Hutchins Library News Blog

Post by Tim Binkley, Head of Special Collections and Archives:

I would like to share with you a new online exhibit of items from the Special Collections and Archives that has just been posted.

The Path to Woman Suffrage in the United States: 1848 – 1920 (https://scaexhibits.omeka.net/exhibits/show/pathtowomansuffrage) highlights period print materials from the curio book collection and the archives that advocated for (or against) extending voting rights to women. Normally we would show these works as a physical exhibit behind glass. However, due to current circumstances, the exhibit will be online only. On-campus students, faculty, and staff may make appointments to view all items in the SCA reading Room via https://berea.libwizard.com/f/ReadingRoom. As an added feature, the online exhibit offers hyperlinks to free online copies of the featured texts. So even if you cannot come to the reading room, you can still read the works in question.

The exhibit was produced to accompany the National Archives pop-up display “Rightfully Hers” that is currently in the Hutchins Library foyer. (https://libraryguides.berea.edu/blog/Rightfully-Hers-Popup-Exhibit-Celebrates-Womens-Suffrage-Centennial-at-Hutchins-Library)

I hope that you will enjoy exploring both and gaining some insights about the struggle for equal rights.

May we all value our hard-won voting rights enough to exercise them this fall.

Post by Timothy Binkley, Head of Special Collections and Archives,

If you have walked into Hutchins Library lately, you are likely to have noticed something new in the foyer. It is a temporary “popup” display produced by the National Archives and Records Administration and the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission (WSCC). These organizations are partnering with Berea College Special Collections and Archives to share the story of women’s fight for their right to vote in the United States.

Rightfully Hers: American Women and the Vote explores the history of the ratification of the 19th Amendment and the state of voting rights before and after the women’s suffrage movement. Consisting of four panels of images, insights, and quotations, the popup exhibit will be on view in the Hutchins Library foyer August 14 to December 14, 2020. The full museum exhibit in Washington, D.C. can be viewed online at https://museum.archives.gov/rightfully-hers.

Concerning the exhibit, curator Corinne Porter noted that: “Commemorating the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment provides an unparalleled opportunity to elevate the untold stories of women’s history.” “The exhibit at the National Archives and the Rightfully Hers popups are part of our nationwide initiative to share the story of the relentless struggle of diverse activists throughout U.S. history to secure voting rights for all American women.”

The National Archives is an independent federal agency that serves American democracy by safeguarding and preserving the records of our Government, so people can discover, use, and learn from this documentary heritage. The WSCC was formed by the U.S. Congress to coordinate the nationwide commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment, which was officially ratified and signed into the Constitution on August 26, 1920. The National Archives’ Rightfully Hers popup display is presented by the WSCC, Unilever, Pivotal Ventures, Carl M. Freeman Foundation in honor of Virginia Allen Freeman, AARP, Denise Gwyn Ferguson, and the National Archives Foundation.

May this temporary exhibit remind every Berean that voting is an important right and responsibility.

* * * * *

Exhibit can be viewed inside the library during library regular hours. Due to COVID-19 at this point in time, only those with campus card ID access can enter the building. The exhibit will be on view through December 14, 2020.

As students arrive on campus as well as faculty and employees who may have been working remotely and are now returning for fall, they will notice things are quite different than back in March before COVID-19 hit. This post is to provide an overview of library policies and expectations in light of the COVID-19 situation.

Access to the library

Hutchins Library is on Berea College ID card access only. Library is accessible during library operating hours, which are as follows for Fall 2020:

Sunday: 3pm to 10pm

Monday through Thursday: 9am to 10pm

Friday: 9am to 5pm

Saturday: CLOSED

Exceptions: Monday August 10 and Tuesday August 11: 9am to 5pm

Access is limited to the following:

• Enrolled Berea College students who are living in campus housing or Eco-village and Berea College students living in town and enrolled in non-distance learning classes.
• Faculty and Staff of Berea College.
• NO VISITORS ALLOWED in the library.
• If you fall within the above categories and your ID will not permit entrance, call public safety at 859-985-3333. We would appreciate if you please do not knock on our doors. Call Public Safety if you fall in the access categories and your ID does not allow you access.

