Library Homepage: PSC 480: Fall 2023: Locating articles

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full text from nearly 3,700 U.S. and 2,300 International newspapers. Direct links are available to search Kentucky and Appalachian Region newspapers, major metro titles, international resources, newswires, broadcast transcripts, America's news magazines, world and US newspapers.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. (publisher website)
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals and thousands of e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ScienceDirect Journals (College Edition) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect covers the fields of health, life sciences, mathematics, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions, such as the World Bank, the US Census Bureau, the Pew Research Center, and the IMF. Statista offers statistics and survey results in the form of bar charts and tables and includes, for example, data on advertising, consumer behavior, separate business fields, and governmental data. These are divided over some 20 industry categories such as advertising, chemicals, energy, consumer goods, eCommerce, banking, and transportation.

Citing Forward

Citation mining: when you find a relevant item you can use it to find more resources.

How?

1. You can build upon past research by review the item's bibliography for additional leads.

Look at the citations from the bibliography of a great source and then go track those sources down. This leads back in time to related works.

2. You can see where the conversation has gone or is going by determining who has cited this article.

Once you have found a relevant article on GoogleScholar or in ScienceDirect, look for the "cited by" option and read those.

Google Scholar
You can search Google Scholar using the citations for existing works and sometimes you will find a full-text copy of the article.

Google Scholar also allows you to "cite forward" its articles; in other words, you can see who has cited a particular article, to determine further developments in this line of research and find additional related sources.

What if We Don't Have What You Need?

If you come across a citation for an article within one of our databases, but we don't actually have a subscription to it, don't give up! You can use Interlibrary Loan to order it -- for free!

Step 1: Double-check to see if we have access via Journals Available
Looking for an article?

Check Journals Available, using the title of your journal (not the author or the title of the article) because the item might be available in print or online at Hutchins Library through another database.

Still can't find it?
Step 2: Login to your interlibrary loan account
Logon to your interlibrary loan account with this link to: