Why Use Encyclopedias?
Background sources like encyclopedias can provide context for your topic, or even help you choose one. They are great places to start because:
- they explain topics in simpler language than scholarly articles
- they are much shorter (often just a just a page or two, instead of the 20 pages or more found in a scholarly article or the hundreds of pages found in a book)
- they highlight important issues, figures, dates, and/or events that you may want to focus on in your paper or project
- they give you suggested sources for further research in the form of bibliographies or works cited
Online Encyclopedias
The following are recommended encyclopedias in your field. You can read them online 24/7.
Encyclopedia of Human DevelopmentCall Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2006The first comprehensive, authoritative, and informative reference work that presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education in a way that is not too technical. With over 600 entries organized from A-Z, this three-volume Encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, and much more.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public HealthCall Number: E-BookPublication Date: 2013Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
Print Encyclopedias
Hutchins Library also has a large collection of print enyclopedias that you can access in person in the Reference area on the main floor.
Dictionary of Health Education
Call Number: REF 613.03 D554 2010
Expert Resumes for Health Care Careers
Call Number: REF 610.6902 E566e 2010
Sexual Health : a Reference Handbook
Call Number: REF 613.95 N562s 2010
Gale Encyclopedia of Diets : a Guide to Health and Nutrition
Call Number: REF 613.203 G151 2008
Encyclopedia of Wellness by Call Number: 613.03 E563 2012 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2012This three-volume resource is a compendium of practical information on how to reduce poor health choices and live a healthy, active, vibrant life. A source of basic, easily understandable entries on health and wellness, the encyclopedia covers an extraordinarily broad array of health-related topics including acupuncture, art therapy, biofeedback, food additives, nutrition labels, organic foods, and workplace wellness. Bulimia is covered, as are depression, autism, cancer, and environmental hazards. Essays examine issues related to healthy living for the mind and the body, stressing the importance of the mind-body connection to good health. Information is also offered on practical concerns such as medical savings accounts, changes in medical insurance, and the U.S. health care system. Throughout, the encyclopedia presents knowledge gleaned from new research on treatment and especially on choices in nutrition and exercise."
The Encyclopedia of Women's Health by Call Number: 613.042 A518e 2009 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2009The Encyclopedia of Women s Health, Sixth Edition covers the full range of women s health issues in clear, straightforward language. More than 1,100 A-to-Z entries offer up-to-date information on issues specific to women, as well as material on general health issues such as diet, exercise, and disease treatment. Perfect for students and professionals alike, this new resource explains the latest medical discoveries and treatments, providing concise information on health-related topics to enable women to become informed and active medical consumers.
Dictionary of Health Education by Call Number: 613.03 D554 2010 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2009The Dictionary of Health Education provides for the first time a complete, comprehensive guide to the professional and technical words, terms, and phrases used in the health education profession. In one volume, it encompasses the full scope of the language of health education, bringing together the disciplines of education, medicine, public health and its sub-disciplines, history, philosophy, and political science. A vital reference tool for all health educators or those who are involved in the promotion of health, this unique book contains over 10,000 definitions of frequently used words and phrases. For ease of use, all entries are alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced where appropriate. The dictionary also contains tables of important health and medical terms to further illustrate key ideas. This user-friendly volume is an indispensable resource to anyone who wants to speak and understand the language of health education.
Sexual Health by Call Number: 613.95 N562s 2010 (Location: Reference)Publication Date: 2009What are the major types of sexually transmitted diseases and how are they contracted and treated? How effective are different types of contraception? How do you recognize the stages of puberty? The defining feelings of sexual orientation? This candid, authoritative handbook is designed to serve young people as a reliable, enlightening source of answers to questions like these as they navigate the often confusing transition from adolescence to physical maturity. In addition to being a go-to resource on common problems related to sexual health, this welcomed volume considers a number of related issues and controversies, including sex education, the "morning after" pill, condoms in schools, and more. It also includes information on various organizations that have an interest in adolescent sexual health, as well as wide range of additional resources in print and online.
