Recordings from the Sound Archives that have been converted to digital formats can be found in Berea Digital. You can browse recordings there or start searching for specific genres, titles, performers, or locations (by county, state) below:
Laura McKee (2012 Appalachian Sound Archive Fellow) documents how WW-II era radio and personal histories have shaped the development of "From the Diary of Eve", a narrative series of poems set in Southern Appalachia.
Helen Gubbins is an Irish traditional musician with a strong interest in the historical relationship of traditional music to the mass media, especially radio. Her work in the Berea Archives was directed toward widening her research focus to include the historical relationship of radio to traditional music of the American south.
Sound Archives Fellow William Sears provides a "Community History" approach to understanding work, education, religion, and social life though the under-documented music making traditions in Knox, Whitley, Laurel, and McCreary Counties in Kentucky. Sears includes documentation of commercial radio operations of WCtT Corbin, WBVT Barbourville, and WEZJ Williamsburg.
Kevin Kehrberg's (2007 Appalachian Sound Archive Fellow) profiles of the gospel quartets documented in Berea's radio program collections, especially the Renfro Valley Gatherin' and other programs John Lair aired on network radio from Renfro Valley in the 1940s and 1950s.
"A steadying glimpse of pioneer America"
Monday Night at Renfro Valley is the least well known of John Lair’s Kentucky based radio programs, probably because it was on the air only from August 1940 through April 1941.
Marina Peterson is an anthropologist and is Assistant Professor of Performance Studies in the School of Interdisciplinary Arts at Ohio University. Her Berea Fellowship work is a furtherance of research relating to a publication project on the 1940s musician's union recording bans.
Jacob Podber is an Associate Professor in the Radio and Television Department at Southern Illinois University. Jacob's Music Fellowship work is a continuance of research on the importance of country music radio programming and how Appalachian music on the radio (and later television) helped contribute to the regions identity.