Hutchins Library News Blog

The graphic novel spotlight for this month is Vinland Saga!

October 9th (today) is Leif Erikson day. Leif Erikson is a viking known for his exploration and is recognized as one of the first European discoverers of North America, in which they named "Vinland." Vinland Saga tells the story of Thorfinn, a kid on a path of vengence. Eventually though, he will have to take on his fathers path in order to find out what it means to be a "true warrior." This is an action packed drama, full of loss and love. Along the way you will meet historical figures like Thorfinn and Leif, plus a few others. Are you interested in seeing the story of (fictional) Thorfinn unfold? Then feel free to check out this series from Hutchins Library in the graphic novel section. 

Synopsis:

Vinland Saga 1 by Makoto Yukimura

Call Number: 741.595 Y949v -- Graphic novel section

ISBN: 9781612624204

Publication Date: 2013-10-14

At the turn of the 11th century, the North Sea is in the grip of the Viking terror. The clever Askeladd leads his small band of mercenaries into London, with the aid of the ruthless young Thorfinn, son of a warrior in the dreaded Jomsvikings. But this is an alliance of convenience: Thorfinn has sworn to kill Askeladd one day to avenge his father's death. When a race begins to capture the prince and secure the rights to the throne, personal grudges will clash with the fate of a kingdom, and blood will be spilled!

Hockey is a sport in which two teams play against each other by trying to maneuver a ball or a puck into the opponent's goal using a hockey stick. There are many types of hockey such as bandy, field hockey, ice hockey and rink hockey.

In most of the world, the term hockey by itself refers to field hockey, while in Canada, the United States, Russia and most of Eastern and Northern Europe, the term usually refers to ice hockey.

Description from:

“Hockey.” Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 16 Apr. 2020, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hockey.

Available resources on Hockey include:

Field Hockey by W. F. Axton; Wendy Lee Martin

Call Number: 796.355 A972f 1993

Publication Date: 1993-11-01

 

 

 

 

Ice Men by Outlet Book Company Staff

Call Number: 796.96 R768i

Publication Date: 1988-12-12

A "beautifully illustrated (color, bw photos), inside look at the people who have helped make hockey the fastest-growing spectator sport in the world today "

Ice Hockey by Jack Riley; Athletic Institute Staff (Contribution by)

Call Number: 796.96 R573i

Publication Date: 1971-01-01

 

 

 

 

 

Woman's Hockey for the '70's by Marie Weir

Call Number: 796.355 W425w

Publication Date: 1974-01-01

 

 

 

 

 

Science of Hockey by Horst Wein; David Belchamber (Translator)

Call Number: 796.355 W423s

Publication Date: 1987-02-01

Kentucky: Atlas of Historical County Boundaries is a powerful historical research and reference tool. The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in Kentucky.

It also includes non-county areas, unsuccessful authorizations for new counties, changes in county names and organization, and the temporary attachments of non-county areas and unorganized counties to fully functioning counties. The principal sources for these data are the most authoritative available: the session laws of the colonies, territories, and created and changed the counties.

~ Recommended for students majoring in History~

Kentucky by John H. Long (Editor)

Call Number: 911.769 A881

Publication Date: 1905-06-01

Kentucky: Atlas of Historical County Boundaries is a powerful historical research and reference tool. The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in Kentucky.

It also includes non-county areas, unsuccessful authorizations for new counties, changes in county names and organization, and the temporary attachments of non-county areas and unorganized counties to fully functioning counties. The principal sources for these data are the most authoritative available: the session laws of the colonies, territories, and states that created and changed the counties.

This holiday is for honoring and enjoying the sweet flavor of cookies and sharing them with friends and family. Let this holiday bring new fond memories of days to come. Let today be the day you learn to bake new cookie recipes and learn to decorate a cookie in a new way. Let today be the day you buy a new cookie cutter and enjoy using it by baking homemade cookies for your family. Let today be the day you sit down with a tall cold glass of milk or hot coffee, a large plate of fresh cookies, and have no guilt at eating them all up. 

