Why Use Encyclopedias?
Background sources like encyclopedias can provide context for your topic, or even help you choose one. They are great places to start because:
- they explain topics in simpler language than scholarly articles
- they are much shorter (often just a just a page or two, instead of the 20 pages or more found in a scholarly article or the hundreds of pages found in a book)
- they highlight important issues, figures, dates, and/or events that you may want to focus on in your paper or project
- they give you suggested sources for further research in the form of bibliographies or works cited
Encyclopedias
The following are recommended encyclopedias in the field of Women's Studies. You can read them online 24/7.
-
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World
Call Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2011Looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. Focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and going forward and covers the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world. -
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Call Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2009Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. Offers a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.. -
Women and Politics around the World
Call Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2009Examines the progress women have made in achieving political equality and addresses both transnational and gender-related issues as well as specific conditions in more than 20 countries. -
Women's Rights: People and Perspectives
Call Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2010Explores the history of the struggle for women's rights in the United States from the colonial period to the present. -
Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
Call Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2006A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. -
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media
by
Publication Date: 2012The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. Organized in A-to-Z, it has 150 signed entries. It provides a reader’s guide, cross references, bibliographies, a glossary and chronology. -
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements
by
Publication Date: 2013The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions. Including a comprehensive chronology and bibliography, this book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and any.. -
Boy Culture
by
Call Number: R 305.23 B789 2010ISBN: 9780313350818Publication Date: 2010“Provides a look into what it means to be a boy growing up in North America, covering everything from toys and games, friends and family, and psychological and social development.” This two volume set is indexed, has entry level bibliographies, and a general bibliography.
Print Encyclopedias
These works are housed in the reference section. If you need assistance locating them please ask at the reference desk,
-
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
by
Call Number: R 305.403 E56 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2001The Encyclopedia of Gender examines personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior. Two volume set proves 100 plus detailed articles along with added features such as an outline, glossary and a reference list. This work goes beyond female/male divide exploring class and race differences with in gender issues. -
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women
by
Call Number: R 305.403 R869 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2000Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women provides global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory. Written as a reference work for a new century the set has 900 plus signed entries. The set provides a distinct feminist tone. Biographies are not included. -
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
by
Call Number: R 305.42 G8165s (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2003This set of six volumes provides information on women's issues in over 130 countries. Each volume represents a continent and the entries are arranged A to Z. An excellent starting place for nation based research. -
American Masculinities
by
Call Number: R 305.3103 A512 2003 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2003With more than 250 signed entries this work supports research in men’s studies. It has a readers guide to facilitate subject browsing, excellent cross references and an extensive index. Biographies are included of popular culture icons. -
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Call Number: R 306.766 E56 (Location: Reference)This scholarly three-volume set offers a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. The encyclopedia includes some 545 articles articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. -
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures
by
Call Number: R 306.766 G285Publication Date: 1999This two-volume encyclopedia has been prepared with a volumes covering Gay and Lesbian history. Its goal is to ensure an unbiased presentation. This reference set should assist the general public undergraduates and scholars. -
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Americans at Risk
by
Call Number: R 306.766 l623 2018Publication Date: 2018This three-volume set of essays addresses the LGBTQ+ experience arranged around the human life cycle--youth, middle age, and old age. The intended audience includes the general public along with activists, scholars, and students. Each volume has a separate index. -
Understanding the Well-Being of LGBTQI+ Populations
by
Call Number: R 306.766 U554 2020Publication Date: 2021Understanding the Well-Being of LGBTQI+ Populations reviews the available evidence and identifies future research needs related to the well-being of sexually gender diverse (SGD) populations across the life course. Each chapter has a separate index. -
The Rowman and Littlefield Handbook of Transgender Studies
by
Call Number: R 306.768 R884 2023Publication Date: 2023The Rowman & Littlefield Handbook of Transgender Studies offers 13 essays that address a wide range of topics, including medical care, education, coming out, bathroom and military politics and possibilities, and the creation of families. Each essay has its own index. -
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History
by
Call Number: 306.76 G562 2018Publication Date: 2019This three-volume set offers a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, literature, psychology, sociology, and others. Articles in bibliography and see also. -
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers [2 Volumes]
by
Call Number: R 303.484 R216ePublication Date: 2001"This valuable contribution to women's studies includes the stories of more than 400 women from 64 countries and brings into the limelight many forgotten movements and personalities that have had major impacts on history. Readers will be inspired by the fascinating biographies." American Libraries
