June 2024: LGBT Pride Month
by Angel Rivera on 2024-06-05T13:47:46-04:00 in Women's & Gender Studies | 0 CommentsPride Month is typically observed during the month of June. The idea came to life after the Stonewall Riots in New York City (link to Library of Congress). On June 28, 1969, police raided the bar Stonewall Inn. Activists resisted and rioted against the police. A year later, the first Pride Marches started in various U.S. cities. Recognition of the monthly celebration in the United States has been somewhat inconsistent over time. President Clinton first recognized it as Gay and Lesbian Month in 1999. President Obama expanded it beyond that to include the LGBT community, President Trump refused to acknowledge it. President Biden has observed it, including in his 2024 Presidential Proclamation for Pride Month (link to the White House briefing room).
Hutchins Library joins in celebrating, and we encourage our community to come check out resources available for our campus community.
To start, here are 10 books you may want to check out and read. This is a small selection that includes fiction and nonfiction. Books are not listed in any particular order. To find additional books on LGBTQIA topics or any other topic you can use the library catalog. You can also visit our Pride Books Display, which is located on the main floor next to the New Books Display across from the Circulation Desk. The Pride Display is curated by our library student workers.
All Boys Aren't Blue by
Call Number: Stacks 306.766 J671a 2020
ISBN: 9780374312718
Publication Date: 2020-04-28
In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson's All Boys Aren't Blue explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia. From the memories of getting his teeth kicked out by bullies at age five, to flea marketing with his loving grandmother, to his first sexual relationships, this young-adult memoir weaves together the trials and triumphs faced by Black queer boys. Both a primer for teens eager to be allies as well as a reassuring testimony for young queer men of color, All Boys Aren't Blue covers topics such as gender identity, toxic masculinity, brotherhood, family, structural marginalization, consent, and Black joy. Johnson's emotionally frank style of writing will appeal directly to young adults.
And Tango Makes Three by
Call Number: Hutchins Library Exhibit/Display - Print R5235an 2005
ISBN: 9780689878459
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
And Tango Makes Three is the bestselling, heartwarming true story of two penguins who create a nontraditional family. At the penguin house at the Central Park Zoo, two penguins named Roy and Silo were a little bit different from the others. But their desire for a family was the same. And with the help of a kindly zookeeper, Roy and Silo get the chance to welcome a baby penguin of their very own. Selected as an ALA Notable Children's Book Nominee and a Lambda Literary Award Finalist, "this joyful story about the meaning of family is a must for any library" (School Library Journal, starred review).
Cinderella Is Dead by
Call Number: Young Adult B3615ci 2021
ISBN: 9781547606641
Publication Date: 2021-06-29
It's 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now required to appear at the Annual Ball, where the men of the kingdom select wives based on a girl's display of finery. If a suitable match is not found, the girls not chosen are never heard from again. Sixteen-year-old Sophia would much rather marry Erin, her childhood best friend, than parade in front of suitors. At the ball, Sophia makes the desperate decision to flee, and finds herself hiding in Cinderella's mausoleum. There, she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella and her step sisters. Together they vow to bring down the king once and for all--and in the process, they learn that there's more to Cinderella's story than they ever knew . . . This fresh take on a classic story will make readers question the tales they've been told, and root for girls to break down the constructs of the world around them.
Flamer by
Call Number: Graphic Novels 741.597 C975f
ISBN: 9781627796415
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
I know I'm not gay. Gay boys like other boys. I hate boys. They're mean, and scary, and they're always destroying something or saying something dumb or both.I hate that word. Gay. It makes me feel . . . unsafe. It's the summer between middle school and high school, and Aiden Navarro is away at camp. Everyone's going through changes--but for Aiden, the stakes feel higher. As he navigates friendships, deals with bullies, and spends time with Elias (a boy he can't stop thinking about), he finds himself on a path of self-discovery and acceptance. Award-winning author and artist Mike Curato draws on his own experiences in this debut graphic novel, telling a difficult story with humor, compassion, and love.
Gender Queer: a Memoir by
Call Number: Graphic Novels 306.7608 K754g
ISBN: 9781549304002
Publication Date: 2019-05-28
In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns,thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here. Maia's intensely cathartic autobiography charts eir journey of self-identity, which includes the mortification and confusion of adolescent crushes, grappling with how to come out to family and society, bonding with friends over erotic gay fan fiction, and facing the trauma and fundamental violation of pap smears. Started as a way to explain to eir family what it means to be nonbinary and asexual, Gender Queer is more than a personal story: it is a useful and touching guide on gender identity--what it means and how to think about it--for advocates,friends, and humans everywhere.
This Book Is Gay by
Call Number: Exhibit/Display - Print 306.76 D272b 2021
ISBN: 9781728254326
Publication Date: 2021-09-07
The bestselling young adult non-fiction book on sexuality and gender! Lesbian. Gay. Bisexual. Transgender. Queer. Intersex. Straight. Curious. This book is for everyone, regardless of gender or sexual preference. This book is for anyone who's ever dared to wonder. This book is for YOU. This candid, funny, and uncensored exploration of sexuality and what it's like to grow up LGBTQ also includes real stories from people across the gender and sexual spectrums, not to mention hilarious illustrations. Inside this revised and updated edition, you'll find the answers to all the questions you ever wanted to ask, with topics like: Stereotypes--the facts and fiction. Coming out as LGBT. Where to meet people like you. The ins and outs of gay sex. How to flirt. And so much more! You will be entertained. You will be informed. But most importantly, you will know that however you identify (or don't) and whomever you love, you are exceptional. You matter. And so does this book. This book is for: LGBTQIA+ teens, tweens, and adults. Readers looking to learn more about the LGBTQIA+ community. Parents of gay kids and other LGBT youth. Educators looking for advice about the LGBTQIA+ community.
Uncomfortable Labels by
Call Number: Stacks 306.768 D139u 2019
ISBN: 9781785925870
Publication Date: 2019-07-18
"So while the assumption when I was born was that I was or would grow up to be a neurotypical heterosexual boy, that whole idea didn't really pan out long term." In this candid, first-of-its-kind memoir, Laura Kate Dale recounts what life is like growing up as a gay trans woman on the autism spectrum. From struggling with sensory processing, managing socially demanding situations and learning social cues and feminine presentation, through to coming out as trans during an autistic meltdown, Laura draws on her personal experiences from life prior to transition and diagnosis, and moving on to the years of self-discovery, to give a unique insight into the nuances of sexuality, gender and autism, and how they intersect. Charting the ups and downs of being autistic and on the LGBT spectrum with searing honesty and humour, this is an empowering, life-affirming read for anyone who's felt they don't fit in.
Vice Patrol by
Call Number: Stacks 306.766 L979v 2021
ISBN: 9780226769646
Publication Date: 2021-05-24
In the mid-twentieth century, gay life flourished in American cities even as the state repression of queer communities reached its peak. Liquor investigators infiltrated and shut down gay-friendly bars. Plainclothes decoys enticed men in parks and clubs. Vice officers surveilled public bathrooms through peepholes and two-way mirrors. In Vice Patrol, Anna Lvovsky chronicles this painful story, tracing the tactics used to criminalize, profile, and suppress gay life from the 1930s through the 1960s, and the surprising controversies those tactics often inspired in court. Lvovsky shows that the vice squads' campaigns stood at the center of live debates about not only the law's treatment of queer people, but also the limits of ethical policing, the authority of experts, and the nature of sexual difference itself--debates that had often unexpected effects on the gay community's rights and freedoms. Examining those battles, Vice Patrol enriches understandings of the regulation of queer life in the twentieth century and disputes about police power that continue today.
The Gay Revolution by
Call Number: Exhibit/Display - Print 306.766 F144g 2015
ISBN: 9781451694116
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
The fight for gay, lesbian and trans civil rights is the most important civil rights issue of the present day. Based on rigorous research and more than 150 interviews, The Gay Revolution tells this unfinished story not through dry facts but through dramatic accounts of passionate struggles, with all the sweep, depth and intricacies only an award-winning activist, scholar and novelist like Lillian Faderman can evoke. A defining account, this is the most complete and authoritative book of its kind.
The Savvy Ally by
Call Number: Exhibit/Display - Print 306.76 G143s 2023
ISBN: 9781538169230
Publication Date: 2023-03-31
Bursting with passion and humor, The Savvy Ally: A Guide for Becoming a Skilled LGBTQ+ Advocate is a treasure trove for allies to the LGBTQ+ communities. This fully revised second edition includes: The most current information on identities and LGBTQ+ language. Tips for respectfully sharing, gathering, and using pronouns. LGBTQ+ etiquette, including common language bloopers to avoid. Tools for navigating difficult conversations. Best practices for creating LGBTQ+ inclusive spaces. Appropriate actions to take after messing up. Techniques for self-care and sustainable allyship. The Savvy Ally is a vital resource for teachers, mental health professionals, healthcare providers, college professors, faith leaders, family members, and friends who want to support and advocate for the LGBTQ+ people in their lives and help make the world a safer, more inclusive place. This informative, encouraging, and easy-to-understand guidebook will jump-start even the most tentative ally.
If you would like to find articles and other research on LGBTQIA topics, you could try the following periodical databases. To find these and other databases, you can visit our library website and click on "Electronic Resources" to get our full list of available databases and online resources.
- Academic Search Complete
- Alt Press Watch
- America: History and Life
- J-Stor
- LGBTQ Magazine Archive
Want to learn even more? Here are some free online resources from the web:
- "Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Pride Month" from the Library of Congress.
- "LGBTQI+ Pride Month" from the National Archives and Records Administration.
- "LGBTQIA+ Pride Month: June 2024" from the U.S. Census Bureau for various statistics.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
June 2024: LGBT Pride Month
From Our Shelves: Every Book Its Reader
Learn more about Malcolm X on Malcolm X Day at the library
May is Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Heritage Month: Some Resources at Hutchins Library
Earth Day 2024: Some Resources at Hutchins Library
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Subjects
African & African American Studies
African American Music
African Americans
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Appalachian Region
Appalachian Studies
Art & Art History
Arts & Crafts
Asian Studies
Authors / Literature
Awards, Honors, & Recognition
bell hooks
Berea College
Berea College Student Music Performances
Berea Sound Archives
Biographies
Biology
Business Administration
Campus Christian Center
Center for Excellence in Learning through Service (CELTS)
Chemistry
Child & Family Studies
Civil Rights / Race Relations
Dance
Economics
Education / Schools
Education Studies
Educational Technology
English
Environmental Issues
Faculty & Staff
Film Production & Studies
Folklore / Folktales / Storytelling
Foodways / Cookbooks
Forestry
General Studies: GSTR310
Graphic Novels
Health and Human Performance
History
Hutchins Library
Labor Program
Latinx Studies
Librarianship
Mathematics
Music
Music - Appalachian Region
Nursing
Office of the Academic Vice President
Oral Histories and Interviews
Organizations - Local / Regional
Peace & Social Justice Studies
Philosophy
Photograph Collections
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health / Health Care
Religion
Religious Expression
Social Life and Customs
Sociology
Special Collections & Archives
Spotlight on...
Sustainability & Environmental Studies
Technology & Applied Design
Technology in Education
Theatre
Wellness
Women's & Gender Studies
Zines
Return to Blog
0 Comments.