Hutchins Library News Blog

 Attend Of Possible Futures: Imagining How to Get There on

November 2nd, 2017, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

Visual artist and organizer Christa Donner, who teaches at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, discusses the relationship between her paintings of speculative societies and her advocacy for caregivers in the arts. Moving from science fiction to lived experiments and experiences, Donner stresses the importance of imagination and empathy in redefining the future. 

If you enjoyed her presentation today, check out her website online!

https://www.christadonner.com

A Map of Everything by Elizabeth Earley; Christa Donner (Illustrator)

Call Number: E123ma 2013

Anne's sister, a bright and lovely teenager, sustains a traumatic brain injury after a near-fatal car accident. As a result, Anne and her siblings and parents are thrown into a decades-long struggle for belonging, deliverance and redemption -- with surprising results. A Map of Everything intimately explores the fragile nature of family dynamics, revealing what is salvaged, what is lost, and what is gained after a tragedy hits home.

If you haven't had a chance to check out volume 5 of the Saint John's Bible, consider this your friendly reminder that you only have until the end of the month to stop by and visit it before it is replaced by volume 6.

We are almost there, guys! Let's celebrate the crawl to finals with November's DVD of the month, the fantastic 1950's musical, Annie Get Your Gun! 

"Betty Hutton (Annie Oakley) and Howard Keel (Frank Butler) star in this sharpshootin' funfest based on the 1,147-performance Broadway smash boasting Irving Berlin's beloved scaore, including Doin' What Comes Natur'lly, I Got the Sun in the Morning and the anthemic There's No Business like Show Business. As produced by Arthur Freed, directed by George Sidney and seen and heard in a new digital transfer from restored elements, this lavish spirited production showcases songs and performances with bull's-eye precision, earning an Oscar* for adaptation scoring. The story is a brawling boy-meets-girl-meets -buckshot rivalry. But love finally triumphs when Annie proves that, yes, you can get a man with a gun!" -DVD

Let's get singing! 

Photo from IMDB.

Check it out today:

Annie get your gun by directed by George Sidney

Call Number: DVD 791.437 A614 - DVD Collection

Publication Date: 1950

Attend Ballads Across Appalachia: Old School, New School on

October 27th, 2017, 8:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

In this concert, Appalachian musicians explore their connection to the Scottish, Irish, and English ballad tradition, which continues to live on in the mountains of Appalachia. Performers include such legendary musicians as Alice Gerrard, Billy Edd Wheeler, Chris Brashear, Doug Orr, and Elizabeth LaParelle. Co-sponsored with LJAC.

If you liked the performance today, check out these materials we have available on the display near the cafe!

Wayfaring strangers : the musical voyage from Scotland and Ulster to Appalachia

Call Number: CD 781.621 R598w 2014

 

 

 

 

Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard: Pioneering Women of Bluegrass

Call Number: CD-Music 781.642 D548p

 

 

 

More Laughter in Appalachia by Loyal Jones; Billy Edd Wheeler; Wendell E. Hall (Illustrator)

Call Number: 827 M836

The phenomenal success of Laughter in Appalachia, Loyal Jones and Billy Edd Wheeler's first collection of humor, says something about the importance of humor in our lives, and the talent Jones and Wheeler have in finding the best of it. More Laughter in Appalachia, their fourth collection of Southern mountain humor, may well be their funniest and most comprehensive collection to date. Packed with humorous jokes, anecdotes, poems, riddles, and songs, not to mention a nineteenth-century ....

Attend How the End of White Christian America is Reshaping our Politics, Culture, and Churches on

October 26th, 2017, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

Dr. Jones, the founding CEO of the Public Religious Research Institute (PRRI) and a leading commentator on religion and politics, will discuss his new book, The End of White Christian America, which highlights the major demographic and cultural shifts that are transforming American public life. Drawing on decades of public opinion and demographic research, Jones argues that the response to this new reality--that America is not longer a majority white Christian nation--is the primary force reshaping our politics, culture, and churches today. Ross Lecture. 

If you enjoyed his presentation, check out his books that are available for check out on the display near the cafe!

