National Poetry Month
by Amanda Peach on 2016-04-12T16:43:52-04:00 | 0 Comments
We are celebrating the 20th anniversary of National Poetry Month at Hutchins Library with a display of poetry books and an interactive magnetic poetry display.
Stop by the back of the Reference Department to view poetry created by your peers and to create some of your own.
Need some poetry recommendations? Consider these titles:
The New Oxford Book of War Poetry by
There can be no area of human experience that has generated a wider range of powerful feelings than war. Jon Stallworthy's classic and celebrated anthology spans centuries of human experience of war, from Homer's Iliad, through the First and Second World Wars, the Vietnam War, and the wars fought since.
Southern Appalachian Poetry by
The mountain South thrives on centuries-old traditions, a fact well known to readers of Appalachian literature, which is among the richest and most evocative of any region in the country. This anthology collects 225 poems by 37 poets of Southern Appalachia, from James Still and Louise McNeill to Robert Morgan, Fred Chappell and Charles Wright. Embracing the region's strong narrative tradition, dialect and syntax, the collection also includes poems that redefine the terms of isolation, as technological change and heightened tourism bring the old and new ways into greater tension. Autobiographical essays introduce each poet and his or her work.
Bicycles by
ISBN: 0061726451
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
Sometimes controversial, sometimes ethereal, but always beautiful, her poems move readers of all hues and generations. With Bicycles, she's collected poems that serve as a companion to her 1997 Love Poems. An instant classic, that book—romantic, bold, and erotic—expressed notions of love in ways that were delightfully unexpected. In the years that followed, Giovanni experienced losses both public and private. A mother's passing, a sister's, too. A massacre on the campus at which she teaches. And just when it seemed life was spinning out of control, Giovanni rediscovered love—what she calls the antidote. Here romantic love—and all its manifestations, the physical touch, the emotional pull, the hungry heart—is distilled as never before by one of our most talented poets.
Black Box by
A powerful new collection from Frank X Walker, winner of the 2005 Lannan Literary Fellowship for Poetry. Featuring 68 poems on family, place, identity, and social justice, Black Box continues the brilliant autobiographical journey of Affrilachia, the author's groundbreaking first volume of poems. "The work of Frank X Walker is an eclectic, powerful mixture of liberating style, profound insight, and unwavering organic connection to the intellectual, political, and cultural struggles of a people. He stands in the tradition of DuBois, McKay, Robeson and Hughes." -- Ricky L. Jones, Black Haze."The spirit of a child runs through the poetry of Frank X Walker's latest collection, 'Black Box'. A young, rural black boy recalls his parents, grandparents and ancestors who originally settled the land, built the rock walls and dug in the coal mines. close-to-the-bone poetry . a poet for all generations." -- Mary Popham, Louisville Courier-Journal
The Poems of Emily Dickinson by
Emily Dickinson lived and died without fame: she saw only a few poems published. Her legacy was later rescued from her desk drawer - an astonishing body of work revealing her acute, sensitive nature reaching out boldly from self-referral to a wider, imagined world.
Howl by
First published in 1956, Allen Ginsberg's Howl is a prophetic masterpiece—an epic raging against dehumanizing society that overcame censorship trials and obscenity charges to become one of the most widely read poems of the century. This annotated version of Ginsberg's classic is the poet's own re-creation of the revolutionary work's composition process—as well as a treasure trove of anecdotes, an intimate look at the poet's writing techniques, and a veritable social history of the 1950s.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
Holidays and Observances: Appreciate a Dragon Day
Hispanic Outreach Project Dia de los Muertos Display at Hutchins Library 2024
Some resources for Invisible Disabilities Week: October 20-26, 2024
Library Services: Research consults
Some reading for National Hispanic Heritage Month 2024
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Subjects
African & African American Studies
African American Music
African Americans
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Appalachian Region
Appalachian Studies
Art & Art History
Arts & Crafts
Asian Studies
Authors / Literature
Awards, Honors, & Recognition
bell hooks
Berea College
Berea College Student Music Performances
Berea Sound Archives
Biographies
Biology
Business Administration
Campus Christian Center
Center for Excellence in Learning through Service (CELTS)
Chemistry
Child & Family Studies
Civil Rights / Race Relations
Dance
Economics
Education / Schools
Education Studies
Educational Technology
English
Environmental Issues
Faculty & Staff
Film Production & Studies
Folklore / Folktales / Storytelling
Foodways / Cookbooks
Forestry
General Studies: GSTR310
Graphic Novels
Health and Human Performance
History
Hutchins Library
Labor Program
Latinx Studies
Librarianship
Mathematics
Music
Music - Appalachian Region
Nursing
Office of the Academic Vice President
Oral Histories and Interviews
Organizations - Local / Regional
Peace & Social Justice Studies
Philosophy
Photograph Collections
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health / Health Care
Religion
Religious Expression
Social Life and Customs
Sociology
Special Collections & Archives
Spotlight on...
Sustainability & Environmental Studies
Technology & Applied Design
Technology in Education
Theatre
Wellness
Women's & Gender Studies
Zines
Return to Blog
0 Comments.