Skip to main content

Appalachian Sound Archives Fellowship Program

The Sound Archives Fellowship program encourages the scholarly use of Berea's existing non-commercial audio / video collections and supports new cultural documentation projects that produce primary source material of lasting value for future research use

Overview

ASFP

The purpose of the Sound Archives Fellowship program is to encourage the scholarly use of Berea's existing non-commercial audio / video collections. Awards in support of either type of research are for one month with stipends of $4,000.

Sound Archives Fellowships for 2016-2017 will be directed toward encouraging scholarly use of audio recordings collected in Eastern Kentucky by John and Alan Lomax under the auspices of the Library of Congress (1933–1942). These recordings have been added to Hutchins Library’s already extensive online traditional music collections in cooperation with the American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress and the Association for Cultural Equity.

Alan Lomax said that “for the first time America could hear itself” as a result of his and his father’s efforts. For this benefit to endure he cautioned that “…folksongs should not be buried in libraries as they are in Washington and in universities over the country.”  

First priority in considering projects for Fellowship support will be given to those that will contribute to a greater understanding of the cultural traditions documented and in particular address the challenge of realizing Lomax’s vision of the recordings’ meaning and accessibility for the present day.  

How to Apply

Fellowship research grants are in the amount of $4,000. Fellowships must be taken up between July 2016 and June 2017. All Fellowship supported research must be finished by June 30, 2017.

Deadline for proposals: The deadline for proposals is June 1, 2016.

How to Apply: There is no application form.
Applicants are asked to submit a proposal that includes:

1. Identifying and contact information, applicant's background and interest in the particular subject area.
2. A summary of the proposed project.
3. Project timeline
4. Description of the anticipated use of Lomax Kentucky recordings and other Berea collections. Please discuss specific collection material and their relevance to the project.
5. Anticipated research outcomes and audiences (e.g., print publications, audio/video documentaries, exhibition, public event / performance, teaching, web-based resources).
6. Three letters of recommendation from colleagues familiar with the applicant's work and who are qualified to judge the proposal. Applicants are responsible for contacting all persons providing recommendations.