In the United States and Canada, a cookie is a small, flat baked dessert. In most English-speaking countries outside North America, the most common word for this is biscuit; in many regions both terms are used, while in others the two words have different meanings—a cookie is a plain bun in Scotland, while in the United States a biscuit is a kind of quick bread not unlike a scone.
Cookies are most commonly baked until crisp or just long enough that they remain soft, but some kinds of cookies are not baked at all. Cookies are made in a wide variety of styles, using an array of ingredients including sugars, spices, chocolate, butter, peanut butter, nuts or dried fruits. The softness of the cookie may depend on how long it is baked.

Types of cookies include:

• Dropped Cookies
• Rolled Cookies
• Pressed Cookies
• Refrigerator Cookies
• Molded Cookies
• Bar Cookies
• Sandwich Cookies
• Fried Cookies
• Twice Baked Cookies

Description from: 

National Cookie Month, www.gone-ta-pott.com/National_cookie_month.html.

The All-American Cookie Book For this trailblazing collection of America's favorite cookies, Nancy Baggett crisscrossed the nation, visiting small-town bakeries, chic urban cookie boutiques, rural inns, bed-and-breakfasts, farmers' markets, and the homes of locally renowned cooks. She combed through community cookbooks and searched out long-lost heirloom recipes, sure-handedly reworking every recipe in her own kitchen. THE ALL-AMERICAN COOKIE BOOK celebrates regional gems from every corner of the country: Pennsylvania Dutch Soft Sugar Cookies, New York Black and Whites, New Mexican Biscochitos, Key Lime Frosties from Florida, and Mocha Espresso Wafers from Seattle. A sophisticated hazelnut chocolate sandwich cookie that was the closely guarded secret of an Oregon hostess is here, and so is a delightfully crisp (and easy to roll out) old-fashioned gingerbread cookie recreated from a handwritten 1880 notebook. Homespun classics abound: Chocolate Whoopie Pies, Caramel Apple Crumb Bars, Chocolate Chunk Brownies, and Caramel-Frosted Brown Sugar Drops. The collection also features devastatingly delicious contemporary creations like Chewy Chocolate Chunk Monster Cookies and Cranberry-Cherry Icebox Ribbons. For children and adults alike, one of the most exciting chapters will be the lavishly illustrated "Cookie Decorating and Crafts," which includes everything from simple projects like Christmas cookies and Chocolate Gingerbread Bears to an elaborate gingerbread house. As Nancy Baggett tells the story of America's heritage, she slips in fascinating bits of history, showing the evolution of our homegrown baking traditions. by Nancy Baggett

Call Number: 641.865 B144a 2001

For this trailblazing collection of America's favorite cookies, Nancy Baggett crisscrossed the nation, visiting small-town bakeries, chic urban cookie boutiques, rural inns, bed-and-breakfasts, farmers' markets, and the homes of locally renowned cooks. She combed through community cookbooks and searched out long-lost heirloom recipes, sure-handedly reworking every recipe in her own kitchen. THE ALL-AMERICAN COOKIE BOOK celebrates regional gems from every corner of the country: Pennsylvania Dutch Soft Sugar Cookies, New York Black and Whites, New Mexican Biscochitos, Key Lime Frosties from Florida, and Mocha Espresso Wafers from Seattle. A sophisticated hazelnut chocolate sandwich cookie that was the closely guarded secret of an Oregon hostess is here, and so is a delightfully crisp (and easy to roll out) old-fashioned gingerbread cookie recreated from a handwritten 1880 notebook. Homespun classics abound: Chocolate Whoopie Pies, Caramel Apple Crumb Bars, Chocolate Chunk Brownies, and Caramel-Frosted Brown Sugar Drops. The collection also features devastatingly delicious contemporary creations like Chewy Chocolate Chunk Monster Cookies and Cranberry-Cherry Icebox Ribbons. For children and adults alike, one of the most exciting chapters will be the lavishly illustrated "Cookie Decorating and Crafts," which includes everything from simple projects like Christmas cookies and Chocolate Gingerbread Bears to an elaborate gingerbread house. As Nancy Baggett tells the story of America's heritage, she slips in fascinating bits of history, showing the evolution of our homegrown baking traditions.

