Hutchins Library News Blog

April is Autism Acceptance Month: Some Resources to Learn More

“Awareness is knowing that somebody has Autism,” said Christopher Banks, CEO of The Autism Society of America. “Acceptance is when you include a person with autism in your activities.”

April is Autism Acceptance Month, a time to celebrate neurodiversity, promote awareness and acceptance, and embrace the unique strengths of all individuals. During the month of April, we make time to highlight and celebrate the diverse experiences and perspectives in the Autism and neurodiverse communities as well as promote inclusion in all activities. April 2 is a United Nations observance for Autism Awareness Day. Note that autism rights advocates prefer the term "acceptance" over "awareness". Advocates often view "awareness" as ableist and thus favor "acceptance" as an alternative to help overcome prejudices. That is why I have used the word "acceptance" in the title of the post, and for the rest of this post.

To help our community learn more, here are some resources that may be of interest.

Some books, that you can find through the library website using the library catalog:

Autism Spectrum Disorders by Jennifer Gerdts

Call Number: Reference - Stacks 618.928 B528a 2010

ISBN: 9781598843347

Publication Date: 2010-07-20

This handbook provides an overview of the current scientific understanding of autism spectrum disorders, as well as a cultural and historical perspective on the controversies that plague the field. "Autism" describes a complex developmental disability that interferes with social interaction and communication. Symptoms of autism are generally recognizable when children are under the age of three. Until the 1990s, rates for autism were generally estimated at 1 in 2500. In 2010, however, the estimate is now 1 in 110 children. Is the incidence of autism increasing, or has there simply been a shift in how often this disability is diagnosed as the problem? This text provides a comprehensive explanation of autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Reference Handbook educates readers about ASD without relying on confusing medical jargon, highlighting current understanding of etiology, neuroscience, and intervention. It also discusses the historical and cultural influences of ASD and explores the controversial aspects of autism.

 

 

The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida; K. A. Yoshida (Translator); David Mitchell (Translator)

Call Number: Stacks 616.858 H634rxm 2013

ISBN: 9780812994865

Publication Date: 2013-08-27

Written by Naoki Higashida, a very smart, very self-aware, and very charming thirteen-year-old boy with autism, it is a one-of-a-kind memoir that demonstrates how an autistic mind thinks, feels, perceives, and responds in ways few of us can imagine. Parents and family members who never thought they could get inside the head of their autistic loved one at last have a way to break through to the curious, subtle, and complex life within.   Using an alphabet grid to painstakingly construct words, sentences, and thoughts that he is unable to speak out loud, Naoki answers even the most delicate questions that people want to know. Questions such as: "Why do people with autism talk so loudly and weirdly?" "Why do you line up your toy cars and blocks?" "Why don't you make eye contact when you're talking?" and "What's the reason you jump?" (Naoki's answer: "When I'm jumping, it's as if my feelings are going upward to the sky.") With disarming honesty and a generous heart, Naoki shares his unique point of view on not only autism but life itself. His insights--into the mystery of words, the wonders of laughter, and the elusiveness of memory--are so startling, so strange, and so powerful that you will never look at the world the same way again.   In his introduction, bestselling novelist David Mitchell writes that Naoki's words allowed him to feel, for the first time, as if his own autistic child was explaining what was happening in his mind. "It is no exaggeration to say that The Reason I Jump allowed me to round a corner in our relationship." This translation was a labor of love by David and his wife, KA Yoshida, so they'd be able to share that feeling with friends, the wider autism community, and beyond. Naoki's book, in its beauty, truthfulness, and simplicity, is a gift to be shared.

 

 

Autism in Heels by Jennifer Cook O'Toole

Call Number: Stacks 616.858 C771a 2018

ISBN: 9781510732841

Publication Date: 2018-12-04

The face of autism is changing. And more often than we realize, that face is wearing lipstick. Autism in Heels, an intimate memoir, reveals the woman inside one of autism's most prominent figures, Jennifer O'Toole. At the age of thirty-five, Jennifer was diagnosed with Asperger's syndrome, and for the first time in her life, things made sense. Now, Jennifer exposes the constant struggle between carefully crafted persona and authentic existence, editing the autism script with wit, candor, passion, and power. Her journey is one of reverse-self-discovery not only as an Aspie but--more importantly--as a thoroughly modern woman. Beyond being a memoir, Autism in Heels is a love letter to all women. It's a conversation starter. A game changer. And a firsthand account of what it is to walk in Jennifer's shoes (especially those iconic red stilettos). Whether it's bad perms or body image, sexuality or self-esteem, Jennifer's is as much a human journey as one on the spectrum. Because autism "looks a bit different in pink," most girls and women who fit the profile are not identified, facing years of avoidable anxiety, eating disorders, volatile relationships, self-harm, and stunted independence. Jennifer has been there, too. Autism in Heels takes that message to the mainstream. From her own struggles and self-discovery, she has built an empire of empowerment, inspiring women the world over to realize they aren't mistakes. They are misunderstood miracles.

 

 

The Way I See It by Temple Grandin

Call Number: Stacks 616.858 G753w 2020

ISBN: 9781949177312

Publication Date: 2020-04-30

In the beloved classic book The Way I See It, Dr. Temple Grandin gets to the REAL issues of autism―the ones parents, teachers, and individuals on the spectrum face every day. In this updated fifth edition, Temple offers helpful dos and don'ts, practical strategies, and try-it-now tips all based on her insider perspective and a great deal of research. Revised and updated chapters include: Alternative Vs. Conventional Medicine Do Not Get Trapped By Labels The Importance of Early Educational Intervention Too Much Video Gaming and Screen Time Try On Careers and many more! Temple has packed a wealth of knowledge into this book, which serves as an excellent reference resource for a multitude of topics related to ASD. Whether you're searching for something specific or reading cover-to-cover, The Way I See It is required reading for everyone whose life has been touched by autism.

 

 

Vaccines Did Not Cause Rachel's Autism by Peter J. Hotez; Arthur L. Caplan (Foreword by)

Call Number: Stacks 614.4708 H832v 2018

ISBN: 9781421426600

Publication Date: 2018-10-30

Internationally renowned medical scientist, frequent media contributor, and autism dad Dr. Peter J. Hotez explains why vaccines do not cause autism. In 1994, Peter J. Hotez's nineteen-month-old daughter, Rachel, was diagnosed with autism. Dr. Hotez, a pediatrician-scientist who develops vaccines for neglected tropical diseases affecting the world's poorest people, became troubled by the decades-long rise of the influential anti-vaccine community and its inescapable narrative around childhood vaccines and autism. In Vaccines Did Not Cause Rachel's Autism, Hotez draws on his experiences as a pediatrician, vaccine scientist, and father of an autistic child. Outlining the arguments on both sides of the debate, he examines the science that refutes the concerns of the anti-vaccine movement, debunks current conspiracy theories alleging a cover-up by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and critiques the scientific community's failure to effectively communicate the facts about vaccines and autism to the general public, all while sharing his very personal story of raising a now-adult daughter with autism. A uniquely authoritative account, this important book persuasively provides evidence for the genetic basis of autism and illustrates how the neurodevelopmental pathways of autism are under way before birth. Dr. Hotez reminds readers of the many victories of vaccines over disease while warning about the growing dangers of the anti-vaccine movement, especially in the United States and Europe. Now, with the anti-vaccine movement reenergized in our COVID-19 era, this book is especially timely. Vaccines Did Not Cause Rachel's Autism is a must-read for parent groups, child advocates, teachers, health-care providers, government policymakers, health and science policy experts, and anyone caring for a family member or friend with autism.

 

 

Visual Thinking by Temple Grandin

Call Number: Stacks 152.14 G753v 2022

ISBN: 9780593418369

Publication Date: 2022-10-11

Do you have a keen sense of direction, a love of puzzles, the ability to assemble furniture without crying? You are likely a visual thinker. With her genius for demystifying science, Grandin draws on cutting-edge research to take us inside visual thinking. Visual thinkers constitute a far greater proportion of the population than previously believed, she reveals, and a more varied one, from the photo-realistic "object visualizers" like Grandin herself, with their intuitive knack for design and problem solving, to the abstract, mathematically inclined "visual spatial" thinkers who excel in pattern recognition and systemic thinking. She also makes us understand how a world increasingly geared to the verbal tends to sideline visual thinkers, screening them out at school and passing over them in the workplace. Rather than continuing to waste their singular gifts, driving a collective loss in productivity and innovation, Grandin proposes new approaches to educating, parenting, employing, and collaborating with visual thinkers. In a highly competitive world, this important book helps us see, we need every mind on board.

If you are interested in articles, popular and academic, you can try one of our subscription periodical databases. You can find them under "Electronic Resources" from the library website. If you are outside the Berea College domain, you will be prompted to log in using your Berea College credentials.Some database suggestions include, but are not limited to:

• Gale Virtual Reference
• Academic Search Complete.
• CINAHL
• Medline
• Alt Press Watch
• Science Direct

Some resources from the web. These are freely available online:

• Wikipedia offers an entry on World Autism Awareness Day, which led me to the United Nations link and some other additional references. The entry includes a list of the annual UN themes for the day since 2012.
• Information on Autism Spectrum Disorder via the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). Here you can find definitions, symptoms, statistics, and their latest edition of their community report on Autism. The page also includes a link to a Spanish version of the resources page.
• You can also find health information and more on Autism at the National Institute of Mental Health. If you want to share information and help promote awareness and acceptance, the NIMH also offers a digital toolkit.
• The Autism Society, advocacy organization.

Image courtesy of the National Institute of Mental Health. Alternative text: Autism occurs in all ethnic, racial, sex and gender, and economic groups. This April, learn more about supporting people on the autism spectrum. https://go.nih.gov/nLv8oCK