Skip to main content

PSC 235 Research Methods (Spring 2020)

Dr. Lauren McKee

Welcome!

Hello! First, I am sorry that the pandemic has prevented us from meeting in-person.

In order to best simulate the experience we would have shared if we had met in person, I have done a preliminary search on each of your research topics and am sharing those results with you here. I have chosen a variety of electronic resources, from eBooks to scholarly articles to reports from think tanks and have linked to them here for your convenience. All resources included are available remotely.

I have listed each member of your class alphabetically. Find your name and you will find my initial thoughts on your topic, including keywords that I used and the names of databases that I was most successful in searching.

I am available remotely for further consultation (see the Reference Services tab on the left) and would be glad to meet with you via chat, Zoom, or phone should you need it.

 

AJ: Sino-American Relationship


 


possible keywords:

China-United States or U.S.–Chinese relations China's ascendency or rising power "One Belt One Road" or  Silk Road Economic Belt
Sino American or Sino-American relations hegemonic rivalry in the Pacific economic cooperation or economic partnership

try these databases:

Alysia: Religion in Political Participation


 


 

 

Possible keywords:

political participation           "Religious Right" political campaigns or political parties
GOP or Republican conservatives or evangelicals   voting

Try these databases: 

Berenice: Representation of undocumented people in the media


 


 


 

possible keywords:

media representation or media portrayal or mass media or media discourse undocumented or undocumented immigrants             "Brown threat"                                                                             
misrepresentation or overrepresentation or underrepresentation stereotypes   negative or dangerous or villified

Try these databases:

Chase: Does the public feel safer when drugs are decriminalized?


 


 

possible keywords:

public safety or crime or violence perception or fear or concern decriminalization of drugs
poll or survey United States  

Try these databases:

Destiny: What are ways to handle the opioid epidemic in Appalachia? How is West Virginia handling it?


 

possible keywords:

West Virginia or Appalachia opioid addiction or opioid epidemic cognitive behavioral therapy

Medication for opioid use disorder (MOUD) or Buprenorphine or Naloxone

treatment or rehabilitation certified community health behavioral clinic

Try these databases:

Elvia: Post-colonial influence in Latin America


 


 


 

possible keywords:
 

postcolonialism or postcolonial or post-colonial or post-colonialism                                                                                  Latin America (or names of specific countries in Latin America, such as: Peru, Venezuela, Chile, Guatemala, etc.)                                                                          
decolonization federalism or federalization

Try these databases:

Iain: Degradation of Democracy in the US.


 


 


 


 

possible keywords:

threat or degradation or demise or weaken or corruption                    democracy or "liberal democracy" populist or anti-establishment or populism or nationlist or nationalism or right-wing
Donald Trump or Marine Le Pen or Vladimir Putin citizens are: disillusioned or "hostile towards democracy" or afraid national identity or political systems or political affiliation

Try these databases:

Jack: WHO and the development of their responses to international health crises?


 


 


 

possible keywords:

World Health Organization or WHO response or intervention or assistance humanitarian crisis or health crisis or public health
funding or shortfalls in funding Scientific Advisory Committees or SACS decision-making or consensus or cooperation

Try these databases:

Lu: Political Activism in Palestine

possible keywords:
 

Israeli occupation uprising or resistance or mobilization activism or activist or social movements 
Palestine or Palestinian Women, Palestinian Arab--Political activity peace or nonviolence

Try these databases:

Madilyn: Success of Social movements in the US.

possible keywords:

success or legacy or impact or progress or victory social movements or social activism Black Panther Party or Black Rights or Black Power
Gay Rights or LGBTQIA Rights  Stonewall Riots civil rights movement
Second-wave feminism  women's rights movement  equal rights

Try these databases:

Natalie: Public finance, American democracy, and campaigns


 


 


 

possible keywords:
 

campaign finance or campaign funds or "big money" or "donor class"             partisanship or political parties or political candidates or republican or democrat or independent political participation or voting                                      
representative democracy  economic power vs. political power campaign finance reform

Try these databases:

Sarah: The causes/ variables/ methods of combating human trafficking


 


 


 

possible keywords:

human trafficking or human smuggling modern slavery or forced slavery  sex trafficking or prostitution or sex crimes
end or stop or combat or prevent or law enforcement sociocultural factors or causes business aspect or organized crime

Try these databases:

 

Sawyer: Old Testament prophets as prototypes of International Realism


 


 


 


 

possible keywords:
 

Old Testament prophets OR name of specific prophet, such as Isaiah or Ezekiel international politics or international relations         political realism or international realism or realist    
influence or inspire or parallels Israel prophecy or prophesize

Try these databases:

Sharon: Women's land rights in Sub-Saharan Africa


 


 


possible keywords:
 

sub-saharan africa land rights or land ownership womens rights
economic conditions gender gaps or gender inequality agriculture or agrarian

databases: 

Sitwat: Military Structures in Pakistan OR The Politics of Fashion


 


 


 


 


 

possible keywords:

military-industrial complex or military economy Pakistan Military-owned business enterprises or "milbus"
restoration of democracy in 2008 appearance of democracy Nawaz Sharif vs. Imran Khan

or

"politics of fashion" politcal boycotts political economy
"politics of dress" clothing or dress or fashion symbolic or political meaning

Try these databases:

Victoria: What factors can best explain attitudes of American public toward US intervention in the Middle East?


 


 


 

possible keywords:

support or aid or back intervention or military intervention Middle East, or specific countries, like: Iraq, Afghanistan
gender                                               

religiosity or religious or Christian or "holy war"

political affiliation or Republican or Democrat or Independent

 Try these databases:

Yabi: Tribalism in Africa (Eastern-North Africa)


 


 


 

possible keywords:

tribalism or tribes or clans East Africa (or specific countries, such as: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda) North Africa (or specific countries, such as: Egypt, Libya, Morocco)
specific tribes, such as: Berbers or the Ganda state vs. nation cultures or nationalities or ethnicities
sovereignty autonomy indigenous

Try these databases: