Bible Dictionaries
Bible Dictionaries
A Bible dictionary lists biblical terms and topics in alphabetical order, and provides articles that give details about those terms and topics. For example, you may learn that Christ is the Greek term for Messiah, and learn the origin, development, and use of the term in their historical, cultural, and theological contexts.
R 220.3 A539 Anchor Bible Dictionary, 6 volumes
R 220.3 N532 2007 New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible 5 volumes
R 220.3 Z875 2009 Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 volumes
Commentaries
Commentaries
A commentary analyzes and expounds on one or more books of the bible, and offers systematic explanations and interpretations of scripture. This resource not only comments specifically on your particular passage, but also provides introductory material and comment on the entire gospel from which your passage comes. Some of the concerns commentaries address may include:
• Authorship and date of composition
• Audience and circumstances
• Sources the writer may have used
• Textual variants
• Historical and social context
• Literary genre and structure
• Comprehensive word study
Commentaries - Multivolume
These commentaries examine biblical books on the verse or even the individual word level.
R 220.7 I61 1994 New Interpreter’s Bible Circulating copies located on 3rd floor
R 220.72 A188 Interpretation Addition copies located on 3rd floor
220.6 A539 Anchor Bible (1965- ) Located on the third floor, this set provides more detailed analysis.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online Commentaries
This resource is available to the Berea College community only.
Academic Journal Articles
Academic Journal Articles
These articles are scholarly writings that are peer-reviewed and are typically marked by the presence of an abstract and a long list of references at the end. Like commentaries, journal articles can help you work in-depth on your particular passage.
- Religion Database This link opens in a new windowReligion Database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals and thousands of e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