The End of White Christian America by Robert P. Jones

Call Number: 200.973 J788e 2016

Publication Date: 2016

New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice Robert P. Jones, CEO of the Public Religion Research Institute, spells out the profound political and cultural consequences of a new reality—that America is no longer a majority white Christian nation. "Quite possibly the most illuminating text for this election year" (The New York Times Book Review). For most of our nation's history, White Christian America (WCA) set the tone for our national policy and shaped American ideals. But especially since the 1990s, WCA has steadily lost influence, following declines within both its mainline and evangelical branches. Today, America is no longer demographically or culturally a majority white, Christian nation. Drawing on more than four decades of polling data, The End of White Christian America explains and analyzes the waning vitality of WCA. 

Progressive and Religious by Robert P. Jones

Call Number: 201.709 J788p 2008 c. 2

Progressive & Religious tells the dynamic stories of Jewish, Christian, Muslim, and Buddhist leaders who are building on traditional connections between religion and social justice and working on a spectrum of issues including health care, immigration, civil rights, poverty, and the environment. The narrative includes insights from more than 80 in-depth interviews with religious and political leaders.

Attend Adult Stem Cells and Biomimetic Scaffolds for Skeletal Tissue Engineering and Regeneration:

Repair, Renovate, and Re-create on

October 19th, 2017, 3:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

Using adult stem cells, 3D printing and nanomaterial technologies, Dr. Tuan, '72, internationally renowned biomedical scientist, Distinguished Professor and Director of the Center for Cellular and Molecular Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh, will share his research in regenerative biomedicine and musculoskeletal tissue engineering, utilizing stem cells, 3D printing, and tissue-on-a-chip technologies. Berea College Science Lecture.

If you were intrigued by his presentation, check out his books that we have available for check out, on display near the cafe!

Developmental Biology Protocols by Rocky S. Tuan; Cecilia W. Lo

Call Number: 571.8 D489 2000 v. 3

 

 

 

 

 

Developmental Biology Protocols by Rocky S. Tuan

Call Number: 571.8 D489 2000 v. 1

Developmental biology is one of the most exciting and fast-growing fields - day. In part, this is so because the subject matter deals with the innately fascinating biological events--changes in form, structure, and function of the organism. The other reason for much of the excitement in developmental biology is that the field has truly become the unifying melting pot of biology, and provides a framework that integrates anatomy, physiology, genetics, biochemistry, and cellular and molecular biology, as well as evolutionary biology. 
 

Developmental Biology Protocols by Rocky S. Tuan

Call Number: 571.8 D489 2000 v. 2

Developmental biology is one of the most exciting and fast-growing fields today. In part, this is so because the subject matter deals with the innately fascinating biological events--changes in form, structure, and function of the org- ism. The other reason for much of the excitement in developmental biology is that the field has truly become the unifying melting pot of biology, and provides a framework that integrates anatomy, physiology, genetics, biochemistry, and cellular and mole- lar biology, as well as evolutionary biology. 
 

Recombinant Gene Expression Protocols by Rocky S. Tuan

Call Number: 572.877 R311 1997 v. 62

The current explosive progress in molecular biological research can be definitively traced to the development of molecular cloning technology.

Attend The Voices of Panola County, Mississippi on

October 12th, 2017, 8:00pm

Phelps-Stokes Auditorium

The Como Mamas are three Gospel singers from Mississippi who have been singing together in church since they were children. Ester Mae Smith and sisters Angela Taylor and Della Daniels believe wholeheartedly that the songs they perform have the power to help and inspire people in their everyday lives. Stephenson Memorial Concert. 

If you enjoyed their performance, check out their cds available for check out, on display near the cafe!

Get An Understanding by Como Mamas

Call Number: CD 782.525 C735g (Main Floor)

This month's showcase is a Manga by the name of Library Wars by Kiiro Yumi. 