Policies and required expectations inside the library

• Facial covering/masks must always be worn inside the library.
• Do not move the chairs nor the furniture. They have been placed to allow for proper social distancing.
• Only one person per table is allowed. The tables have blue tape on them to indicate placement of the chairs.
• No food or drink are allowed in the library, except for bottled water. You are welcome to bring in your own water bottle and use the water bottle filling stations in the library. Please note the regular water fountains are closed/sealed off.
  • Due to this, the vending area is closed and not available inside the library.
• The Third Floor of the library is closed for use. If you need to have books and materials from the third floor, please ask at the Circulation or Reference Desks, and a library staff member can pull materials for you to check out.
• Library study rooms are closed until further notice. No study room keys will be checked out.
• If you take a book or material from a shelf in the main floor or lower level, please do not reshelve it. Just leave it on one of the designated carts available next to the shelves. Any books touched/used need to be quarantine for 72 hours before they can return to the shelf. So use any materials you wish, just do not reshelve them.

Some additional notes to keep in mind

• Reference librarians are happy to help. They may be in their offices. You are welcome to drop by and get assistance. If we are in our office, we may have the door closed; in that case, we may have a note on our door to knock if we are here (some librarians may be working remotely). Please knock on the door, and please make sure you have your mask on before we open the door. Our offices are our refuge, so we will most likely not be wearing our mask inside our office. You knocking on our door can give us time to put our mask on before can assist you. Outside of our offices, we are required to wear our face masks as well.
• The Circulation and Reference Desks have plexiglass. Please do not go around the plexiglass. There is also a tape in the ground marking social distance for requests. We would appreciate you help us keep social distance as much as we can.
• For more information, you can check out Hutchins Library Library Guide on COVID-19 response. The guide reiterates the above as well as provides additional information. If you click on the Reference tab, you can get information on our virtual services that include online chat as well as virtual reference consultations.

This month's showcase is on a graphic novel titled I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly

"Barbara Thorson, a girl battling monsters both real and imagined, kicks butt, takes names, and faces her greatest fear in this bittersweet, coming-of-age story!"   -from the publisher

Check out the link to the catalog below if I Kill Giants is for you!

I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly

Call Number: 741.597 K297i 2010 (Graphic Novels -- Main Floor Circulation Area)

Barbara Thorson, a girl battling monsters both real and imagined, kicks butt, takes names, and faces her greatest fear in this bittersweet,coming-of-age story! 

 What is being a bystander? You are a bystander when you are watching a situation happening, and do not intervene. If you are a bystander, you can choose to become an active bystander to intervene into the situation.

Direct. Distract. Delegate.

Use humor, make sure everyone has a safe way to get home, check in via texts, facial check ins, establish cues between friends. Swoop in on the dance floor. Start singing happy birthday. If you don’t feel comfortable doing something yourself, get a bartender, a bouncer, someone else who will be in a position to intervene. Calling 9-1-1 is always an option when uncertain what to do.

It is not easy to step in, even if your heart says it is the right thing. Some bystanders might think: “I don’t know what to do or what to say,” “I don’t want to cause a scene,” “It’s not my business,” “I don’t want my friend to be mad at me,” “I’m sure someone else will step in.” It is fine to have these thoughts but realize your actions -or lack of actions- may have a big impact. Bystanders have the opportunity to prevent crimes like sexual assault from occurring.Being a positive, active bystander can change the outcomes of crimes. Stepping in on the dance floor to get in between your very drunk friend while some strange guy dances on her is being an active bystander. When you see a man leading a drunk woman out of the bar, and they did not come together, jump in-between them, or notify the bouncer or bartender. Being a positive, active bystander can help the world become a safer.

from:

Gaffke, Michaela. “Bystander Intervention Month.” Wellness, 27 Apr. 2018, blogs.winona.edu/wellness/bystander-intervention-month/.

