Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Homepage Blog

Hutchins Library Celebrates National Library Week 2022

by Angel Rivera on 2022-03-30T10:05:49-04:00 in Hutchins Library | Comments

National Library Week (Monday 4/4 - Friday 4/8) Events:
 

Monday, 4/4: Snacks and Stacks - drop by the Hutchins Library lobby for coffee, cocoa, tea, and sweet treats from 8:30 am - 10:30 am
 

Tuesday, 4/5: Hutchins is closed until 5 pm in recognition of Labor Day. Try to win our basket at the Labor Day event!

When we reopen at 5 pm, stop by the library lobby to check out our newest exhibit [UN]Boxing Archives, featuring the art of Artist Archivist Peter Morphew and Tristan Rogers.

The exhibit runs through the month of April.
 

Wednesday, 4/6: Blackout Poetry Event - By completely blacking out text on a page with a permanent marker, except for a select few words, a brand new story is created from the existing text.

In the Flex Space from 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
 

Thursday, 4/7: Silent Reading Party - bring a book and enjoy a cup of tea, cocoa, or coffee.

In the Hutchins lobby from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
 

Friday, 4/8: Book jacket Buttons - Come choose a button for your book bag crafted from one of our recycled book jackets. In the Hutchins Lobby from noon until 3 pm (or supplies run out)
 

The UNBoxing exhibit in further detail:

Special Collections and Archives presents [UN] Boxing Archives

The Berea College Special Collections and Archive are a body of materials preserving the institutional & cultural history of not only the college, but the Southern Appalachian region. From music, folk tales, financial ledgers, this vast archive preserves our collective memories of history. Yet it is the archivist through a practice of weeding, describing, connecting stakeholders to informational values that shape our remembrance of tomorrow’s history.

This is the first installment of a series of planned workshops and exhibitions by our Artist Archivist Peter Morphew. Since arriving Summer 2021 as the College’s Processing Archivist, Peter has started a body of work exploring the archive environment & our holdings. Through collage, drawings, and paintings, Peter has documented his encounters with retained heritage knowledge. Peter is joined in this exhibit by Tristan Rogers, an artist who has created content based upon the archive holdings accessible via our online catalogues.

 

 

A series of drawings is available to view on the Hutchins Library main floor, and the exhibition continues downstairs on the first floor within the Special Collections & Archive department. You can arrange an artist talk or indeed the artist Peter Morphew via appointment [email: morphewp@berea.edu].

The exhibit opens Tuesday April 5th and runs until the end of the month.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...