Hutchins Library News Blog

The graphic novel spotlight of the month is Skyward!

Have you ever wondered what life would be like on Earth with low gravity? Well Joe Henderson's graphic novel, Skyward, will show you. The story takes place 20 years after "G-Day," and follows a young woman who was born right before it happened. The world is now using magnets in order to stay on the ground. Otherwise they carry a gun or some other item to send them flying back down to Earth. If you're interested then check it out at Hutchins Library's graphic novel section.

The synopsis:

My Low-G Life by Lee Garbett (Artist); Antonio Fabela (Artist); Joe Henderson

Call Number: 741.597 H496s -- Graphic novel section

ISBN: 9781534308336

Publication Date: 2018-09-25

Newsweek's Best Comic Booksof 2018 The New York PublicLibrary's Best Books forTeens Thrillist'sBest Comics & Graphic Novels of2018 One day, gravity on Earthsuddenly became a fraction of what it is now. Twenty years later, humanity hasadapted to its new low-gravity reality. And to Willa Fowler, a woman born justafter G-day, it's...well, it's pretty awesome, actually. You can fly through theair! I mean, sure, you can also die if you jump too high. So you just don't jumptoo high. And maybe don't get mixed up in your Dad's secret plan to bringgravity back that could get youkilled... SKYWARD, VOL. 1 collects issues #1-5 ofthe ongoing series from writer Joe Henderson (showrunner of Fox's Lucifer) andartist Lee Garbett (Lucifer, Loki: Agent of Asgard).

November's reference book of the Month:  Oxford Dictionary of Zoology. The description below is from Amazon.

This is the only available paperback dictionary of zoology.This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals.Now with over 5,000 entries, it is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in the subject. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units.Wide coverage including animal behaviour, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, zoogeography.Full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of `extremophiles' - organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile - and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed.Featuring entires on genetics, evolutionary studies, and mammalian physiology.

~ Recommended for students majoring in Biology~

A Dictionary of Zoology This is the only available paperback dictionary of zoology.This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals.Now with over 5,000 entries, it is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in the subject. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units.Wide coverage including animal behaviour, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, zoogeography.Full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of `extremophiles' - organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile - and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed.Featuring entires on genetics, evolutionary studies, and mammalian physiology. by Michael Allaby (Editor)

Call Number: 590.3 D554 2003

Publication Date: 2003-09-18

This is the only available paperback dictionary of zoology.This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals.Now with over 5,000 entries, it is ideal for students and will be invaluable to amateur naturalists and all those with an interest in the subject. It is illustrated with clear line drawings, and supported by useful appendices on the genetic code, endangered animals, and SI units.Wide coverage including animal behaviour, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, evolution, Earth history, zoogeography.Full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.Completely revised to incorporate the discovery of `extremophiles' - organisms living in environments formerly considered impossibly hostile - and the toxonomic reclassification that this has entailed.Featuring entires on genetics, evolutionary studies, and mammalian physiology.

As we approach the holiday season, your skin begins to feel the dehydrating effects of the cool, dry, winter air. This is a great time to start thinking about the health of your skin and how you can help protect and maintain it. As such, November has been designated as National Healthy Skin Month by the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD), a time when everyone is encouraged to learn about the functions of the skin and how to keep it working and looking its best. The goal is to raise awareness about the importance of keeping your skin fresh and hydrated, not only during the winter, but all year round.Your skin is your body's largest organ, so it's important to take good care of it. November is National Healthy Skin Month.

According to Christian Millett, a board-certified dermatologist with Forefront Dermatology in Tyson’s Corner, Virginia: “Educating yourself about the skin is important for a number of reasons. Changes in the skin may be a sign that there is a problem with your overall health. Itching or a rash could indicate a number of conditions, such as an allergic reaction, an infection, or an autoimmune disease. A new growth or changing mole could turn out to be a type of skin cancer. Paying careful attention to your skin can provide important clues to the health and wellness of your body as a whole.”

Skin Facts

• The average adult has approximately 16 – 22 square feet of skin, which weighs around 9 – 11 lbs.

• Skin accounts for ~15% of your body weight.

• The skin has three layers: epidermis, dermis, and subcutis.

• The thickness of the skin varies between different parts of the body

• Skin is thickest on the palms and soles and thinnest on the eyelids.

• The skin completely renews itself every 28 days by constantly shedding dead cells.

• Skin sheds around 30,000 cells per minute.

• A large part of the dust in your home is actually made up of dead skin cells.

• Your skin is home to millions of bacteria, from over 1,000 different species.

• Skin that is damaged can heal itself by forming a scar.

• Unlike normal skin, scar tissue lacks hair and sweat glands.

• Skin that is exposed to repeated friction or pressure can become thicker, forming a callus.

• There are different types of receptors and nerve endings in the skin that respond to pressure, pain, and temperature.

• The skin serves as a protective barrier that helps to keep water in the body and harmful chemicals and pathogens out.

These are just a few of the many fun and educational facts about your skin. National Healthy Skin Month is a great time to learn about normal skin, but it is also a time to keep educated on a variety of skin problems, such as eczema, psoriasis, acne, and skin cancer.

Description from:

“November Is National Healthy Skin Month!” Forefront Dermatology, Forefront Dermatology, 25 July 2019, forefrontdermatology.com/november-national-healthy-skin-month/.

