Curator
LJAC Artifact Guides
This guide is maintained by the Loyal Jones Appalachian Center's Artifacts, Exhibits & Media Studio.
The studio curates and provides access to the 3D artifact collections, produces exhibitions, and creates media to support the work of LJAC. To learn more about the studio, experience more of our creations, and explore the artifact collections, use the links below. Much of the work is done by Berea College students. The supervisory curator is Christopher Miller.
Donating a Dulcimer
The Loyal Jones Appalachian Center actively seeks donations of dulcimers for its Appalachian Studies Artifacts Teaching Collection. We especially seek dulcimers from known makers in the Appalachian Region as defined by the Appalachian Regional Commission. This region stretches from northern Mississippi to southwestern New York.
Please know that as a teaching collection, we make our artifacts liberally available to students and researchers who want to see them and artifacts are routinely handled by students in courses. For additional information please see our Information for Prospective Donors at the LJAC website.
Click here to learn more about our Appalachian Studies Artifacts Teaching Collection and what we do with it.
To inquire about a donation, please contact the Curator using the information in the box to the left.
LJAC Dulcimer Collection in Class
The highest priority of our teaching collection is students encountering artifacts in courses. Here our dulcimer collection is ready for an encounter with the Instrument-making course in 2009.
