Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

.GSTR 310: Understandings of Christianity Dr. Tammy Clemons

Dr. Tammy Clemons

Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (print)

Bible Dictionaries & Encyclopedias


A Bible dictionary lists biblical terms and topics in alphabetical order, and provides articles that give details about those terms and topics.  For example, you may learn that Christ is the Greek term for Messiah, and learn the origin, development, and use of the term in their historical, cultural, and theological contexts.

 

R 220.3 A539 Anchor Bible Dictionary, 6 volumes 

R 220.3 N532 2007 New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible 5 volumes

R 220.3 Z875 2009 Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 volumes

Concordances

Concordances

A concordance tells you how many times, and where in the Bible, a particular word is used.  It often gives reference to the Hebrew or Greek basis of the term. 

Concordances give book, chapter and verse location of an individual word, typically provided in context. 

You do NOT need to know Greek or Hebrew for your mini-exegesis assignment, but this resource will allow you to see the context in which a particular term is used in each passage, and how frequently it has been used in the Bible.
 

R 220.5208 G655N NIV Exhaustive Concordance

R 220.52 W578e Eerdmans’ Analytical Concordance (RSV)

R 220.52 S923e 2007 Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible (KJV)

Commentaries

Commentaries

 

A commentary analyzes and expounds on one or more books of the bible, and offers systematic explanations and interpretations of scripture.  This resource not only comments specifically on your particular passage, but also provides introductory material and comment on the entire gospel from which your passage comes.  Some of the concerns commentaries address may include:
 

Authorship and date of composition

Audience and circumstances

Sources the writer may have used

Textual variants

Historical and social context

Literary genre and structure

Comprehensive word study
 

Commentaries - Multivolume

These commentaries examine biblical books on the verse or even the individual word level.
 

R 220.7 I61 1994 New Interpreter’s Bible Circulating copies located on 3rd floor

R 220.72 A188 Interpretation Addition copies located on 3rd floor

220.6 A539 Anchor Bible (1965- ) Located on the third floor, this set provides more detailed analysis.

Academic Journal Articles

Academic Journal Articles

These articles are scholarly writings that are peer-reviewed, and are typically marked by the presence of an abstract and a long list of references at the end. Like commentaries, journal articles can help you work in-depth on your particular passage.

Finding Books in BANC

Books

Something to consider: you often only need to use a chapter within a book, not the entire book, so you needn't be overwhelmed by the thought of using books to support your research.

Ebooks allow you access 24/7 and are full-text searchable.

Look for both print and ebooks using the link below: