Library Homepage: *English: Start Your Research: Quick Start

Librarian's Top Picks

These resources have been chosen by your librarian to insure your research success.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find these in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A very important part of GVL, the Scribner Writers volumes provide access to more than 2,000 original, comprehensive, scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world and from all time periods. Each entry averages 15-20 pages in length and includes a concise essay and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context. Articles are written by noted literary scholars. Volumes include: the American Writers Collection, British Writers Collection, European Writers Collection, and the World and Genre Writers Collections, as well as several collections.