The Crisis of Campus Sexual Violence Although awareness of campus sexual assault is at a historic high, institutional responses to incidents of sexual violence remain widely varied. In this volume, a diverse mix of expert contributors provide a critical, nuanced, and timely examination of some of the factors that inhibit effective prevention and response in higher education. Chapter authors take on one of the most troubling aspects of higher education today, bridging theory and practice to offer programmatic interventions and solutions to help institutions address their own competing interests and institutional culture to improve their practices and policies with regard to sexual violence. The Crisis of Campus Sexual Violence provides higher education scholars, administrators, and practitioners with a necessary and more holistic understanding of the challenges that colleges and universities face in implementing adequate and effective sexual assault prevention and response practices. 　 by Sara Carrigan Wooten (Editor); Roland W. Mitchell (Editor)

Call Number: 371.782 C932 2016

Publication Date: 2015-09-09

Although awareness of campus sexual assault is at a historic high, institutional responses to incidents of sexual violence remain widely varied. In this volume, a diverse mix of expert contributors provide a critical, nuanced, and timely examination of some of the factors that inhibit effective prevention and response in higher education. Chapter authors take on one of the most troubling aspects of higher education today, bridging theory and practice to offer programmatic interventions and solutions to help institutions address their own competing interests and institutional culture to improve their practices and policies with regard to sexual violence. The Crisis of Campus Sexual Violence provides higher education scholars, administrators, and practitioners with a necessary and more holistic understanding of the challenges that colleges and universities face in implementing adequate and effective sexual assault prevention and response practices. 　

The Violence and Addiction Equation The Violence and Addiction Equation is an empirically based book that bridges the relationship between violence and substance addiction with a focus on the overlap of issues. It is a groundbreaking collection of contributions by prominent clinicians in the field, and the timely chapter's include clinical commentary that identifies and elaborates on points of transfer from theory to clinical practice. by Christine Wekerle (Editor); Anne-Marie Wall (Editor)

Call Number: 362.829 V795 2002

Publication Date: 2002-02-01

The Violence and Addiction Equation is an empirically based book that bridges the relationship between violence and substance addiction with a focus on the overlap of issues. It is a groundbreaking collection of contributions by prominent clinicians in the field, and the timely chapter's include clinical commentary that identifies and elaborates on points of transfer from theory to clinical practice.

 

The Verbally Abusive Relationship In this fully expanded and updated third edition of the bestselling classic, you learn why verbal abuse is more widespread than ever, and how you can deal with it. You'll get more of the answers you need to recognize abuse when it happens, respond to abusers safely and appropriately, and most important, lead a happier, healthier life. In two all-new chapters, Evans reveals the Outside Stresses driving the rise in verbal abuse--and shows you how you can mitigate the devastating effects on your relationships. She also outlines the Levels of Abuse that characterize this kind of behavior--from subtle, insidious put-downs that can erode your self-esteem to full-out tantrums of name-calling, screaming, and threatening that can escalate into physical abuse. Drawing from hundreds of real situations suffered by real people just like you, Evans offers strategies, sample scripts, and action plans designed to help you deal with the abuse--and the abuser. This timely new edition of The Verbally Abusive Relationship, Expanded Third Edition puts you on the road to recognizing and responding to verbal abuse, one crucial step at a time! by Patricia Evans

Call Number: 153.6 E928v 1996

Publication Date: 2003-02-01

In this fully expanded and updated third edition of the bestselling classic, you learn why verbal abuse is more widespread than ever, and how you can deal with it. You'll get more of the answers you need to recognize abuse when it happens, respond to abusers safely and appropriately, and most important, lead a happier, healthier life. In two all-new chapters, Evans reveals the Outside Stresses driving the rise in verbal abuse--and shows you how you can mitigate the devastating effects on your relationships. She also outlines the Levels of Abuse that characterize this kind of behavior--from subtle, insidious put-downs that can erode your self-esteem to full-out tantrums of name-calling, screaming, and threatening that can escalate into physical abuse. Drawing from hundreds of real situations suffered by real people just like you, Evans offers strategies, sample scripts, and action plans designed to help you deal with the abuse--and the abuser. This timely new edition of The Verbally Abusive Relationship, Expanded Third Edition puts you on the road to recognizing and responding to verbal abuse, one crucial step at a time!

