Recordings from the Sound Archives that have been converted to digital formats can be found in Berea Digital. You can browse recordings there or start searching for specific genres, titles, performers, or locations (by county, state) below:
The collection is comprised of recordings of interviews and oral histories of Appalachians conducted by Berea College students as part of their January 1973 short term History 190 course taught by Dr. Richard Drake. Basic topics discussed in the interviews include moonshining in Perry County (KY), early medical practices and services in Clay County (KY), the Buffalo Creek disaster, black Appalachians, and blacks in Middletown and Farristown (Madison County, KY).
The collection is comprised of recordings and transcripts of recordings of oral histories of Berea College faculty, staff, alumni, and current students. The project was conducted by students as part of their Oral History and Tradition course (GSTR 100) taught by Meighan Sharp in the fall of 1999.
These interviews were recorded 1975-1980 originally to provide spoken narrative and work-related environmental sounds for use in the production of audio-visual exhibits at Berea College Appalachian Museum. The interviews and in some instances, photographs document a wide variety of Appalachian traditional crafts, occupations, and expressive culture.
These interviews trace the development of religious life activities and programs at Berea College especially in relationship to the establishment of the position of Campus Minister and the Campus Christian Center. The memory time span of the interviewees ranges from 1930 through 1988, the time of the then most recent interview. The collection consists of audio recordings and typed transcripts of seven interviews recorded by Berea College Campus Minister Lee Morris. Five were recorded during the summer of 1983. Two additional were recorded in 1987 and 1988 respectively.
This collection consists of thirty-five audio cassettes and transcripts of interviews with thirteen Berea College faculty and staff. Some were also alumni and the tenure with the College of several dated from the 1930s and 1940s. The project was initiated by Berea College president, Willis Weatherford, and the interviews were conducted by various other faculty members.
116 sound cassette recordings and transcripts of interviews by Tom Chase in 1998 and 1999 documenting the history of Berea College Men’s basketball. Contains interviews with players from Berea basketball’s classic late-1920s era including Wilson Evans, Ted Wright, and Dick Chrisman. Also included are written transcripts of the interviews. Inclusive dates of recordings: 1998-1999.
Fourteen audio cassettes and transcripts of interviews with former Berea College students and faculty who participated in the March 1965 Selma to Montgomery, Alabama voting rights march led by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. The interviews were recorded by Berea College assistant professor of history, Dr. Dwayne Mack, and student assistant, Brittney Westbrook.
Twenty-seven audio cassettes and transcripts of interviews with twenty Berea College faculty and staff, some of whom were also alumni, documenting the development of the college’s theatre including both the curricular program and the co-curricular Theatre Laboratory labor program from the 1930s up to 1988. The interviews were recorded by Linville Rose during the 1988 fall semester.
Audio compact disc recordings and transcripts of 16 interviews with Berea College alumnae who played varsity (intercollegiate) basketball during the program’s first three decades (1960s to 2008), three Berea College faculty members who coached and taught physical education (Martha Beagle, Mark Tobin and Martha Joyce May Hager), and EKU faculty member Peggy Stanaland. Includes two written memoirs by former players not interviewed. Recorded by Tom Chase in 2008
Seventeen audio cassette recordings of oral history interviews with weavers and other Berea, Kentucky residents involved with household weaving, weaving as a Berea College student industry, or the commercial enterprise, Churchill Weavers. The interviews were recorded by Lexington, Kentucky weaver, Philis Alvic, in 1993 and 1995.
This collection consists of thirty-nine videocassettes of interviews with eighty-six individuals who were students at Lincoln Institute at various times ranging from the 1930s through 1966 when the school closed. The interviews were recorded by Berea College Associate Professor of African and African-American Studies, Andrew Baskin with the assistance of Symerdar Baskin.