Hutchins Library News Blog

The graphic novel on spotlight this month is Wonder Woman!

Wonder Woman is an absolute American classic! This version of Wonder Woman isn't the same as the one you may have known from a childhood. This is from the New 52. The New 52 is the complete re-launch of DC comics that occurred in 2011. If you're interested in Wonder Woman (The New 52), then come check it out from Hutchins Library in the graphic novel section. 

A synopsis: 

Wonder Woman by Brian Azzarello; Cliff Chiang (Artist, Cover Design by); Tony Akins (Artist); Dan Green (Artist)

Call Number: 9781401235635

ISBN: 9781401235635

Publication Date: 2012-05-30

The first six issues of the critically acclaimed new WONDER WOMAN series are collected in hardcover! Hippolyta, queen of the Amazons, has kept a secret from her daughter all her life - and when Wonder Woman learns who her father is, her life will shatter

One of the most popular holiday celebrations in the month of December is Christmas. It is commonly a time when friends, families, relatives, and sometimes strangers share some heart warming meals, stories, songs, gifts, and other unique traditional practices.

The history of Christmas in America is rich and diverse. Beginning as an occasion that was prohibited by the Puritans, it has become what is arguably the most elaborate and socially visible holiday in American culture. On the way to achieving this status, the "traditional" American Christmas has incorporated a variety of myths and traditions with both religious and nonreligious origins.

Descriptions from: 

“National Poetry Month - April.” National Day Calendar, 16 Apr. 2020, nationaldaycalendar.com/national-poetry-month-april/.

Christmas with Paula Deen by Paula Deen

Call Number: 641.568 D311c 2007

Publication Date: 2007-10-30

Filled with Paula's trademark Southern charm, Christmas with Paula Deen is a collection of beloved holiday recipes and cherished stories. "I've gone through all my books and put together this collection of my most treasured recipes and memories for the holiday season to share with you...You'll find a few new dishes, a sprinkling of new holiday stories, and some family pictures you might not have seen before." There's no holiday Paula Deen loves better than Christmas, when she opens her home to family and friends, and traditions old and new make the days merry and bright. Filled with Paula's trademark Southern charm and happy reminiscences of Yuletide seasons past, Christmas with Paula Deen is a collection of beloved holiday recipes and stories interspersed with cherished family photographs. Included are Paula's most requested homemade gifts of food; a collection of cookies sure to become your family's favorites; easy dishes for a Christmas breakfast or brunch that will let you enjoy the food and your guests; impressive fare for Christmas dinner and holiday entertaining and, of course, spectacular cakes, puddings, pies, and other sweet things. "So Merry Christmas, y'all, and best dishes and best wishes from me and my family to yours."

Christmas Cookies by Katherine M. Eakin

Call Number: 641.8654 C555

Publication Date: 1986-01-01

Christmastime is cookie time! Brown-suited gingerbread men with raisins for buttons and icing for hair; green-sugared Christmas trees and red-sugared Santas; cookies flavored with bourbon and coconut shaped into balls and rolled in sugar; date-filled, lemon-filled, and jelly-filled cookies; and perennial favorites, such as brownies and chocolate chip cookies, are truly the making of Christmas cheer. Recipes innovative and worthy of gift giving abound in this unique collection from Southern Living Magazine. Here you will find both American favorites and foreign specialties, which highlight the universal appeal of holiday cookies. Many of the recipes leave room for the imaginative cook to create her own seasonal masterpieces. And when the season is over, this cookbook will serve as a valuable resource for delicious cookies that will give pleasure the year-round. The recipes are organized according to the method of preparation. If the cookies are baked in a pan and cut into bars or square

Babar and Father Christmas by Jean De Brunhoff

Call Number: B894f 1940

Publication Date: 2001-09-25

Every child's favorite elephant, Barbar, returns in this unusual and heartwarming Christmas story. Babar's children have caught wind of a fellow in Man's country named Father Christmas who brings joy and toys to little children. "If only we could bring him here," they wish. So they write the Christmas saint a letter inviting him to visit them. When they get no reply, Babar, ever the good father, rushes out to find the red-suited one. After much searching, and with the help of a dog named Duck, Babar reaches Father Christmas's workshop in the snow. Can Babar find a way to bring him to Elephants' country?