Dating Violence This landmark book brings together professionals, activists, researchers, and young people themselves to provide a comprehensive, cross-cultural view of dating violence. First-person accounts are followed by perspectives on the societal contexts and descriptions of successful programs that educate and assist teens. by Barrie Levy

Call Number: 362.8809 D234 1998

Publication Date: 1998-02-11

This landmark book brings together professionals, activists, researchers, and young people themselves to provide a comprehensive, cross-cultural view of dating violence. First-person accounts are followed by perspectives on the societal contexts and descriptions of successful programs that educate and assist teens.

Tennis is a racket sport that can be played individually against a single opponent (singles) or between two teams of two players each (doubles). Each player uses a tennis racket that is strung with cord to strike a hollow rubber ball covered with felt over or around a net and into the opponent's court. The object of the game is to maneuver the ball in such a way that the opponent is not able to play a valid return. The player who is unable to return the ball will not gain a point, while the opposite player will.

Description from:

“Tennis.” Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 14 June 2020, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tennis.

Available resources about Tennis:

Learn to Play Tennis at Home by De Witt Willis; William Talbert (Introduction by)

Call Number: 796.342 W734L

Publication Date: 1976-05-01

The author presents his system, Rhythmetonics, a method of learning and perfecting tennis techniques at home so that the movements will be fixed in one's memory before even approaching the court.

 

 

 

Power Tennis Training by Donald A. Chu

Call Number: 796.34 C752p

Publication Date: 1994-11-16

Donald Chu, training consultant to the United States Tennis Association and top tennis pros, defines power as speed applied to strength. In Power Tennis Training, he shows players at all levels how to put more power into their game. Power Tennis Training combines a variety of training methods specifically designed to increase tennis players' endurance, strengthen the muscles they use most often, and enhance their speed. These methods are integrated into 3 training blocks that each feature a mix of different workouts. Each block lasts 4 weeks, providing an easy-to-follow 3-month workout cycle that can be repeated again and again. Workouts in the first block focus on enhancing endurance and developing strength in the muscles, tendons, and ligaments.

 

The Inner Game of Tennis by W. Timothy Gallwey; Pete Carroll (Foreword by); Zach Kleinman (Preface by)

Call Number: 796.34 S764

Publication Date: 1997-05-27

Master your game from the inside out! With more than 800,000 copies sold since it was first published thirty years ago, this phenomenally successful guide has become a touchstone for hundreds of thousands of people. Not just for tennis players, or even just for athletes in general, this handbook works for anybody who wants to improve his or her performance in any activity, from playing music to getting ahead at work. W. Timothy Gallwey, a leading innovator in sports psychology, reveals how to: focus your mind to overcome nervousness, self-doubt, and distractions, find the state of "relaxed concentration" that allows you to play at your best,  build skills by smart practice, then put it all together in match play Whether you're a beginner or a pro, Gallwey's engaging voice, clear examples, and illuminating anecdotes will give you the tools you need to succeed.

 

Tennis by Joan D. Johnson; Paul Xanthos

Call Number: 796.342 J67t 1981

Publication Date: 1980-01-01

"Tennis "is the essential book for anyone looking to learn tennis or improve his or her game. Along with basic descriptions of skills and fundamentals, it includes updated information on equipment, tennis organizations, rule changes, and more. Joan D. Johnson is a professor emeritus at UCLA. Paul J. Xanthos is a professor emeritus at Los Angeles Pierce College. Ann Lebedeff is an associate professor at Pomona-Pitzer Colleges.