it working and looking its best. The goal is to raise awareness about the importance of keeping your skin fresh and hydrated, not only during the winter, but all year round.Your skin is your body's largest organ, so it's important to take good care of it. November is National Healthy Skin Month.

According to Christian Millett, a board-certified dermatologist with Forefront Dermatology in Tyson’s Corner, Virginia: “Educating yourself about the skin is important for a number of reasons. Changes in the skin may be a sign that there is a problem with your overall health. Itching or a rash could indicate a number of conditions, such as an allergic reaction, an infection, or an autoimmune disease. A new growth or changing mole could turn out to be a type of skin cancer. Paying careful attention to your skin can provide important clues to the health and wellness of your body as a whole.”

Skin Facts

• The average adult has approximately 16 – 22 square feet of skin, which weighs around 9 – 11 lbs.

• Skin accounts for ~15% of your body weight.

• The skin has three layers: epidermis, dermis, and subcutis.

• The thickness of the skin varies between different parts of the body

• Skin is thickest on the palms and soles and thinnest on the eyelids.

• The skin completely renews itself every 28 days by constantly shedding dead cells.

• Skin sheds around 30,000 cells per minute.

• A large part of the dust in your home is actually made up of dead skin cells.

• Your skin is home to millions of bacteria, from over 1,000 different species.

• Skin that is damaged can heal itself by forming a scar.

• Unlike normal skin, scar tissue lacks hair and sweat glands.

• Skin that is exposed to repeated friction or pressure can become thicker, forming a callus.

• There are different types of receptors and nerve endings in the skin that respond to pressure, pain, and temperature.

• The skin serves as a protective barrier that helps to keep water in the body and harmful chemicals and pathogens out.

These are just a few of the many fun and educational facts about your skin. National Healthy Skin Month is a great time to learn about normal skin, but it is also a time to keep educated on a variety of skin problems, such as eczema, psoriasis, acne, and skin cancer.

Description from:

“November Is National Healthy Skin Month!” Forefront Dermatology, Forefront Dermatology, 25 July 2019, forefrontdermatology.com/november-national-healthy-skin-month/.

The Look You Like

Call Number: 616.5 S371L

Publication Date: 1989-10-10

Hair: Facts and Basic Care Hair Loss Alopecia Other Hair Problems Hair-Coloring Products Hair Waving Straightening Other Hair Products The Face: Basic Care and Common Problems Facial Creams and Other Facial Products Aging Skin Shaving Advice for Men Excess Hair-Hirsutism The Body: Basic Care Problems Hands and Feet: Care and Problems Nails: Care Problems Perspiration and Body Odor Allergy and Irritation Insects and Bugs Nutrition and the Skin Miscellaneous Skin Problems Sports-Related Skin Problems The Sun and Skin Acne Psoriasis Herpes Infections Nevi and Pigmentation Problems The Skin and AIDS Skin Cancer

 

 

Dermatology and Skin Care by John A. Parrish

Call Number: 616.5 P261d

Publication Date: 1975-01-01

Dermatology and Skin Care by John Parrish, MD, is a relatively small (288 pages) dermatology text containing concise and lucid descriptions of the major skin lesions seen in practice. I found chapter 4, "General Pathologic Descriptions and Mechanisms," to be especially useful in helping me to describe and assess any lesions I might see. The book, as a whole, is well-organized and, above all, workable. It fills the need for primary dermatologic instruction in an area that most practitioner training programs leave incomplete. Description from: https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamadermatology/article-abstract/535909

 

 

 

Skin by Charles B. Inlander; Janet Worsley Norwood

Call Number: E-Book

Publication Date: 1998-01-01

Great skin is about much more than looking good. As the body's largest organ, the skin is an important part of the immune system, and helps keep out harmful bacteria and other organisms. Skin also helps regulate body heat and focuses the sense of touch. Unfortunately, the skin is vulnerable to the effects of aging, sun damage, hormone fluctuations, and a host of diseases, as well as to reactions to certain foods, medications, and chemicals. Too often, popular magazines, salon attendants, and advertisements are me main source of advice on skin care -- despite me fact that their conclusions may be contradictory or even wrong. Now, the People's Medical Society has sorted through the mass of conflicting information to bring you a complete, authoritative guide to skin health. In this easy-to-read book you'll find a valuable collection of skin care advice backed up by scientific studies and expert, professional opinions on the most effective products, the latest "miracle" drugs, the newest laser procedures, and much more.

 

 

March's reference book of the month is J. Wentzel Vrede van Huyssteen's Encyclopedia of Science and Religion. The following description is from WorldCat.org: 

How do the latest medical developments affect our beliefs in faith's healing power? Can artificial intelligence compare with human consciousness? Are genetic engineers interfering with Nature's work? This reference work deals with these questions and others, examining the issues and the history associated with the complex relationship between science and religion. Articles by scientists of many fields, philosophers and thinkers from all the major world religions present a variety of perspectives on the major scientific discoveries of our time and their effects on our religious belief system.

Recommended for science and religion majors.

Interesting fact: The book has an annotated bibliography where it discusses its resources indepth.

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion by Wentzel Van Huyssteen

Call Number: 291.175 E56

Publication Date: 2003

Encyclopedia of science and religion addresses the interactions, contradictions and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The two-volume set examines technologies like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and continuing developments in neurophysiology against the backdrop of deeply-held religious beliefs. In addition, phenomena such as the Church of Scientology are also studied, along with more traditional issues, such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion.

Attend Dr. Margaret Lowman's convocation on

February 9, 2017, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

If you liked Dr Margaret Lowman's presentation, then you'll love these books that we have available for check-out, on display near the cafe! 

The Most Beautiful Roof in the World by Kathryn Lasky; Christopher G. Knight (Photographer)

Call Number: 574.526 L345m

Publication Date: 1997

Journey along with Dr. Meg Lowman, a scientist who, with the help of slings, suspended walkways, and mountain-climbing equipment, has managed to ascend into one of our planet’s least accessible and most fascinating ecosystems--the rain-forest canopy. “Fresh in outlook and intriguing in details, this book will strengthen any library collection on the rainforest.”

 

Life in the Treetops by Margaret D. Lowman; Robert D. Ballard 

Call Number: 577.3409 L918L 1999

Publication Date: 1999

A description of the mysteries of the treetops - their inhabitants, flowers and fruits, growth and mortality, and patterns of diversity. Margaret Lowman discusses different canopy access techniques. She also portrays the life of a field biologist from a woman's perspective.

 

 

It's a Jungle up There by Margaret D. Lowman; James Burgess; Edward Burgess;

Call Number: Ebook

Publication Date: 2008

Drawn to the mysteries of tropical rain forests and fascinated by life in the treetops, Meg Lowman has pursued a life of scientific exploration while raising her two sons, Edward and James Burgess. This book recounts their family adventures in remote parts of the world (Samoa, West Africa, Peru, Panama, India, Biosphere 2, and others), from the perspectives of both kids and parent. Together they explore tropical rain forests, encounter anacondas and piranhas, eat crickets as hors d’oeuvres, discover new species, and nurture a family ethic for conservation. The chapters of the book focus on field biology questions, the canopy access methods developed to answer the questions, and conservation or education components of each expedition. Lowman enumerates the challenges and joys of juggling parenthood and career, and the children reflect on how their mom’s work has affected their lives. A rollicking, inspiring book, It’s a Jungle Up There is an upbeat portrayal of how a parent’s career can imprint children, and how children in turn can influence the success and trajectory of their parent’s career.