"In the near future, the federal government creates a committee to rid society of books it deems unsuitable. The libraries vow to protect their collections, and with the help of local governments, form a military group to defend themselves---the Library Forces! Iku Kasahara has dreamed of joining the Library Defense Force ever since one of its soldiers stepped in to protect her favorite book from being confiscated in a bookstore when she was younger. But now that she’s finally a recruit, she’s finding her dream job to be a bit of a nightmare. Especially since her hard-hearted drill instructor seems to have it out for her!" -from the publisher

Check it out!

Library Wars: Love & War, Vol. 1 by Kiiro Yumi (Illustrator); Hiro Arikawa (Based on a work by)

Call Number: 741.595 Y952L - Graphic Novels (Main Floor Circulation Area)

Publication Date: 2010-06-01

 

Happy October everyone! Celebrate this spooky month with Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler's original cast of, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street. Follow along in this spooky tale of murder, blood, and evil laughter! 

Just a few tracks include: 

"The Ballad of Sweeney Todd"

"Johanna" 

"Poor Thing" 

"Pretty Women" 

and "A Little Priest!" 

If you are ready for a tale of fright and pure evil, then check out this month's CD, Sweeney Todd. 

Photo by Amazon.com.

Sweeney Todd by Sondheim, Stephen

Call Number: CD-Music 782.14 S698s Disc 1-2

October's reference book of the month is Philip Mattar's Encyclopedia of Modern Middle East and North Africa. The following description is from amazon.com:

With nearly 600 new entries and 1,000 updates, the second edition of this authoritative resource reflects the far-reaching changes the Middle East has undergone in recent years, making the work more relevant and more necessary than ever before. The set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government. With 3,000 nonpartisan articles written by specialists in anthropology, history, political science, religion and social sciences, this four-volume set is an indispensable tool.

Recommended for history majors.

Interesting fact:  The book starts with a map highlighting which specific countries are included when looking at the Middle East and North Africa.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa

Call Number: 956.003 E563 2004

Publication Date: 2004

Updating the 1996 edition in light of many new developments (e.g., the failed Israeli-Palestinian negotiations in 2000, September 11th, and the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan), this new edition presents some 3,000 entries covering topics in fields such as politics, history, economics, religion, sociol

This month's display is dedicated to raising awareness and preventing bullying across the nation:

National Bullying Prevention Month is a nationwide campaign founded in 2006 by PACER's National Bullying Prevention Center. The campaign is held during the month of October and unites communities around the world to educate and raise awareness of bullying prevention. This campaign has grown from an initial week-long event to a worldwide effort with thousands of individuals participating in multiple activities throughout October.

Check out some materials related to the topic:

Down Sand Mountain by Steve Watkins

Call Number: W3356do 2008

Publication Date: 2008

In a tale full of humor and poignancy, a sheltered twelve-year-old boy comes of age in a small Florida mining town amid the changing mores of the 1960s. It's 1966 and Dewey Turner is determined to start the school year right. No more being the brunt of every joke. No more "Deweyitis." But after he stains his face with shoe polish trying to mimic the popular Shoeshine Boy at the minstrel show, he begins seventh grade on an even lower rung, earning the nickname Sambo and being barred from the "whites only" bathroom. The only person willing to talk to him, besides his older brother, Wayne, is fellow outsider Darla Turkel, who wears her hair like Shirley Temple and sings and dances like her, too. Through their friendship, Dewey gains awareness of issues bigger than himself and bigger than his small town of Sand Mountain: issues like race and segregation, the reality of the Vietnam War, abuse, sexuality, and even death and grieving. 

 

Bullying Prevention by Pamela Orpinas; Arthur M. Horne

Call Number: 371.58 O749b 2006

Publication Date: 2005

This text brings years of experience in research and applied behavioral sciences to show how educators, school psychologists, counselors, and other professionals can address the problem of bullying and aggression in schools. It provides definitions, statistics, and theories that helps identify and characterize bullying.

