Reference Book of the month: Oxford Dictionary of Zoology

November's reference book of the Month:  Oxford Dictionary of Zoology. The description below is from Amazon.

This is the only available paperback dictionary of zoology.This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals.Now with over 5,000 entries, it is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in the subject. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units.Wide coverage including animal behaviour, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, zoogeography.Full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of `extremophiles' - organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile - and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed.Featuring entires on genetics, evolutionary studies, and mammalian physiology.

~ Recommended for students majoring in Biology~

A Dictionary of Zoology This is the only available paperback dictionary of zoology.This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals.Now with over 5,000 entries, it is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in the subject. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units.Wide coverage including animal behaviour, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, zoogeography.Full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of `extremophiles' - organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile - and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed.Featuring entires on genetics, evolutionary studies, and mammalian physiology. by Michael Allaby (Editor)

Call Number: 590.3 D554 2003

Publication Date: 2003-09-18

This is the only available paperback dictionary of zoology.This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals.Now with over 5,000 entries, it is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in the subject. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units.Wide coverage including animal behaviour, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, zoogeography.Full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of `extremophiles' - organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile - and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed.Featuring entires on genetics, evolutionary studies, and mammalian physiology.