 

Who Took the Cookies from the Cookie Jar? This text is a fun adaptation of the classic playground song. Help Skunk solve the mystery as he asks each of his animal friends, Mouse, Raven, Squirrel, Rabbit, Turtle, Raccoon, Snake, Beaver, and Frog, who took the cookie from the cookie jar? by Philemon Sturges; Bonnie Lass; Ashley Wolff (Illustrator)

Call Number: L3459w

This text is a fun adaptation of the classic playground song. Help Skunk solve the mystery as he asks each of his animal friends, Mouse, Raven, Squirrel, Rabbit, Turtle, Raccoon, Snake, Beaver, and Frog, who took the cookie from the cookie jar?

 

 

Christmas Cookies Christmastime is cookie time! Brown-suited gingerbread men with raisins for buttons and icing for hair; green-sugared Christmas trees and red-sugared Santas; cookies flavored with bourbon and coconut shaped into balls and rolled in sugar; date-filled, lemon-filled, and jelly-filled cookies; and perennial favorites, such as brownies and chocolate chip cookies, are truly the making of Christmas cheer. Recipes innovative and worthy of gift giving abound in this unique collection from Southern Living Magazine. Here you will find both American favorites and foreign specialties, which highlight the universal appeal of holiday cookies. Many of the recipes leave room for the imaginative cook to create her own seasonal masterpieces. And when the season is over, this cookbook will serve as a valuable resource for delicious cookies that will give pleasure the year-round. The recipes are organized according to the method of preparation. If the cookies are baked in a pan and cut into bars or square by Katherine M. Eakin

Call Number: 641.8654 C555

Christmastime is cookie time! Brown-suited gingerbread men with raisins for buttons and icing for hair; green-sugared Christmas trees and red-sugared Santas; cookies flavored with bourbon and coconut shaped into balls and rolled in sugar; date-filled, lemon-filled, and jelly-filled cookies; and perennial favorites, such as brownies and chocolate chip cookies, are truly the making of Christmas cheer. Recipes innovative and worthy of gift giving abound in this unique collection from Southern Living Magazine. Here you will find both American favorites and foreign specialties, which highlight the universal appeal of holiday cookies. Many of the recipes leave room for the imaginative cook to create her own seasonal masterpieces. And when the season is over, this cookbook will serve as a valuable resource for delicious cookies that will give pleasure the year-round. The recipes are organized according to the method of preparation. If the cookies are baked in a pan and cut into bars or square

Cholesterol-Free Cakes and Cookies Includes recipes for low-cholesterol chocolate, fruit, light, coffee, and spice cakes, and drop, form, and bar cookies by Mabel Cavaiani

Call Number: 641.563 C376c

Includes recipes for low-cholesterol chocolate, fruit, light, coffee, and spice cakes, and drop, form, and bar cookies

 

 

 

 

 

The Bakery Lady/la señora de la Panadería Surrounded by the sights of her grandparents' bakery, Monica yearns to be a baker. Her first real test comes as she and her beloved grandparents prepare for the coming celebration of January sixth, El Dia de los Reyes Magos, the Feast of the Three Kings. When it's up to Monica to plan the celebration, she wonders if she'll be able to host it. by Pat Mora (Translator); Pablo Torrecilla (Illustrator); Gabriela Baeza Ventura (Translator)

Call Number: 863 M827b 2001

Surrounded by the sights of her grandparents' bakery, Monica yearns to be a baker. Her first real test comes as she and her beloved grandparents prepare for the coming celebration of January sixth, El Dia de los Reyes Magos, the Feast of the Three Kings. When it's up to Monica to plan the celebration, she wonders if she'll be able to host it.