The Look You Like

Call Number: 616.5 S371L

Publication Date: 1989-10-10

Hair: Facts and Basic Care Hair Loss Alopecia Other Hair Problems Hair-Coloring Products Hair Waving Straightening Other Hair Products The Face: Basic Care and Common Problems Facial Creams and Other Facial Products Aging Skin Shaving Advice for Men Excess Hair-Hirsutism The Body: Basic Care Problems Hands and Feet: Care and Problems Nails: Care Problems Perspiration and Body Odor Allergy and Irritation Insects and Bugs Nutrition and the Skin Miscellaneous Skin Problems Sports-Related Skin Problems The Sun and Skin Acne Psoriasis Herpes Infections Nevi and Pigmentation Problems The Skin and AIDS Skin Cancer

 

 

Dermatology and Skin Care by John A. Parrish

Call Number: 616.5 P261d

Publication Date: 1975-01-01

Dermatology and Skin Care by John Parrish, MD, is a relatively small (288 pages) dermatology text containing concise and lucid descriptions of the major skin lesions seen in practice. I found chapter 4, "General Pathologic Descriptions and Mechanisms," to be especially useful in helping me to describe and assess any lesions I might see. The book, as a whole, is well-organized and, above all, workable. It fills the need for primary dermatologic instruction in an area that most practitioner training programs leave incomplete. Description from: https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamadermatology/article-abstract/535909

 

 

 

Skin by Charles B. Inlander; Janet Worsley Norwood

Call Number: E-Book

Publication Date: 1998-01-01

Great skin is about much more than looking good. As the body's largest organ, the skin is an important part of the immune system, and helps keep out harmful bacteria and other organisms. Skin also helps regulate body heat and focuses the sense of touch. Unfortunately, the skin is vulnerable to the effects of aging, sun damage, hormone fluctuations, and a host of diseases, as well as to reactions to certain foods, medications, and chemicals. Too often, popular magazines, salon attendants, and advertisements are me main source of advice on skin care -- despite me fact that their conclusions may be contradictory or even wrong. Now, the People's Medical Society has sorted through the mass of conflicting information to bring you a complete, authoritative guide to skin health. In this easy-to-read book you'll find a valuable collection of skin care advice backed up by scientific studies and expert, professional opinions on the most effective products, the latest "miracle" drugs, the newest laser procedures, and much more.

 

 

Racquetball is a popular indoor racquet sport where players use a specially designed racket to play with a hollow rubber ball in an indoor or outdoor court. Very much similar to 40×20 American handball and British Racketball, it is an excellent choice for cardio vascular workout. The rules of the sport are quite easy to follow which makes it very interesting.

In racquetball, once service is done, players need to hit the ball to the walls alternatively using their rackets without obstructing their opponent. A player gets a point, when a shot is missed by the opponent and in this way the player who achieves the required score first wins the match. Unlike squash, here only a server can score a point.

Description from:

“Racquetball - Quick Guide.” Tutorialspoint, www.tutorialspoint.com/racquetball/racquetball_quick_guide.htm.

Available resources about Racquetball:

Skills, Drills and Strategies for Racquetball by David Walker

Call Number: 796.343 W178s 1999

Publication Date: 1998-12-01

This book illustrates correct techniques and demonstrates how to achieve optimal results in Racquetball. It focuses on skills and drills or program design, and addresses a broad range of strategies specifically designed to improve performance now and in the future.

 

Beginning Racquetball by Cheryl Norton; James E. Bryant

Call Number: 796.343 N883b 2004

Publication Date: 2003-06-06

BEGINNING RAQUETBALL covers the fundamentals of raquetball and is suitable for players at all levels. Its major strengths are its comprehensive art program and rich pedagogy, which include "Points to Remember"-a checklist of helpful hints for players and "Check Points"- study questions at the end of each chapter.

Racquetball by Michael Metzler

Call Number: 796.34 M596r

Publication Date: 2000-09-25

This guide to raquetball uses the Personalized Sport Instruction model of teaching (PSI), which is widely respected as an effective, interactive, student-centered teaching model.

 

Winning Racquetball by Ed Turner; Woody Clouse

Call Number: 797.343 T945w

Publication Date: 1995-10-11

Whether you're a competitive tournament player or a recreational player, Winning Racquetball: Skills, Drills, and Strategieswill help you improve your game. The authors--veteran instructor Ed Turner and #9-ranked professional racquetball player Woody Clouse--show you all the shots and strategies for success on the court. And you'll see them from two views: the objective eye of an instructor and the keen competitive eye of a touring professional. Using more than 140 photos and illustrations, the authors provide practical tips for beginning through advanced players, plus drills for each level. Inside you'll find valuable information on: - selecting equipment and facilities; - safety and injury prevention and treatment; - conditioning to improve strength, power, flexiblity, and endurance; - common errors and how to correct them; - effective game strategies for doubles and tournament play; and - mental conditioning and outthinking opponents. 

Racquetball, Winning Edge by Jim Hiser

Call Number: 796.343 H673r 1999

Publication Date: 1998-11-10

Providing an introduction and explanation of the skills and techniques to take the court and participate as a competative player. This book gives an explanation of facilities, equipment and rules and moves on to how to mentally and physically prepare for a game of doubles or singles.