Recordings from the Sound Archives that have been converted to digital formats can be found in Berea Digital. You can browse recordings there or start searching for specific genres, titles, performers, or locations (by county, state) below:
Online fiddle tune resources created from Berea College Sound Archives collections by scholars and researchers Ajay Kalra, Erynn Marshall, Alan Jabbour, Anna Roberts-Gevalt, Bruce Greene, and Steve Green.
An online guide to Berea's Celebration of Traditional Music, which has been held annually since 1974. The numerous singers and musicians heard on Celebration recordings document the full range of Appalachian music's ethnic, vocal, and instrumental diversity.
Sound Archives Fellow William Sears provides a "Community History" approach to understanding work, education, religion, and social life though the under-documented music making traditions in Knox, Whitley, Laurel, and McCreary Counties in Kentucky. Sears includes documentation of commercial radio operations of WCtT Corbin, WBVT Barbourville, and WEZJ Williamsburg.
The Berea Sound Archives collections document audio recordings of folk and music festivals directed at celebrating and preserving traditional vernacular American culture. They also promote newer tradition-based forms, such as Bluegrass, newgrass, and contemporary folk music.
2007 Sound Archives Fellow Deborah Denenfeld's project to identify tunes to the play-party songs and document the movements that accompanied them when they were played as play-party games in the late 1920s.
Harry Rice, Sound Archivist at Hutchins Library's Special Collections & Archives, explores the complementary nature of various types of musical activities at Berea, including the teaching of European Art Music, the preservation of more vernacular music traditions, as well at the Black Music Ensemble
An ongoing and collaborative documentary project by Appalachian Sound Archives Fellows Tammy Clemons and Timi Reedy about founding Bluegrass musicians Frances and John Reedy originally from Harlan, Kentucky and their impact on their family, Appalachian community and culture, and the contemporary Bluegrass/Rock-a-billy music scene in Dayton, Ohio
**NOTE** Berea College does not maintain this web site.