Hutchins Library News Blog

Reference Tips: Moral Majority Archives on J-Stor

A small item of possible interest to researchers, specially in subjects like U.S. History and Political Science. J-Stor Daily, J-Stor's newsletter, reported recently that the Moral Majority's collection of primary sources is now available and searchable via J-Stor. This collection is part of J-Stor's Open Collections. J-Stor Open Collections contain primary sources and images from libraries, museums, and archives from the United States and around the world.

According to the article, "The Moral Majority collection, [direct link to the collection] curated by Liberty University, [link to Liberty University's J-Stor Open Collection] contains materials generated during the ten years the organization was in existence. These include fundraising appeals, radio broadcast transcripts, issues of Moral Majority Report and the Liberty Report newsletter, theological statements by Elmer L. Towns (then Dean of Liberty Baptist Seminary), and diverse policy documents."

Direct link to the collection is listed above. In addition, researchers here at Berea College can access this collection and other open collections through J-Stor. Here are some steps you can follow:

• Start at the library website: https://libraryguides.berea.edu/.
• Click on "Electronic Resources."
• Click on the "J" link to get to J-Stor.
• Once you open J-Stor, hover the mouse over "Browse" and you will see "Collections." Click on "Collections" then set the search, "Collection Type"  to "Open Collections." You can then search this and other open collections. You can also narrow this search by a specific institution. Using the example from the article, you could select Liberty University.

If you have further questions or need assistance to access this or any of our resources, you can contact the Reference Desk via email at reference@berea.edu or via telephone at 859-985-3109.