Why Use Encyclopedias?
Background sources like encyclopedias can provide context for your topic, or even help you choose one. They are great places to start because:
- they explain topics in simpler language than scholarly articles
- they are much shorter (often just a just a page or two, instead of the 20 pages or more found in a scholarly article or the hundreds of pages found in a book)
- they highlight important issues, figures, dates, and/or events that you may want to focus on in your paper or project
- they give you suggested sources for further research in the form of bibliographies or works cited
Online Encyclopedias
The following are recommended encyclopedias in your field. You can read them online 24/7.
- Encyclopedia of Alabama This link opens in a new window"Welcome to your free, online resource on Alabama history, culture, geography, and natural environment. This site offers articles on Alabama's famous people, historic events, sports, art, literature, industry, government, plant and animal life, agriculture, recreation, and so much more. For an introduction to EOA's content, please read historian Wayne Flynt's essay on Alabama. "
- Encyclopedia Virginia This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia Virginia is the first and ultimate online reference work about the Commonwealth; it aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state’s proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology and interpret the state’s significance to the people of Virginia, the nation, and the world. (website)
- eWV: The West Virginia Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowe-WV: The West Virginia Encyclopedia is the comprehensive reference resource for the Mountain State of West Virginia. Based on the best-selling West Virginia Encyclopedia, e-WV offers thousands of articles on West Virginia’s people and places, history, arts, science and culture. (website)
- Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture This link opens in a new windowThe on-line edition of the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture is a joint project of the Tennessee Historical Society and the University of Tennessee Press. This fully searchable version of the print edition, originally published in 1998, contains over 1,500 entries. The online version has updates to existing entries, new entries, more than five hundred additional images, plus audio and video files.
- NCpediaNCpedia highlights North Carolina's unique resources, people and culture to enrich, educate and inform. The encyclopedia contains more than 8,400 articles and more than 9,200 images. (website)
- New Georgia EncyclopediaThe New Georgia Encyclopedia is the first state encyclopedia to be conceived and designed exclusively for publication on the Internet. By opening a window to Georgia's rich history, diverse culture, and still-unfolding story, the New Georgia Encyclopedia is an authoritative and important resource. As an online endeavor, the NGE is an organic, "living" project—content can be continually added, and existing content can be updated, as resources allow.
- South Carolina EncyclopediaThe digital South Carolina Encyclopedia is a reference source of the people, places, events, things, achievements, and ideals that have contributed to the evolution of the Palmetto State consisting of almost 2000 entries. (website)
Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of AppalachiaCall Number: 974 E563 2006 (Locations: Reference, Circulating)Publication Date: 2006Contents: Foreword / An appreciation / Guide for readers / Introduction / The landscape: Geology ; Ecology ; Environment / The people: Family and community ; Images and icons ; Race, ethnicity, and identity ; Settlement and migration ; Urban Appalachian experience / Work and the economy: Agriculture ; Business, industry, and technology ; Labor ; Tourism ; Transportation / Cultural traditions: Architecture ; Crafts ; Folklore and folklife ; Food and cooking ; Humor ; Language ; Literature ; Music ; Performing arts ; Religion ; Sports and recreation; Visual arts / Institutions: Cultural institutions ; Education ; Government ; Health ; Media.
A Handbook to Appalachia by Call Number: R 974 H236 2006 c.4Publication Date: 2006-05-01This anthology offers chapter length entries on important Appalachian topics that many Berea students research. Consult early in your research process. The chapter level bibliographies are particularly strong.
Chapters:HistoryThe Peoples of AppalachiaNatural Resources and EnvironmentEconomicsPolitics of ChangeHealth CareEducationFolklifeLiteratureReligionVisual ArtsAppalachians Outside the Region
Encyclopedia of American Social History by Call Number: R 016.3054 F239a Copy 1Publication Date: 1993-02-01This set has an excellent article providing an overview to Appalachian culture and society.
Appalachian Women by Call Number: 016.3054 F239a Copy 1 (Locations: Reference, Circulating)Publication Date: 1981-01-01Provides detailed information on subject previous to 1981. Sidney S. Farr was a long time staffer in Berea College's Special Collections department.
The Bibliography of Appalachia by Call Number: R 016.974 B947b 2009Publication Date: 2009-01-30This bibliography of books, articles, monographs, and dissertations features more than 4,700 entries, divided into twenty-four subject areas such as activism and protest; Appalachian Studies; arts and crafts; community culture and folklife; education; environment; ethnicity, race and identity; health and medicine; media and stereotypes; recreation and tourism; religion; and women and gender.
New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, 24 Vol Set by Call Number: R 975 N532 2013Publication Date: 2013-07-01The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture does not offer a dedicate volume to Appalachia but most of the 24 volumes will address topics of interest to students researching on the region. The set does not have a comprehensive index.