 

Charlie's Story by Maeve Friel

Call Number: F9104c

Publication Date: 1997-09-01

Abandoned by her mother at Victoria Station in London when she is only four, Charlotte "Charlie" Collins is sent to live with her father in Dublin. Now fourteen, Charlie struggles to come to terms with the reasons for her mother's desertion, her father's silence, and the cruelty of her classmates. When haunting memories and the threat of violence push Charlie to the brink of despair, a strange new friend helps her find the strength and courage to face her tormentors and free herself from her inner demons. In this compelling story of desperation and hope, of betrayal and second chances, Maeve Friel depicts a tough young heroine who will command your admiration and respect. Intense, disturbing, and deeply moving, Maeve Friel's book is a harrowing account of one girl's struggle to overcome her fears and turn her life around.

 

Breaking the Culture of Bullying and Disrespect Grades K-8 by Marie-Nathalie Beaudoin; Maureen Taylor

Call Number: 371.58 B373b 2004

Publication Date: 2004

Chosen by the National Bullying Prevention Campaign for inclusion in their Bullying Prevention Resources Kit, this book provides a comprehensive approach to a vast array of behavior-related problems.

 

 

The No Asshole Rule by Robert I. Sutton

Call Number: 650.13 S967n 2007

Publication Date: 2007

The No Asshole Rule is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today and Business Week bestseller. It won a Quill Award for the top business book of 2007, and was recently chosen as one of audible.com's top picks as well.

 

 

 

The Bully Society by Jessie Klein

Call Number: 302.343 K643b 2012

Publication Date: 2012

Choice's Outstanding Academic Title list for 2013 In today's schools, kids bullying kids is not an occasional occurrence but rather an everyday reality where children learn early that being sensitive, respectful, and kind earns them no respect. Jessie Klein makes the provocative argument that the rise of school shootings across America, and childhood aggression more broadly, are the consequences of a society that actually promotes aggressive and competitive behavior. The Bully Society is a call to reclaim America's schools from the vicious cycle of aggression that threatens our children and our society at large. Heartbreaking interviews illuminate how both boys and girls obtain status by acting "masculine"--displaying aggression at one another's expense as both students and adults police one another to uphold gender stereotypes. Klein shows that the aggressive ritual of gender policing in American culture creates emotional damage that perpetuates violence through revenge, and that this cycle is the main cause of not only the many school shootings that have shocked America, but also related problems in schools, manifesting in high rates of suicide, depression, anxiety, eating disorders, self-cutting, truancy, and substance abuse.

 

Marty Matters by Jessica Hayworth

Call Number: H4276mmat 2010

Publication Date: 2010

What if you were tired of moving from town to town because ofyour father? What if you hated your mother because she would do nothing about it? What if you had no friends and you were constantly harassed by a bully? How would you survive another move with all its new challenges? Find out how one middle school boy deals with these challenges in Marty Matters. When Marty moves to a new town, he turns his anger from his mother and father to the school bully. Marty finds it difficult to make friends because he is. After several weeks of what seems like torture in his new school, Marty makes a new friend. His friend, however, is not of the human kind. Boots is a dog that becomes Marty's friend and makes his life tolerable, until Boots' life is placed in jeopardy because of his own actions. Marty must make a decision as to how Boots' future will play out. Will Marty be able to make the difficult decision? What will happen to them both? Find the answers to these questions and more when you read Marty Matters.

 

Hatred in the Hallways by Michael Bochenek; A. Widney Brown; Human Rights Watch Staff (Contribution by)

Call Number: 371.7809 H364 Copy 2 - Circulating

Publication Date: 2001

This publication discusses documented attacks on the human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender youth who have been subjected to abuse by their peers, and in some cases by their teachers and school administrators. To date, these violations are compounded by the lack of legislation to protect these students from discrimination and violence. Youth (n=140) around the world ages 12 through 21 were interviewed for this report. In addition, 130 youth service providers, teachers, counselors, and parents were surveyed. Throughout the process, evidence of substantial failure of schools and government to protect the rights of these students was apparent, and personal stories are included to document these failures. Following recommendations for state, local, and federal government policies, the student's school experience is presented. The book then discusses coping with harassment and violence, and presents consequences students may experience such as depression, alcohol and drug use, and risky sexual behavior. It reviews the role of teachers, counselors, and administrators in counseling students and stresses the need for effective counselor training.