May Your Days Be Merry and Bright by Susan Koppelman (Compiled by)

Call Number: 823.008 M466

Publication Date: 1988-10-01

These fifteen short stories gathered by Susan Koppelman combine all the great themes of Christmas. They were written by American women over the last one hundred and twenty years, and all but two were published in the Christmas issue of a popular magazine or newspaper. There are stories of joyful family reunions, reconciliations, and renewals of the spirit. Some speak of the pain of those who are excluded or exclude themselves from the celebration; others are filled with the bitter ironies of those who betray the meaning of the season. Finally, there are stories about those whose holiday is not Christmas and for whom the season is a curious or threatening imposition on their lives. Written by artists whose literary craft is exceptional and whose imaginations are visionary, these rich and insightful stories will continue to reward on repeated readings.

 

Volleyball, game played by two teams, usually of six players on a side, in which the players use their hands to bat a ball back and forth over a high net, trying to make the ball touch the court within the opponents’ playing area before it can be returned. To prevent this a player on the opposing team bats the ball up and toward a teammate before it touches the court surface—that teammate may then volley it back across the net or bat it to a third teammate who volleys it across the net. A team is allowed only three touches of the ball before it must be returned over the net.

Description from:

“Volleyball.” Encyclopædia Britannica, Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 30 Jan. 2020, www.britannica.com/sports/volleyball.

Volleyball by Barbara L. Viera; Bonnie J. Ferguson

Call Number: 796.325 V665v

Publication Date: 1996-02-01

"Score more points with solid fundamentals. Volleyball: Steps to Success provides expert instruction and 99 drills to help you learn and master the basic skills and strategies." "By following the book's sequential lessons and studying the 193 illustrations, you'll learn why each skill is important in a competitive setting and how to analyze and correct errors. The drills come with performance goals and a list of key points to remember when executing each drill, and they often include instructions for increasing or decreasing the difficulty of the drill." "Part of the highly popular Steps to Success Activity Series, this book will help you develop the skills and confidence you need to compete and win."

Volleyball Fundamentals by Joel Dearing; Human Kinetics Staff

Call Number: 796.325 D285v

Publication Date: 2003-06-17

Learning to play volleyball has never been more effective--or more fun--than with Volleyball Fundamentals. Students will enjoy using this resource because they will learn by doing, spending less time reading and more time engaged in playing the game. With simple instructions and accompanying photographs you'll find it easy to teach them to play volleyball quickly and simply. Volleyball Fundamentals begins by teaching formations and rotations so that students get an immediate sense of where they belong on the court. Chapters are devoted to mastering specific skills such as serving, receiving, setting, attacking, blocking, and digging.

Volleyball by Jon R. Poole; Michael Metzler

Call Number: 796.325 P822v

Publication Date: 2000-09-28

This guide to volleyball uses the Personalized Sport Instruction model of teaching (PSI), which is widely respected as an effective, interactive, student-centered teaching model. This workbook, as part of a six-book series, features a common organization and framework for planning, managing, implementing, and evaluating the fundamentals of learning badminton. Each module includes specific directions for setting up learning tasks and criteria for demonstrating mastery. For anyone interested in the sport of volleyball.

Volleyball Today by Marv Dunphy; Rod Wilde

Call Number: 796.325 D925v 2000

Publication Date: 1999-07-19

Regarded as one of the top texts on the market, VOLLEYBALL TODAY provides comprehensive coverage of the sport's fundamentals and is suitable for players of all levels. Dunphy and Wilde, nationally recognized volleyball coaches, provide expert training tips and advice on essential skills, including passing, bumping, setting, spiking, serving, blocking, transitions, effective strategies, and conditioning routines. And of course, they include the basic rules of volleyball, including official rules from the USVA.VOLLEYBALL TODAY makes it easy for players of all levels to work on their abilities, whether they're playing indoors, outdoors, or on the beach. Easy-to-follow illustrations of techniques and court movements, along with professional photos of volleyball players in action, allow players to visualize the technique as they read. Helpful checklists let students monitor their progress from the beginner level, to the intermediate level, to the advanced level. All in all, VOLLEYBALL TODAY proves to be a great training and reference text for the casual player or the enthusiast.

Coaching Volleyball Successfully by Sally Kus

Call Number: 796.325 K971c 2004

Publication Date: 2004-04-19

In Coaching Volleyball Successfully, Sally Kus presents the formula she used to build and sustain the most successful high school volleyball program ever. From establishing a philosophy and planning productive practices to game-time decision making and player evaluation, this book will help you coach your team to championship-level performances season after season. Kus compiled an amazing 794-29 record at the high school level, prompting Volleyball Magazineto call her program "the best ever in the history of the sport." Coaching Volleyball Successfullyis the first publication of Kus' winning blueprint. Now you can put her expertise to use on your side of the net!