December 2020 Spotlight is on Christmas
by Unknown User on 2020-12-01T00:00:00-05:00 | 0 CommentsOne of the most popular holiday celebrations in the month of December is Christmas. It is commonly a time when friends, families, relatives, and sometimes strangers share some heart warming meals, stories, songs, gifts, and other unique traditional practices.
The history of Christmas in America is rich and diverse. Beginning as an occasion that was prohibited by the Puritans, it has become what is arguably the most elaborate and socially visible holiday in American culture. On the way to achieving this status, the "traditional" American Christmas has incorporated a variety of myths and traditions with both religious and nonreligious origins.
Descriptions from:
“National Poetry Month - April.” National Day Calendar, 16 Apr. 2020, nationaldaycalendar.com/national-poetry-month-april/.
Christmas with Paula Deen by
Call Number: 641.568 D311c 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-30
Filled with Paula's trademark Southern charm, Christmas with Paula Deen is a collection of beloved holiday recipes and cherished stories. "I've gone through all my books and put together this collection of my most treasured recipes and memories for the holiday season to share with you...You'll find a few new dishes, a sprinkling of new holiday stories, and some family pictures you might not have seen before." There's no holiday Paula Deen loves better than Christmas, when she opens her home to family and friends, and traditions old and new make the days merry and bright. Filled with Paula's trademark Southern charm and happy reminiscences of Yuletide seasons past, Christmas with Paula Deen is a collection of beloved holiday recipes and stories interspersed with cherished family photographs. Included are Paula's most requested homemade gifts of food; a collection of cookies sure to become your family's favorites; easy dishes for a Christmas breakfast or brunch that will let you enjoy the food and your guests; impressive fare for Christmas dinner and holiday entertaining and, of course, spectacular cakes, puddings, pies, and other sweet things. "So Merry Christmas, y'all, and best dishes and best wishes from me and my family to yours."
Christmas Cookies by
Call Number: 641.8654 C555
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Christmastime is cookie time! Brown-suited gingerbread men with raisins for buttons and icing for hair; green-sugared Christmas trees and red-sugared Santas; cookies flavored with bourbon and coconut shaped into balls and rolled in sugar; date-filled, lemon-filled, and jelly-filled cookies; and perennial favorites, such as brownies and chocolate chip cookies, are truly the making of Christmas cheer. Recipes innovative and worthy of gift giving abound in this unique collection from Southern Living Magazine. Here you will find both American favorites and foreign specialties, which highlight the universal appeal of holiday cookies. Many of the recipes leave room for the imaginative cook to create her own seasonal masterpieces. And when the season is over, this cookbook will serve as a valuable resource for delicious cookies that will give pleasure the year-round. The recipes are organized according to the method of preparation. If the cookies are baked in a pan and cut into bars or square
Babar and Father Christmas by
Call Number: B894f 1940
Publication Date: 2001-09-25
Every child's favorite elephant, Barbar, returns in this unusual and heartwarming Christmas story. Babar's children have caught wind of a fellow in Man's country named Father Christmas who brings joy and toys to little children. "If only we could bring him here," they wish. So they write the Christmas saint a letter inviting him to visit them. When they get no reply, Babar, ever the good father, rushes out to find the red-suited one. After much searching, and with the help of a dog named Duck, Babar reaches Father Christmas's workshop in the snow. Can Babar find a way to bring him to Elephants' country?
May Your Days Be Merry and Bright by
Call Number: 823.008 M466
Publication Date: 1988-10-01
These fifteen short stories gathered by Susan Koppelman combine all the great themes of Christmas. They were written by American women over the last one hundred and twenty years, and all but two were published in the Christmas issue of a popular magazine or newspaper. There are stories of joyful family reunions, reconciliations, and renewals of the spirit. Some speak of the pain of those who are excluded or exclude themselves from the celebration; others are filled with the bitter ironies of those who betray the meaning of the season. Finally, there are stories about those whose holiday is not Christmas and for whom the season is a curious or threatening imposition on their lives. Written by artists whose literary craft is exceptional and whose imaginations are visionary, these rich and insightful stories will continue to reward on repeated readings.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
Remembering and learning about Pope Francis (1936-2025)
April 6 to April 12 2025 is National Library Week. Here are some books about libraries and librarians
Celebrating Women's History Month in 2025
As we close Black History Month for 2025, some more books to read now and year round
A few more books for Black History Month 2025: Biographies
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Subjects
Abolitionists /Antislavery Movement
African & African American Studies
African American Music
African Americans
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Appalachian Region
Appalachian Studies
Art & Art History
Arts & Crafts
Asian Studies
Authors / Literature
Awards, Honors, & Recognition
bell hooks
Berea College
Berea College Student Music Performances
Berea Sound Archives
Biographies
Biology
Business Administration
Campus Christian Center
Center for Excellence in Learning through Service (CELTS)
Chemistry
Child & Family Studies
Civil Rights / Race Relations
Dance
Economics
Education / Schools
Education Studies
Educational Technology
English
Environmental Issues
Faculty & Staff
Film Production & Studies
Folklore / Folktales / Storytelling
Foodways / Cookbooks
Forestry
General Studies: GSTR310
Graphic Novels
Health and Human Performance
History
Honorary Degree Recipients
Hutchins Library
Labor Program
Latinx Studies
Librarianship
Mathematics
Music
Music - Appalachian Region
Nursing
Office of the Academic Vice President
Oral Histories and Interviews
Organizations - Local / Regional
Peace & Social Justice Studies
Philosophy
Photograph Collections
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health / Health Care
Religion
Religious Expression
Social Life and Customs
Sociology
Special Collections & Archives
Spotlight on...
Sustainability & Environmental Studies
Technology & Applied Design
Technology in Education
Theatre
Wellness
Women's & Gender Studies
Zines
Return to Blog
0 Comments.