Works of Gerald L. Coleman
Black Bone by Call Number: 821.914 B624 2017 - Circulating (3rd Floor)Publication Date: 2018"Bless Your Heart" by Gerald L. Coleman
Falling to Earth by Call Number: 821.92 C692f 2016ISBN: 9781530763115Publication Date: 2016falling to earth is the second collection of poetry by Affrilachian Poet Co-founder Gerald L. Coleman. This chapbook length collection is centered around the concept of love. Gerald L. Coleman explores love of self, others, lovers, and life. falling to earth is a profound journey into the heart of the poet.
The Road Is Long by Call Number: 821.92 C692r 2015ISBN: 9781515071693Publication Date: 2015-07-31The Road is Long is the debut poetry collection of Gerald L. Coleman, co-founder of the Affrilachian Poets. Born and raised in Lexington, Kentucky, Gerald L. Coleman writes with a clarity, depth of perception, and intensity that has led to his poems being published in anthologies and literary journals alike. This long-awaited collection of poetry is a triumph of literary ambition and the sublime.
When Night Falls by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 0578474271Publication Date: 2019-03-13We rarely consider the reputation of our age. An ordinary one, for most of us, would suffice. You might be an Empress too concerned with the affairs of State, a soldier focused on your duty, a former rascal trying to find redemption, or even a great warrior too busy with your command to know that there are whispers being spoken in late-night taverns. But what happens when your ordinary age stops being so ordinary? What happens when dark, twisted things step out of the mists of legend to walk the world again? Strange, black ships have been spotted far out at sea. People are disappearing from towns without a trace. Cordovan, a member of the Watchmen of Alexandria, knows something is wrong, as he races toward the capital, hoping he will make it in time. Far to the north, two members of the ancient order of the Ki'gadi, fear the darkness may already be here. While the rest of the world carries on, unaware of the danger, they search for the place where the darkness is taking root. Heroes will be needed to face what is coming. Thankfully, Alexandria is home to one. His name is Bantu, the Commander-General of the Peoples Company. He will be needed, when night falls.
A Plague of Shadows by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 0692910573Publication Date: 2019-04-15A Lion That Walks has emerged in Kal'ada'abassa for the first time in an age. While some rejoice, others find his arrival disturbing. Far out on the Macca Deep, Basil chases down black ships as chaos erupts on the high seas. Onya Onoto, makes her way to the ancient city of Saladon, wondering what a once in a lifetime meeting of the Compact will bring. The Watchman, Cordovan, looks for a way into the Hallowed Place of Horrors in the hopes that Mino din' Darksbane still lives, even as their apprentices race headlong toward Palladawn carrying the most important message in the last three thousand years. From Al'akaz to Mees, a rising darkness reaches out from the shadows, spreading the tendrils of its influence like a pestilence across the Twelve Nations. Though these soldiers of the Light are spread across the known world, they are all faced with the same onslaught of a plague they cannot escape - a plague of shadows.
On the Black Hand Side by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 1087868599Publication Date: 2022-08-23On the Black Hand Side is a collection of poems about black life, love, and justice. Coleman is engaged in the project of showing that black people's humanity, and their lives, matter. His work is a journey through his own experiences, in which-in the best traditions of poetry-he opens his literary veins and spills his own life, like incandescent blood, on the page. Coleman believes that poetry should be accessible and honest. On the Black Hand Side is a triumph in every sense. Join him as he takes you on a journey to the Black Hand Side.
From Earth and Sky by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 1088041930Publication Date: 2022-12-27Get ready for a space-faring archaeologist who uncovers an ancient terror on a desolate moon, an immortal who hunts infernal creatures, a celestial being who lands on a polluted planet-destroyed by climate change-to render judgement on its inhabitants, and much more. From Earth and Sky is what Coleman refers to as "Nappy Science Fiction & Fantasy." This collection of short stories explores the broad landscape of the Black Fantastic-Science Fiction and Fantasy centering black protagonists. Coleman is at his best in this engaging and sublime contribution to the genre using what New York Times Bestselling author A. J. Hartley describes as, "Brilliant, incisive language wielded with wit and delicacy. A lightsaber working like a scalpel." Buckle up and prepare for a journey into the Black Fantastic that will carry you from earth to sky.
Nappy Metaphysic by Call Number: On OrderISBN: 979-8385769797Publication Date: 2023-03-05Combining poems from thirty years of writing with new work, Coleman has created an indelible collection that's hard to put down. He mixes love, philosophy, the political, and social commentary with personal history, winding it all around the lives of black folks producing a heady mix of rage and insight while holding a mirror up to the broader culture. This is a collection of poems you will want to read over and over again. This special hardcover edition of Nappy Metaphysic includes new poems not included in the original paperback version. In response to the extrajudicial killing of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor, Coleman has written new work in an attempt to express his rage, sadness, and hope in the face of the continuing struggle to get the nation to understand that Black Lives Matter.
Biography
GERALD L. COLEMAN, cofounder of the Affrilachian Poets, studied Philosophy, English, and Religious Studies, culminating in a MA in Theology. Author of the fantasy novel, When Night Falls: Book One of The Three Gifts, and poetry collections, the road is long and falling to earth, you can find him at geraldlcoleman.co.
source:
Spriggs, Bianca Lynne, and Jeremy Paden, editors. “Biographies.” Black Bone: 25 Years of the Affrilachian Poets, University Press of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, 2017, pp. 151–156.
