Introductory Resources: Archives and Archival Practice
- The History of Archives: The State of the Discipline The History of Archives: The State of the Discipline (2015) by Elizabeth Yale; Source: Book History, Vol. 18 (2015), pp. 332-359 Published by: The Johns Hopkins University Press Stable URL: https://www.jstor.org/stable/43956377
- An Introduction to Radical Empathy in Archival Practice An Introduction to Radical Empathy in Archival Practice by Elvia Arroyo-Ramírez, Jasmine Jones, Shannon O’Neill, and Holly Smith; Journal of Critical Library and Information Studies: Vol. 3 No. 2 (2021): Radical Empathy in Archival Practice (found at: https://journals.litwinbooks.com/index.php/jclis/issue/view/10)
SCA Specific Training and Information
- What is ArchivesSpace?
Documentation on how to use SCA's content management system: ArchivesSpace. Includes information on finding box locations within ArchivesSpace.
Archival Processing and Systems
- Basic Archives Processing Manual for Student Employees and Volunteers "Basic Archives Processing Manual for Student Employees and Volunteers" (2010). Academic Services Faculty and Staff Publications. 65 https://digitalcommons.usf.edu/tlas_pub/65
Handling and Preservation of Archival Materials
- DHPSNY Webinars on Collections Care Series of Webinars produced by the DOCUMENTARY HERITAGE AND PRESERVATION SERVICES FOR NEW YORK; website: https://dhpsny.org/webinars#Recordings
- Why Pencils Only? DHPSNY blog regarding why pencils are used in Archives
- Handling Archival Documents And Manuscripts National Park Service Conserv-O-Gram on handling archival documents and security; see: https://www.nps.gov/museum/publications/conserveogram/cons_toc.html#collectionpreservation
- Caring For Photographs - General Guidelines National Park Service Conserv-O-Gram on caring for photographs; see: https://www.nps.gov/museum/publications/conserveogram/cons_toc.html#collectionpreservation
- What makes a book rare National Park Service Conserv-O-Gram on rare books; see: https://www.nps.gov/museum/publications/conserveogram/cons_toc.html#collectionpreservation
- Use And Handling Of Rare Books National Park Service Conserv-O-Gram on handling and using rare books; see: https://www.nps.gov/museum/publications/conserveogram/cons_toc.html#collectionpreservation
- Care and Security of Rare Books National Park Service Conserv-O-Gram on rare book care and security see: https://www.nps.gov/museum/publications/conserveogram/cons_toc.html#collectionpreservation
- Removing Original Fasteners from Historic Documents National Park Service Conserv-O-Gram on removing fasteners from documents; see: https://www.nps.gov/museum/publications/conserveogram/cons_toc.html#collectionpreservation
Scanning and Digitizing Materials
- Scanning/Digitization Request FormFillable pdf for requesting materials to be scanned/digitized
- SCA Digitization Guidelines and Standards Berea College Special Collections and Archives Digitization Guidelines and Standards: Revised 2023
- The Art of Scanning Royster, Paul, "The Art of Scanning" (2011). Digital Commons / Institutional Repository Information. 67. https://digitalcommons.unl.edu/ir_information/67
SCA and Hutchins Library Online Resources
- Search the American Periodicals Database
Berea College login required. - Search the AM Explorer database of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Includes Berea College records. Berea College login required.
