Library Homepage: Elston: ARH/AST 249: Home

Search the Catalog

Books are useful for in-depth information, including: historical context, overview, synthesis and analysis of information.

Often a chapter or two, rather then the entire book, are all that may be relevant for your topic.

BANC is the library's online catalog. It contains records for all of the physical items in our library, such as books and DVDs, but it also contain records for electronic items, such as streaming videos and ebooks. The one thing it does not contain is scholarly articles.

Follow the link below to search our library catalog, BANC, for books:

Advanced Search in BANC

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals and thousands of e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Project Muse Standard Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of approximately 40 scholarly journals in the humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Coverage for some titles extends back to 1993.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religion Database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.

ProQuest Religion provides an excellent source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. More full-text journals have been added in related religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.

Image search

Artstor (images, photos, etc.) This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world ( read the full list here ). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more (find sample subject guides here ).

Other sources

Timeline of Art History @ the Metropolitan Museum of Art