Library Homepage: Labor 310 Exercise: How to Find Sources by Type

Monograph

What is it?

A work, usually by a single author, which addresses one topic or area

How do you find it?

Search in BANC, using the keywords (or essential words) in your research question or thesis to search the catalog. For example "Christianity Africa"

BANC Basic Search

Collection, Anthology, or Edited Work

What is it?

Several authors contributed pieces to a larger work

How do you find it?

Perform the same sort of search as you did in BANC when looking for monographs, but try adding the word "edited" to you search phrase. For example, "Christianity Africa"

BANC Basic Search

Periodicals

What are they?

Materials that appear on a periodical basis: daily, weekly, quarterly, annually

How do you find them?

Search our databases, such as Religion Database linked to below, using the keywords from your research question or thesis statement.

Next, you limit your results to newspapers or magazines

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religion Database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.

ProQuest Religion provides an excellent source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. More full-text journals have been added in related religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.

Scholarly journal

What is it?

Scholarly, peer reviewed, literature that appears on a periodical basis

How do you find it?

Search our databases, such as Religion Database linked to below, using the keywords from your research question or thesis statement.

Next, you can limit your results to peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religion Database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.

ProQuest Religion provides an excellent source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. More full-text journals have been added in related religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.

Reference Work

What is it?

An encyclopedia, dictionary, or handbook

How do you find it?

Use a database of reference books, such as Gale Virtual Reference, linked to below

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary content on virtually any subject area to support assignments, papers, projects, and presentations. Includes the Scribner Writers Series.

Electronic Source (Academic)

What is it?

An academic site that addresses specific areas of research

How do you find it?

Use Google's Advanced Search Feature to limit your results to only academic sites

Google Advanced Search
Limit your search to a specific domain.

For this assignment, limit your results to the domain ".edu" to insure that you only receive academic sites.