Background Information
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowGrove Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.
Why Use Books?
Books are useful for in-depth information, including: historical context, overview, synthesis and analysis of information.
Often a chapter or two, rather then the entire book, are all that may be relevant for your topic.
Search the library catalog for books, DVDs, CDs, and both popular and scholarly articles
Scholarly Articles
- JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals and thousands of e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Google ScholarYou can search Google Scholar using the citations for existing works and sometimes you will find a full-text copy of the article.
Google Scholar also allows you to "cite forward" its articles; in other words, you can see who has cited a particular article, to determine further developments in this line of research and find additional related sources.
Searching for images
- Artstor (images, photos, etc.) This link opens in a new window[NOTE: The Artstor platform will be "retired" on August 1, 2024. All Artstor content is now on the JSTOR platform. (Preview the new Artstor collections site.)] The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world ( read the full list here ). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here ).
