Databases
- Religion Database This link opens in a new windowReligion Database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new windowRemember JSTOR has an embargo period, typically three to five years. The advance search is often easier to use and provides more filtering options. JSTOR now includes ARTSTOR
- Project Muse Standard Journal Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text of approximately 40 scholarly journals in the humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Coverage for some titles extends back to 1993.
Key Words
Search Terms: art, visual art, painting, sculpture, prints, Reformation, icons, altarpiece, stained glass, icons, church architecture, Christian architecture, frescos, Orthodox
Genres: last supper, last judgement, prodigal son, Madonna,
Print Reference Material
Encyclopedia of ReligionCall Number: R 200.3 E564 2005ISBN: 9780028657332Publication Date: 2004-12-17Encyclopedia of Religion is regarded as one of the standard reference work in the field. Now in its second edition it has 15 volumes. and over 3,000 entries. The set examines all major religions.
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Call Number: R 282 N533 2003ISBN: 9780787640040Publication Date: 2002-09-13Articles contained in fifteen volumes describe issues relating to and affecting the Catholic Church, in areas such as history, ethics, spirituality, and social sciences. This is the go to resource for all things Catholic and the early Church.
The Dictionary of Art by Call Number: R 703 D554ISBN: 9781884446009Publication Date: 2003-02-11Online this work is know as Grove Art online and provides access to 45,000-plus articles. It has constant additions of new material and updates to the text, along with links. In print it is know as the Dictionary of Art and has 34 volumes. This is one of the major art reference works in the English language.
The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture by Call Number: R 704.948 M982oISBN: 9780198661658Publication Date: 1996-11-14"Richly illustrated, the Companion combines general essays on the periods and styles important in the history of Christian art with hundreds of shorter entries that describe specific works, artists, themes, and visual images and which give the reader practical guidance on where in Europe to locate the works described."
The Bible and the Saints by Call Number: R 960.03 N532 2008ISBN: 9782080135643Publication Date: 1994-10-25"This guide has been designed to help those countless people who tour churches, museums, exhibitions and great houses, and who want to be able to identify those scenes they encounter containing saints or Bible figures, and understand their meaning."--Introduction, p. 7.
The Ashe County Frescoes of Benjamin F. Long IV by Call Number: 751.7309 P688a 2021ISBN: 9781476687742Publication Date: 2021-06-18Provides a history of North Carolina's Ashe County frescoes depicting various biblical scenes in several churches in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The frescoes were created in the 1970's and 1980s.
Websites
Art in the Christian Tradition Art in the Christian Tradition (ACT) database is a regularly updated visual image internet resource. Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators, all of the images may be used for non-commercial purposes, with attribution. There are currently 6966 images in the collection. If you have biblical passage in mind and want suggestions concerning art, this is your go to resource.
Exploring faith through art St. Paul's, London After the Great Fire of London, architect Christopher Wren designed the present building which has dominated London's skyline for centuries. While an active place of worship, St. Paul's house such works of art as William Holman Hunt's Light of the World.
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide Website provides quick access and examples of how to cite in Chicago Style Notes and Bibliography Style. This system is considered thee standard citation system for humanities particularly history and the arts.
Examples
Example 1 Isenheim Altarpiece" Grunewald, Matthias / altarpieces, and Grunewald
Example 2 Passage Prodigal Son Luke 15: 11
Example 3 St. Paul's Cathedral, London
