Print and e-Books
********** A special note related to Covid-19: *************
For the fall of 2020, in the interest of everyone's continued safety, we ask that students do not travel to the library's third floor to retrieve books.
We ask that you instead request books that you want to check out by sending a list of the titles you need to the Circulation Desk at: circdesk@berea.edu.
If you are on campus, the books will be pulled and checked out to you, for you to pick up at the Circulation Desk.
If you are off-campus, we will be glad to mail them to your home at no cost to you.
An alternative to print books are e-books, which are available online 24/7.
How do you find books at Hutchins?
- BANC Basic SearchHere's a link to the library catalog
Newspapers & Magazines
To ensure you retrieve periodicals when you search, limit your search results to "magazines" or "newspapers".
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals covering nearly every discipline.
Academic Journals
To ensure you retrieve scholarly, peer-reviewed articles when you search, limit your search results to "scholarly" and "peer-reviewed"
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals covering nearly every discipline.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Reference Books
What is a reference work?
A book (such as a dictionary, encyclopedia, handbook, etc.) intended primarily for consultation rather than for consecutive reading. Usually, these contain short, fact-driven entries.
How do you find reference works?
Perform a simple BANC search using your keywords and then limit to "Reference Collection"
- OR -
Use a database of reference books, such as Gale Virtual Reference, linked to below
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library offers a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary content on virtually any subject area to support assignments, papers, projects, and presentations. Includes the Scribner Writers Series.
Statistics
Why Use Data?
- Data can help us strengthen our argument.
- Data, such as statistics and demographics can help us analyze trends and relationships between economic, social, cultural, and biological processes influencing a population.
- Data can transform something abstract into something everyone can understand and relate to. For example, data can reveal how some abstract threat such as unemployment affects people based on their age, gender, or education. (From the Data Journalism Handbook
Where do you find statistics?
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is an online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions, such as the World Bank, the US Census Bureau, the Pew Research Center, and the IMF. Statista offers statistics and survey results in the form of bar charts and tables and includes, for example, data on advertising, consumer behavior, separate business fields, and governmental data.
Streaming Video
Films on Demand is our database of streaming documentaries, available anytime 24/7. Think of it as academic Netflix, or scholarly Hulu!
Videos are equipped with searchable transcripts, citations, and the ability to share or embed segments.
Search for them at the link below:
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
Evaluating Internet Sources with the CRAAP Test
