April spotlight is on National Poetry Month
by Unknown User on 2021-04-01T00:00:00-04:00 | 0 CommentsApril is National Poetry Month, 30 days of celebrating the joy, expressiveness, and pure delight of poetry.
Throughout National Poetry Month, poets, publishers, schools, literary enthusiasts, and word lovers the world over celebrate the cadence and song of poetry.
Poetry blasts, library readings, projects and so much more will take place. Every year there is ample opportunity to immerse yourself in the best and latest poetry. Experiment and play with language and words letting them trip off your tongue and through your mind creating images of alliteration or motivate action.
Study a style you’ve wanted to try or delve in delve into an edgy topic. Wander off into a world of backward speak and slither past the echoing valleys of the repetitive chorus. Your poem is calling to you.
Decription from:
“National Poetry Month - April.” National Day Calendar, 16 Apr. 2020, nationaldaycalendar.com/national-poetry-month-april/.
Crow ! by
Call Number: 821.92 C782cr 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
More than 200 poems to delight, entertain, and educate youngsters from 6 to 60 years.
Collected Poems, 1909-1962 by
Call Number: 821 E428co Copy 3
Publication Date: 1963-09-25
There is no more authoritative collection of the poetry that Eliot himself wished to preserve than this volume, published two years before his death in 1965. Poet, dramatist, critic, and editor, T. S. Eliot was one of the defining figures of twentieth-century poetry. This edition of Collected Poems 1909-1962 includes The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock along with Four Quartets, The Waste Land, and several other poems.
Windfall by
Call Number: 821.914 A548w c. 2
Publication Date: 2000-03-02
Windfall includes poems from three previous books by Maggie Anderson, along with a generous selection of new work. In this collection we can see over two decades of the growth of a poet memorable for the clarity, strength, and urgency of her voice. Anderson's poems entangle a language, a history, and a group of belongings, and she is both at home and a foreigner in the places she invokes. Every place in these poems seems inhabitable, yet the tensions of these deceptively quiet lines develop out of the clear reluctance or inability of the poet to sit still. Maggie Anderson writes out of deep grief for the political losses of work and money, of life and limb and home in our dangerous times. She remembers and witnesses, and she also speaks eloquently for our private griefs--the loss of family, vitality and self. These poems do not shout; we listen as if following a whisper in the dark. A counterpoint to the sorrows in these poems is a complex and often joyous music, as well as a wry, sometimes self-deprecating humor which saves the work from solemnity. Her rhythms are diverse and intricate; they move deftly from fiddle whine to saxophone, from fugue to blues.
The Brier Poems by
Just Jazz by
Call Number: 821 M6476br
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Poetry. Jim Wayne Miller is a poet of a particular geographical place, yet he sings, he preaches, and just plain talks in a language from the earth. Oddly, this kind of poetry is not in fashion these days, but I think it will outlast most of what is" -Edward Field.
Just Jazz by
Call Number: 828.92 B942j 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-27
This literary gala features poems such as "Tree Chart," "Rocker," "Composed Early On," and "Where does it all go?" as well as the plays Smokescreens and The Fortune-Telling Parrot for your reading pleasure and allure.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
From Our Shelves: Burning the Books
American Library Association (ALA) announces list of Top Ten Challenged Books in 2023. Check them out here at Hutchins Library
Celebrate National Library Week 2024 at Hutchins Library
April is Autism Acceptance Month: Some Resources to Learn More
From Our Shelves: Words Onscreen
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Subjects
African & African American Studies
African American Music
African Americans
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Appalachian Region
Appalachian Studies
Art & Art History
Arts & Crafts
Asian Studies
Authors / Literature
Awards, Honors, & Recognition
bell hooks
Berea College
Berea College Student Music Performances
Berea Sound Archives
Biographies
Biology
Business Administration
Campus Christian Center
Center for Excellence in Learning through Service (CELTS)
Chemistry
Child & Family Studies
Civil Rights / Race Relations
Dance
Economics
Education / Schools
Education Studies
Educational Technology
English
Environmental Issues
Faculty & Staff
Film Production & Studies
Folklore / Folktales / Storytelling
Foodways / Cookbooks
Forestry
General Studies: GSTR310
Graphic Novels
Health and Human Performance
History
Hutchins Library
Labor Program
Latinx Studies
Librarianship
Mathematics
Music
Music - Appalachian Region
Nursing
Office of the Academic Vice President
Oral Histories and Interviews
Organizations - Local / Regional
Peace & Social Justice Studies
Philosophy
Photograph Collections
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health / Health Care
Religion
Religious Expression
Social Life and Customs
Sociology
Special Collections & Archives
Spotlight on...
Sustainability & Environmental Studies
Technology & Applied Design
Technology in Education
Theatre
Wellness
Women's & Gender Studies
Zines
Return to Blog
0 Comments.