Library Homepage: History 200: Dr. Rebecca Bates: Fall 2023: Print Finding Aid

Print Indexes

For historians, paper indexes remain important research tools. While there are exceptions such as JSTOR, most full text databases do not provide extensive coverage before the 1980's and many index database begin in the mid 1950's. Our paper indexes provide access to periodicals from the early 1800's. The best tool for finding poplar and academic articles outside these time frames is Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. Paper indexes are not as fast or sexy as online materials, but they are easily learned and used. After using them two or three times, you are a pro! Remember, you can consult the Journals Available link to gain access to print holdings. Not sure how to use a print index or find our collection of print journals? Simply ask us at the reference desk

R 0176.97 W956
Writings on American History (1902 - 1979)
For many years this was the standard tool for discovering works on American history. Both the general reader and the academic would have found this an useful tool. While now neglected, Writings should be consulted for the early 20the century. It is an excellent resource for locating local and county histories.
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature (1890 to 2008)
Periodical R
Reader's Guide was the mainstay for finding journal and magazine articles in public and school libraries during the 20th century. While popular magazines dominated the Guide, academic journals are included.
Essay and General Literature Index EGLI (1900 – 2003)
R 040 E78
Essays collections have a long association with academic research. This work provides access to chapter and essay literature included in selected essay collections. EGLI is a unique resource that is often over looked. Bear in mind many online databases do not include essay or chapter literature. Many edited collection were purchased due to their inclusion in EGLI. So it should not be surprising that EGLI remains a useful resource.
Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature (1802 to 1906)
Index P
This is the earliest indexing of American periodical literature. Our print copies are located at the end of the Reference collection