Traditional vs. Variations
Traditional Boolean
Multiple search terms are put in separate boxes and then connected by Boolean terms in dropdown boxes. Additionally, the searcher can specify the field in which to search for each term.
Non-Traditional Variations
These variations are more likely to occur in special topic databases or databases that are not part of a group.
In cases where Boolean options (dropdown menus, etc.) are not readily visible or a single search box is used, entering multiple terms usually defaults to either the Boolean AND or OR.
Boolean in Databases
Article databases generally have a much, much larger set of resources to search through than the library catalog.
Consequently, the main goal when searching article databases is precision: finding exactly what you want. Browsing is still useful, but only once you reduce the number of articles retrieved to a managable number.
If you find yourself browsing through page after page of results, you may need to edit your search terms or revise your Boolean. Remember: AND and NOT refine results, OR broadens.
Precision can also be increased by selecting fields
in which to search each term (e.g. title, author, subject). Different
databases will offer different fields that you can search.
Different groups of databases use various ways to express their application of Boolean. Most use the traditional approach, which looks very much like BANC's advanced search page.
Some, however, use a single search box approach while other use different symbols for the Boolean operators. Some databases use keyword or phrase searching only and do not allow Boolean at all.
If you get to a database and are not sure how to use the search functions there is almost always a HELP link on the main page that will explain how to use the database. This is usually located somewhere in the upper-right corner.
Examples: Traditional Boolean Databases
Traditional Boolean in Databases:
- EBSCO (Academic Search Premier, CINHAL, ERIC, PsychInfo, etc.)
- ProQuest (Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, ProQuest Newspapers, etc.)
Examples
Non-Traditional Boolean:
- American Chemical Society Publications
