“Every Time You Speak the Truth, You’re Making Justice in the World”: Why Poetry Matters.
by Unknown User on 2016-04-04T16:06:55-04:00 | 0 CommentsGEORGE ELLA LYON
April 7, 2016, 3:00PM
Phelp Stokes
Berea College Convocation
Co-sponsored with LJAC
Check out Some of George Ella Lyon's material here at Hutchins Library!
Catalpa by
Call Number: 821 L991c - Special Collections and Circulating - 3rd floor
ISBN: 0963654527
Mama Is a Miner by
Call Number: L991m Special Collections - Mountain and Children's Picture Books (1st Floor)
ISBN: 0531068536
Author and artist researched this book together in a coal mine in Harlan County, Kentucky. Like Mamma, they rode the mantrip and hiked to the working face, climbing through windows from passage to passage and experiencing the loss of light. Full-color paintings.
A Kentucky Christmas by
Call Number: 820.803 K37 Circulating - 3rd floor and Special Collections - Mountain
ISBN: 0813122791
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
"Table of Contents A celebration of holiday poetry, fiction, essays, recipes, and songs by more than sixty of the Bluegrass state's finest writers. Gathered here are writings from some of the legendary voices of Kentucky -- and the nation -- as well as original Christmas stories and poetry from some of the state's emerging talents. Among the contributors to this handsome collection are Kentucky's visionaries, storytellers, historians, singers, cooks, children's authors, and poets, including all five Kentucky Poet Laureates. A delight for anyone interested in Kentucky literature, history, or traditions, A Kentucky Christmas promises to be a wonderful holiday gift, a treasured family keepsake, and a necessary addition for libraries and for personal collections.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
Hispanic Outreach Project Dia de los Muertos Display at Hutchins Library 2024
Some resources for Invisible Disabilities Week: October 20-26, 2024
Library Services: Research consults
Some reading for National Hispanic Heritage Month 2024
Upcoming Events in September and October 2024 at Hutchins Library
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Subjects
African & African American Studies
African American Music
African Americans
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Appalachian Region
Appalachian Studies
Art & Art History
Arts & Crafts
Asian Studies
Authors / Literature
Awards, Honors, & Recognition
bell hooks
Berea College
Berea College Student Music Performances
Berea Sound Archives
Biographies
Biology
Business Administration
Campus Christian Center
Center for Excellence in Learning through Service (CELTS)
Chemistry
Child & Family Studies
Civil Rights / Race Relations
Dance
Economics
Education / Schools
Education Studies
Educational Technology
English
Environmental Issues
Faculty & Staff
Film Production & Studies
Folklore / Folktales / Storytelling
Foodways / Cookbooks
Forestry
General Studies: GSTR310
Graphic Novels
Health and Human Performance
History
Hutchins Library
Labor Program
Latinx Studies
Librarianship
Mathematics
Music
Music - Appalachian Region
Nursing
Office of the Academic Vice President
Oral Histories and Interviews
Organizations - Local / Regional
Peace & Social Justice Studies
Philosophy
Photograph Collections
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health / Health Care
Religion
Religious Expression
Social Life and Customs
Sociology
Special Collections & Archives
Spotlight on...
Sustainability & Environmental Studies
Technology & Applied Design
Technology in Education
Theatre
Wellness
Women's & Gender Studies
Zines
Return to Blog
0 Comments.